Which is the better city ? Cite your reasons please. I personally, have been to both and my conclusion is as follows (although i am biased towards Delhi for obvious reasons); Mumbai - Shanty town Delhi - Better roads, better food, better sights What say you ICFers ?

Re: New Delhi vs Mumbai Bombay every time!!! Its the heart of India. Delhi is total shytbag, its dark and dim and not very pleasant at all.

Re: New Delhi vs Mumbai Mumbai because I come from there, I hated Delhi just because comparisons such as these came up and I had to defend Mumbai But when I visited Delhi, I didn't hate it as much; it's not a concrete jungle like Mumbai and I admire the open space Mumbai on the other hand has this closeness which I couldn't ever find in any other city around the world, it's got it's own style, law, lingo and understanding It's very multicultural ( figure that ) where you can see bit of everything People are actually helpful contrary to what many think, whenever I mentioned India, I had Mumbai in mind and no other city or state. It's home, it's great and I would love to settle back

Re: New Delhi vs Mumbai Multi-cultural my @ss - it's just full of Gujaratis and Marathis. Delhi has the better roads and the better infrastructure; not to mention better hangouts. I don't know how people can pick Mumbai over Delhi. You know what are you going to get from Mumbai the moment you land into Sahar and see slums going on for miles and miles.

Re: New Delhi vs Mumbai well i think its just about where u were born or where u mostly lived.. perhapz..Delhihitez will vote for Delhi, Mumbains will vote for Mumbai atleast this is what happenz in most cases.

Re: New Delhi vs Mumbai

Multi-cultural my @ss - it's just full of Gujaratis and Marathis. Delhi has the better roads and the better infrastructure; not to mention better hangouts. I don't know how people can pick Mumbai over Delhi. You know what are you going to get from Mumbai the moment you land into Sahar and see slums going on for miles and miles.
Gujrati and Marathi..I think you are highly mistaken Likewise with Delhi, punjabi dominant Better Hangouts? I highly doubt that. Delhi has better infrastructure etc is because it's the capital, the slum problem in Mumbai can't just go away like that Look if you just wanted your opinion to stay, then there was no need to start a poll But just to be clear, Mumbai attracts everyone..delhi'ites just pick themselves Normally, I would get daggers out to defend mumbai but I am gonna cool it

Re: New Delhi vs Mumbai Tough one this is. Almost like picking between heart and soul. Lets check Delhi first. For starters few cities in India, or even world for that matter, has as rich a cultural history as Delhi does. You move around Delhi and you can see remains going atleast a millenium or so back, if not before. Lal Qila se lekar Qutab Minaar tak...Beating Retreat se lekar Phool waalon ki Sair(chances are many of you wont know what it is.. :hic: ) Delhi has superb cultural history. Also linguistic history, specially of Urdu, this is way everyone from Ghalib to Daag were born and are buried. Next is cuisine. Delhi is the place to eat if you are a food lover. Chandani Chawk ki chaat se parathe waali gali ke parathe and kebab. If you are love North Indian food then Delhi is the ace town. In terms of educational institutions again Delhi comes trumps. You have the best educational institutes like IIT, AIIMS, St Stephens College etc etc. In fact pound for pound I say Delhi has better colleges and school and rest of Indian cities put together. From a living point of view Delhi offers a much better lifestyle. To make a comparison, when I lived in Bombay the going rate for 2 BHK in Borivali(about 40 miles from South Bombay, main area) was about 35 lakhs. To get 2BHK in South Bombay you should be ready to pay a crore if not more. And that was 5 years back. In Delhi you can get a 2BHK for 35 in th poshest NOIDA area..and that is today. Roads are obviously much better in Delhi, and now the train services are available too. Even today the words of Zauf rings true - Kaun Jaaye Dilli ki galiyaan chor ke.. On the other hand you have Mumbai or Bombay. It is the commerical center of India by far. I would not be surprised if Bombay generates more tax for Indian Government than the rest of cosmopolitan cities put together. The great thing is that if you look for Mumbai history then it does not run deep(Pune has richer history) so it can be said that Mumbaites have worked this hard to make Bombay where it is today. Most Indians who want to make it big would dream of walking down the Marine Drive, looking at those Air India & Oberoi Hotel building. No offense but I dont think a Bihari ever dreams of walking past Rashtrapati Bhawan(though Lalu Yadav may be one :mad: ) or walking by the Marina Beach. Bombay is the city that can fulfill most of dreaming Indians. The culture of the town is very cosmopolitan and its almost like an entire India has been squeezed in one town. You are as likely to get a quality plate of dossa as you are to get Mughlai chicken...unless you live in one of those areas where non-veg is severely ridiculed..and yes such areas do exist. The city beats every other city in India in terms of transport and can rub shoulders with the best in the world. Such is the culture combined with commerce and transport that the dabbawallahs have become part of folklore, not only in India but abroad! Mumbai people in general are so caught up in life that they mind their own business and let you live in privacy, trust me that can be a life saver sometimes. Then there is Bollywood and cricket, take Bombay away and we have cr@p...I mean we have Naghma and Ravi Kishen doing a Bhojpuri number..just kidding. I would answer it this way. I have loved my stay in Bombay and I will go back there in a heartbeat but Delhi is the town where I would raise my family due to sheer overall quality of life at the same cost. xxxx

