Aaku Posted January 31, 2015 Posted January 31, 2015 Ya sure install LED so that during pheras people can be glued to the match and mandap ko no bhaav and dulha keeps asking ki score kya hai :headshake: aana hai tou welcome nahi aana tou bheed kumm :beee:
Tiger80 Posted January 31, 2015 Posted January 31, 2015 You shouldn't marry till you are financially independent' date=' my thoughts[/quote'] In india people spend millions on marriages I guess 90%+ people should remain unmarried India as they can't afford their marriages
Desi Cartman Posted January 31, 2015 Posted January 31, 2015 The issue is only for the bride and the groom, rest can watch on mobile devices. Ps: number of people crying during vidai will largely depend on Indias performance.
_Triple_H_ Posted January 31, 2015 Author Posted January 31, 2015 You shouldn't marry till you are financially independent' date=' my thoughts[/quote'] He is 21, do you expect him to have crores of Rs that they are spending on their wedding and honeymoon? And its not like he works somewhere where job security matters. Got his dad's business. Even those guys who marry at age of 28-30 don't finance their own wedding. Parents always have money saved up for wedding.
CSK Fan Posted January 31, 2015 Posted January 31, 2015 In india people spend millions on marriages I guess 90%+ people should remain unmarried India as they can't afford their marriages That is even worse (spending so much on one big party) when the same money can be used to help the couple. All just show off
CSK Fan Posted January 31, 2015 Posted January 31, 2015 He is 21, do you expect him to have crores of Rs that they are spending on their wedding and honeymoon? And its not like he works somewhere where job security matters. Got his dad's business. Even those guys who marry at age of 28-30 don't finance their own wedding. Parents always have money saved up for wedding. Why on earth should someone spend crores for their marriages. Is show off so important?
Tiger80 Posted January 31, 2015 Posted January 31, 2015 That is even worse (spending so much on one big party) when the same money can be used to help the couple. All just show off I agree rationally and logically big fat weddings are waste.But society don't run on rational and logic.Parents in India have lot of emotions attached with it. It is for their emotions and social respect that so much money had to be spent
Tiger80 Posted January 31, 2015 Posted January 31, 2015 Why on earth should someone spend crores for their marriages. Is show off so important? Why people buy 50k I phones when these days 6-12k smart phones are available as good as them
CSK Fan Posted January 31, 2015 Posted January 31, 2015 Why people buy 50k I phones when these days 6-12k smart phones are available as good as them Is that as much a waste as spending crores in wdding, often being in debt for life? If a really poor guy steals or takes loan to buy 50k phone, yes that is equally bad
CSK Fan Posted January 31, 2015 Posted January 31, 2015 I agree rationally and logically big fat weddings are waste.But society don't run on rational and logic.Parents in India have lot of emotions attached with it. It is for their emotions and social respect that so much money had to be spent But when do the young generation take a stand. A large part of this goes towards considering female a burden and marriage a headache for the women's parents.
_Triple_H_ Posted January 31, 2015 Author Posted January 31, 2015 Why on earth should someone spend crores for their marriages. Is show off so important? No its not show off. Its about treating your business associates in a way which will strengthen your relationship. One of my other friends is a distributor of consumer electronics. He has a huge presence, so he had several top bosses flying from Japan, Korea, China, etc to attend his wedding. You need to work extra to cater to them. You can't have a marriage in small hall and have an elite guest list. For some it may seem to be a showoff but in reality marriages are glorified PR events for rich business families. As in my current friends case, he is not big and guest list is not elite. But I can easily see him spending 1cr+ in his wedding.
G_B_ Posted January 31, 2015 Posted January 31, 2015 I guess it depends on the status etc. In a western context what MTC says is true. You need to be financial independent. In the Indian context weddings historically have been paid for by parents. With arranged marriages it makes sense. So there is a degree of standards which need to be maintained. The average cost of a wedding for the upper middle class in mumbai is about 15 lakhs. Thats still a big sum for two young people. Especially when housing is expensive in metros. 21 does seem to be a bit too young to get married though. He must be just out of college.
CSK Fan Posted January 31, 2015 Posted January 31, 2015 No its not show off. Its about treating your business associates in a way which will strengthen your relationship. One of my other friends is a distributor of consumer electronics. He has a huge presence, so he had several top bosses flying from Japan, Korea, China, etc to attend his wedding. You need to work extra to cater to them. You can't have a marriage in small hall and have an elite guest list. For some it may seem to be a showoff but in reality marriages are glorified PR events for rich business families. As in my current friends case, he is not big and guest list is not elite. But I can easily see him spending 1cr+ in his wedding. Surely businessmen can think of 100s of ways of strenghtening businesses without marriages. What if they have no kids. Kids are not marriagble age. Etc. Then will they not strengthen the relationship? and why on earth is your friend getting married at 21 and spending a crore on it? Are Indian men completely spineless?
