Hey guys today HC gave me and my parents regular bail in IPC 498A/406/506. Now what should be our next move? My so called wife is demanding 20 Lakh Rupees, I think she will come down to earth now. :cantstop: My only regret is my father had to spend 5 days in Jail, a major setback for 60~ year old gentleman who served 30 years in government job and right before retirement faced this embarrassment and will have to fight for retirement benefits now. :(( Last 3 months have been nightmare for me and family, its very tough in non metro city to live with this shame. My great grandfather was a freedom fighter, my grandfather/father/uncle all were government employees. We have sadness on our faces, tension and stress has wiped the double chins from faces of family members. I myself have lost inches from waist, I can hardly eat anything. Our only support was my Sister and her in-laws. :hatsoff: I had planned to go Australia for further studies, we had planned celebrations for father's retirement, now life has taken complete u-turn.

:WTF: Were you posting from inside the jail all these days
i heard jail inmates in patiala jail were chatting via fb,yaha kuch bhi ho sakta hai :haha:
:WTF: Were you posting from inside the jail all these days
Arrest was not made in my and mom's case. I escaped when Police raided my home. Then I applied for bail in sessions court, got denied later got stay on arrest in High Court.
what happened?what did u do?
My wife says I beat her, torture her, threaten her to bring dowry. But reality is I don't drink or take any type of drug, meditate 2 hours daily, have elder sister and 10 year old niece. I will be last person you will expect to hit or abuse women.

We hear only one side of the story, assuming you're right, my friend, I really feel for you. It is sad that this law made to give voice to the countless suffering women have been misused by few women.

Man, there are thousands like you in the country. There is a reason for which SC has called 498a legal terrorism. You not going to get much help on this forum where people believe misuse of 498a is myth. Well, once you get bail 498a, then case is as good as over. Conviction happens very rarely as many cases are filed to extort money as seems to be in your case. There would be chargesheet and then there would be trial. It is long process. Unfortuantely, if you don't pay money, you'll be running from one court to other court for next 4-5 years living in constant fear while your wife would simply move on. Be brave and take it on chin.

Arrest was not made in my and mom's case. I escaped when Police raided my home. Then I applied for bail in sessions court, got denied later got stay on arrest in High Court. My wife says I beat her, torture her, threaten her to bring dowry. But reality is I don't drink or take any type of drug, meditate 2 hours daily, have elder sister and 10 year old niece. I will be last person you will expect to hit or abuse women.
Nobody is going to believe your words. What your wife says would be taken as the truth. That's India for you man.

This is as sad as some woman getting beaten up for real but still unable to prove it in the court. Your situation can not be justified because some men get away with it. The only way to fix this mess is better courts, quicker ruling, central records etc. Hope it all works out for you man. If you are in Delhi and are looking for a good divorce lawyer then PM and I can refer you.

In all honesty you can't compare his situation with a woman who might have been beaten. He is in real trouble. His father was in jail for 5 days. He along with his mother was absconding from Police just because he is not giving 20 lakhs to his wife. He'll be spending next 4-5 years running from one court to other court. A stable family life would be a pipe dream for him for god knows how long. His career might stagnate. If you ask him he would happily take few days beating over the ordeal that he and his family is as of now. Your equating these two things is absolutely wrong and irrelevant.
Yaar you are equating and I didnt want to equate as 1:1. I just wanted to say that either situation is bad, there is no comparison. Getting abused for many years and being scared for your life is also quite stressful and upsetting. There is no comparison. Hope it works out for him