Likewise with Delhi, punjabi dominant Better Hangouts? I highly doubt that.
Punjabi dominant ? How so ? Delhi has people from everywhere. Although it's true that there are more people from Punjab, Bihar, UP there are plenty of South Indians and Bengalis as well. Do you seriously see people in Mumbai who arent either Gujarati or Marathi ? ...and feel free to pull out any daggers, guns, or bombs to defend your city, it's open debate after all and we all know each other well enough to not feel offended by anything

Arre yaar kya baat kar raho? Biharis and UPites have moved to Bombay so much that it has become a heated debate in yesteryears. You are right about Gujratis people in Bombay but Marathis? Not too many I say. There are a lot of South Indians in Bombay, in fact most Mumbaites consider Bombay as part of Southern India, Northies typically think of South India as Tamil Nadu, Andhra, Karnatak and Kerela. If you ever sat down to have your food with a Marathi in Bombay there is a good chance that his eating habits will remind you of South India & possibly Goan style. Hard to miss. xxx Correction: You are right about Gujratis people in Bombay but Marathis? Not too many I say. Marathis should be read as Marwaris. Pata nahin how in the hell did I think you were talking about Marwaris, you of course were not but I got confused.

Likewise with Delhi, punjabi dominant Better Hangouts? I highly doubt that.
You gotta be kidding me when you say you only see Marathi and Gujratis, have you lived there long enough to determine that? I say Punjabi dominant due to the accent everyone has, and it's in North India. Mumbai is central to North and South Point is, I won't ever agree to Delhi being better coz Mumbai is home to me but at the same time, I wouldn't mind living in Delhi I am not sure about Lurkers point about Best colleges etc as well, is there some kinda study or poll? or just personal opinion? I am just being diplomatic , I don't see the point of insulting one city to prove a point and that's what I meant by keeping it cool

If you ever sat down to have your food with a Marathi in Bombay there is a good chance that his eating habits will remind you of South India & possibly Goan style. Hard to miss. *****
u mean.. eating rice with handz, instead of spoon..

If you ever sat down to have your food with a Marathi in Bombay there is a good chance that his eating habits will remind you of South India & possibly Goan style. Hard to miss. *****
u mean.. eating rice with handz, instead of spoon..
What's wrong with that? You have Chicken Tandoori with fork then?

Re: New Delhi vs Mumbai this is a useless debate :lol: its like fighting for what is the more important part of your body.. your heart, or your brain??? both are equally important, altho they have different functions.. you cannot argue which one is more important.. similarly, here it depends on the person if you want to have a nice laid-back life.. mumbai is not the place.. if u want to be in a place thats buzzing with activity, dehli isnt the place...

I am not sure about Lurkers point about Best colleges etc as well, is there some kinda study or poll? or just personal opinion?
Rajeev, Much of that is from memory, mostly from the India-Today's ranking of best colleges. But look at it this way. 1) Technology - IITs(both have it so fair I say). 2) Medicine - AIIMS(Delhi has upper hand). I am not even considering the second rung colleges in Delhi like Maulana Azad though Grants Medical College should rank amongst top 10 as well. 3) Commerce: Sri Ram College of Commerce should well be the best in India. 4) Arts: St Stephens should be best in India. Sure there is a Presidency College in Calcutta and Loyola in Chennai but Delhi has top colleges in every stream. Not to mention full fledged and dedicated universities like JNU etc. xxx