Medical students strike against rural internship :-(

Would you like it if Engineers are forced to serve 1 year internship in rural area after they complete 4 years education. As it is, medical students spent enough time completing their education . I don't know , how you can force somebody in a capitalistic free market society against their wishes

Would be more than happy

U are getting education litrally free that's not what happens in capitalist country, it's socialist dole.. I guess Ramdoss sud put a clause: if u don't want to do this internship then pay the real cost of education which for doctors is around 20 lakh..

U are getting education litrally free that's not what happens in capitalist country, it's socialist dole.. I guess Ramdoss sud put a clause: if u don't want to do this internship then pay the real cost of education which for doctors is around 6 lakh..
I have passed in Government college and had no intention of serving in rural areas force or no force. Same with most of the students in my class who wrote GRE with the aim of going abroad. So , don't tell me Engineers from govt institutes like IIT's and REC's wouldn't complain , if forced to do 1 year internship in rural area after completing BE.

Would you like to be treated by these newbies dada?...i wouldn't. These people need to learn with experienced doctors...not alone in clinics with non existent facilities.... It makes better sense to send experienced doctors by offereing them higher pay packets..... As for not paying back...I agree ...if you don't work to pay back then you need to pay back some of the money. In any case they do have to work in govt hospitals for some time...

If they will they would be wrong too.. Mind you medical education costs way more than engg education to govt of India.. IF still govt of India expects them to do internship in rural india one year out of one's career is nothing it sud be done.

Would you like to be treated by these newbies dada?...i wouldn't. These people need to learn with experienced doctors...not alone in clinics with non existent facilities.... It makes better sense to send experienced doctors by offereing them higher pay packets..... As for not paying back...I agree ...if you don't work to pay back then you need to pay back some of the money. In any case they do have to work in govt hospitals for some time...
I guess u need to google on how internship works it's not like students are thrown into wild. In whatever rural hospital they will do internship some senior doctor wud be present there. Here it's between no doctor and a new doctor. If faced with same predicament I most certainly will choose later. Yeah yeah I get it. It wud be best to hire someone from Harvard medical school and then send to rural India but then who is going to pay for it. Pragmatism bhi koi chiz hoti hai.... U guys are ignoring one thing if protests like these continue then don't be surprised if a Mayawati/Mulayam/Laloo convinces 70% of India that they are being disciminated against and hence all seats need to be reserved for them and next time u might be shown the door if u happen to go for admission in one of these colleges. Just keep watching within weeks some medical student association will come in support of this move and then battle-lines will be clearly drawn. These protesters are playing right into their hands

>>>>I guess u need to google on how internship works it's not like students are thrown into wild. In whatever rural hospital they will do internship some senior doctor wud be present there. That exactly is the problem.... there are not enough doctors...forget about senior doctors....

they are protesting for that extra year 51'2 to 6 1/2 that last yr for rural internship instead they want the rural internship to be included in the 5 1/2 yr programme instead of extending it by one more year.... if thats the case then ther protests seems fair.

>>>> Just keep watching within weeks some medical student association will come in support of this move and then battle-lines will be clearly drawn. This is not new...this kind of effort has been going on for a long time with no result. This is not fauj...you cannot force people. People with girls are going to raise the issue of their safety an guys about equal rights. This is going to the courts with thegovt getting jhaad from the courts .

>>>>they are protesting for that extra year 51'2 to 6 1/2 that last yr for rural internship instead they want the rural internship to be included in the 5 1/2 yr programme instead of extending it by one more year.... if thats the case then ther protests seems fair. correct.

No hospitalis without doctors yes there are less no. of hospital but u always find one doctor at least.. Ramdoss I guess has done his research thsi time. He has proposed to send these doctors after they complete one year intrernship in big hospitals. Basically they are complete doctor because theoretically they can be get employed after that to any hospital and that cud be in rural area for all u know.. Don't worry nobody expects them to do lever transplant in wilderness anyway they will be just fine . You are right there are not enough doctors and this problem can't be solved by sending few seniors mass induction is needed.. I see the continuous stream of new doctors serving in rural areas a good soln to this problem..

they are protesting for that extra year 51'2 to 6 1/2 that last yr for rural internship instead they want the rural internship to be included in the 5 1/2 yr programme instead of extending it by one more year.... if thats the case then ther protests seems fair.
Beetle points come into question here.. They won't find professors in those rural hospitals wonder what will they learn and what kind of medical consultancy they will provide. Already medical schools are under-manned so can't free up profs from there to accompnay these doctors in hinterland either. Sounds like 6/1/2 is the best soln to this predicament as opposed to 5 1/2

When u get education costing 20 lakh virtually free u sud be willing to work wherever the sponsor wants u to for an year at least ... There is price for everything finey.. There is no free lucnh.. This has nothing to do with dictatorship, simple quid pro quo. Socio/political angle: U guys are unable to foresee what this kind of protest might ensue. Don't be surprised if reservation goes upto 100% in near future.

You have to first make rules and give people the option to choose. Govt should ask people to choose between subsidised education+rural stint....or pay for the education.You cannot force people. And if the likes of Mayawati could have it...they would have had 100% reservation by now. Besides reservation is on the basis of caste and not on the rural /urban basis. And how does reservation solve the issue? How many doctors who come from villages go back to work in the villages?

You have to first make rules and give people the option to choose. Govt should ask people to choose between subsidised education+rural stint....or pay for the education.You cannot force people.
Well said beetle. DR - you can bring a law that says "From now on when you join Medical college, you have option: Either choose subsidized and do this thingy, or pay premium and then you have your choice to move out immediately" Announce it ahead of time, so new students joining know what to expect, and if they choose the subsidy then they CHOOSE it. 1. Announce when they join college 2. Allow them the choice with beforehand knowledge. What they are doing now is RUBBISH.
You have to first make rules and give people the option to choose. Govt should ask people to choose between subsidised education+rural stint....or pay for the education.You cannot force people. And if the likes of Mayawati could have it...they would have had 100% reservation by now. Besides reservation is on the basis of caste and not on the rural /urban basis. And how does reservation solve the issue? How many doctors who come from villages go back to work in the villages?
So all selected decide to pay and not work in rural area then how is govt going to man those hospitals.. Anyway choice is clear as day now if u don't want to serve in rural areas there are n number of private hospitals go get ur education there.. Don't use logic in socio/political things I just mentioned what will happen ....... I am sure if govt demands that 20lakh once agin these guys will come in street.. I hope they give them this option let us see how many can afford that money
Well said beetle. DR - you can bring a law that says "From now on when you join Medical college, you have option: Either choose subsidized and do this thingy, or pay premium and then you have your choice to move out immediately" Announce it ahead of time, so new students joining know what to expect, and if they choose the subsidy then they CHOOSE it. 1. Announce when they join college 2. Allow them the choice with beforehand knowledge. What they are doing now is RUBBISH.
This point is understandable but then again if u read carefully those admission papers they have this clause that terms and condition can be changed...... Since u are getting education on govt dime u better adhere to what u have signed during admission.