CSK Fan Posted January 31, 2015 Posted January 31, 2015 I guess it depends on the status etc. In a western context what MTC says is true. You need to be financial independent. In the Indian context weddings historically have been paid for by parents. With arranged marriages it makes sense. So there is a degree of standards which need to be maintained. The average cost of a wedding for the upper middle class in mumbai is about 15 lakhs. Thats still a big sum for two young people. Especially when housing is expensive in metros. 21 does seem to be a bit too young to get married though. He must be just out of college. Why do the standards need to be maintained? When do we end the vicious cycle? Does having a huge wedding help in the future life in any way?
maniac Posted January 31, 2015 Posted January 31, 2015 The idealistic SOn/Daughter tells his/her parents...."i want a simple wedding...hell might as well get a registered marriage with close family/frielnds in attendance" Parent's response-"You are our only son/daughter" or "You are our eldest Son/Daughter" or "You are our youngest son/daughter", "Why would you take this away from us?" Result-Suck up and go with it...would you rather be the idealistic ahole who hurt his parents or the punchable douche who got a lavish wedding. I am probably going with the sterotype as well as personal experience from people I know-Most Girls do want a fancy and lavish wedding. So would you be the idealistic ahole to get on the wrong foot with your life partner or just suck up and take it like a real man. I don't agree with people getting into debt due to a wedding,but if you want to spend a ridiculous amount as long as you have the spending power more power to you. People saying stuff like Indian weddings waste lot of food when there are the poor and hungry and other such B.s are big time posers who deserve a punch in the face and a kick in the balls.
G_B_ Posted January 31, 2015 Posted January 31, 2015 Why do the standards need to be maintained? When do we end the vicious cycle? Does having a huge wedding help in the future life in any way? no it does not. I agree with your sentiments. Even in the UK the average wedding costs have spiralled out of control and parents are chipping in significantly. (not paying outright).Its not that uncommon in the west for parents to bear the bulk of spending. In father of the bride (the film) the father did bear most of the expenses. Maybe in India the motivating factor is parents wanting to show their status or atleast show people everything is financially ok. In the west maybe its a case of the bride wanting to show off. Bridezilla comes to mind. http://www.telegraph.co.uk/finance/personalfinance/10072716/Average-wedding-now-costs-more-than-18000.html
maniac Posted January 31, 2015 Posted January 31, 2015 no it does not. I agree with your sentiments. Even in the UK the average wedding costs have spiralled out of control and parents are chipping in significantly. (not paying outright).Its not that uncommon in the west for parents to bear the bulk of spending. In father of the bride (the film) the father did bear most of the expenses. Maybe in India the motivating factor is parents wanting to show their status or atleast show people everything is financially ok. In the west maybe its a case of the bride wanting to show off. Bridezilla comes to mind. http://www.telegraph.co.uk/finance/personalfinance/10072716/Average-wedding-now-costs-more-than-18000.html Parents do chip in here in the west unless you come from a real broken family. I used to be fall for the same sterotype when I was back in india(watching too many Indian movies with preachings on how our values are better) etc. Unless you are from a real messed up family,most middle class-rich families in the west have the same values....Parents paying for Wedding,Education,making adjustments and maintaing compatability for their kids etc....It is not that far atleast from a cultural framework standpoint
G_B_ Posted January 31, 2015 Posted January 31, 2015 People saying stuff like Indian weddings waste lot of food when there are the poor and hungry and other such B.s are big time posers who deserve a punch in the face and a kick in the balls. I assume the food that is not finished is consumed by the catering staff? Have people actually seen the food been thrown into the bins? One thing i do hate. People packing their plate with food and then chucking it in the bin. Feck you fatty just get up and consume as much as you can eat. I can understand 1-2 bits but you have these ladies basically eating 20% on the plate cause of diet or some other **** and just throwing the other things away. This is not limited to wedding through. Fine ur on a diet. But why do you need to waste so much food. Just wisely pick as much as you can eat.
G_B_ Posted January 31, 2015 Posted January 31, 2015 Parents do chip in here in the west unless you come from a real broken family. I used to be fall for the same sterotype when I was back in india(watching too many Indian movies with preachings on how our values are better) etc. Unless you are from a real messed up family,most middle class-rich families in the west have the same values....Parents paying for Wedding,Education,making adjustments and maintaing compatability for their kids etc....It is not that far atleast from a cultural framework standpoint yes....
_Triple_H_ Posted February 1, 2015 Author Posted February 1, 2015 looks like this has completely become a different topic 1) Okay first of all I dont thinks its possible to have a grand wedding at 15lakh Rs. The last wedding I attended (still not so grand) had a per plate cost of Rs. 2000 and a guest list exceeding 2000 people. So 40lakhs just for reception. Now include Jewellery, Clothes, Hotel Accommodation, Decorations, etc, things will go out of hand easily. Yes there are plates available for 800 or 1000 rs but those are just standard quality which you will find in any Tom Dick and Harry's wedding. Premium stuff is expensive. 2) My friend is having a love-arranged marriage and his GF is 3years older than him. The GF parents have 2 other younger sisters so they were putting little pressure to get her married soon. Friend's dad initially opposed the idea of marrying a girl older than him but eventually agreed. They are financially well off and son doesn't have to worry about money because he will be joining his dad's business and won't be starting as a low paid fresher. 3) I never said marriage is the only way to build or strengthen relationships. Its just another opportunity. When you invite your clients/ suppliers in family functions it automatically creates a feel good factor that your relationship is beyond business. Other than sentimental reason this is the strongest reason why you see these big fat indian weddings with celebrities performing.