Yadav - what an iidiot

swami1984

:hysterical: yeah it is fking hillarious to see this stand in hyd stadium named after shivlal yadav. he is the hyderabad cricket association chief, his wife is the womens cricket assocation chief there ... so it is not surprising to see that Arjun Yadav is the captain of the Hyderabadi Ranji team. Hell he has even made it to the India A team because of his dad.

Guest HariSampath
he is crap, BTW his dad now has stand in his name WTF did Shivlal Yadav do for Hyderabad Cricket?
kidnapped and facked it

Guest HariSampath

That rowdy Arjun Yadav has cost India a fantastic prospect called Ambati Rayudu. When Rayudu made his FC debut 4 seasons back as a 17 year old, he was blazing away with 100s, and became the youngest Indian to get a 100 and a 200 in the same ranji game. Daddy Rowdy Shivlal and sonny rowdy Arjun Yadav did everything possible to squeeze him out of Hyderabad. I know Rayudu personally very well, and even 3 seasons back he was getting frustrated and told me everything about Hyderabad cricket and the Yadav mafis. The frustrated youngster moved over to Andhra and did not do well as a result of all this. Even then, in a game between Hyderabad and Andhra, Arjun Yadav tried to hit Rayudu with a stump, instigated a fight and complained against him, with Daddy Yadav pulling strings to get Rayudu a bad name with BCCI. Finally Rayudu came back to Hyderabad as a result of some senior India cricketers intervening, and was still harrassed by the Yadavs, who knew as long as Rayudu was there, there was no way Arjun Yadav could be the prime contender for higher honors from Hyderabad. Two seasons like this, between the age of 19-21 had a very bad psychological effect on Rayudu who had no big connections or money or power, his father is just a clerk in the State govt , and he gave up on playing for India. This resulted in a fantastic talent, even compared to the early days of Tendulkar for his sheer natural abilty in striking a cricket ball, being wasted, and Rayudu decided that he might as well make some money for his family and joined ICL. Shame on Hyderabad cricket...Shame on the Yadav goondas...bye bye Deccan Yadavs :finger: shove it up your arses

okay so u know raydu. we used to speak about him in college, back in india... even when he was playing under 19s. what a waste of talent. But i must say ur frend is little short tempered. See rohit sharma, he comes from a poor family...but his talent is recognised. rayudu should have waited for some time, i feel.

Guest HariSampath

Its easy to say it...but just imagine, if you are a star upcoming youngster in your state side, U-19 captain, selected to go to Australia on a Border Gavaskar scholarship, the Indian coach Chappell specifically calls you to play in the Indian nets in the NCA....and then...your only rival is a dud batter like Arjun Yadav whose father runs the Hyderabad mafia cricket...and who hounds you in a targeted way to keep you out of even the state side...AND if you are poor, you will have your concerns. Who knows....2-3 seasons later, you may find yourself out of the state side itself, no backers in BCCI or media, no money, and for all you know your cricket may just about get you an officer's job with State bank or Tata's or Airlines...when , at that time you are offered a chance to play against some international players and als 80 lakhs to go with it , a 3 year contract, you may want to take it. A bird at hand is worth two in the bush.

Yeah - I know I would have taken the 80 lakh offer (cricketers are human like the rest of us) over the comparatively low income which I'm sure Ranji surely brings....I don't know why people villanize Shane Bond for this same reason.

Wow Hari thanks a lot for that bit of info about Rayudu. I remember being disappointed on hearing that he had joined the ICL 'cause I was following his since his U-19 days to see if he makes it to Team India. It is sad to see such cricket politics destroy careers.

Guest HariSampath

I would like to elaborate on the cricketing fathers and cricketing sons story by citing an example I have been seeing personally for some time. Krish Srikkanth , former India captain and his son Anirudha Srikkanth, who has been a prominent member of Indian U-19, scoring 100s, member of the Tamil nadu state side etc. He is also a brilliant striker of the new ball, plenty of natural ability and an opener like Dad. Anirudh started off playing TN U-19 side even when he was 17 ( he is now 21)...and despite terrific performances he was not initially selected for the Indian U-19, the selectors telling him he was a year too young and could play next year !! Any youngster would have been terribly disappointed, but he stuck it out and played next season, and didnt go running to Dad asking him to do something...and more importantly, Dad Srikkanth didnt even ask him why he was not playing or whether he should do anything. Anirudha was in the state squad after playing for Indian U-19 and scoring very well, but did not get to play in the Ranji 11, still Dad Srikkanth didn't lift a little finger to do anything. Consider the fact that Krish Srikkanth is a far more powerful person in Indian cricket, having been captain and 4 Indian captains have played under him, and most importantly he can get anything done in Tamil Nadu cricket...but did nothing. One day 2-3 years back, when the England A team was touting India and played a game ( fc game) against Tamil Nadu, Krish called me to say that Anirudha might play in the 11 as one of the openers was injured, and asked me if I wanted to drive down to Chepauk as he had never seen his son play ! I agreed and we both drove down, saw the TN openers going in, Anirudh was playing. Simon Jones was on a comeback trial and really letting it go and the wicket was bouncy. Krish and myself lit a cigarette and settled down, Anirudh didnt even know we had come to the game. He blasted 37 runs in 3 overs, including hooking and pulling Simon Jones for 20 runs in an over, two 4s and two sixes, and was bowled off an inner edge, even before we had smoked our cig. All that Krish said to me was " at least he gets out like me after getting a brilliant start" :-) . And even when I was talking to the state selectors at lunch, Krish didnt even discuss the game. One would have expected Anirudha to be given a slot in the 11 next season in the ranji side, but he wasnt, he was just selected for Ranji one dayers, where he did extremely well and Tamil nadu won the nationals. He played in some Ranji games, getting 40s, 50s etc, and scored an 80 odd too, clobbering Pitush Chawla for some huge sixes...I used to see some games, but Cheeka never turned up even to see his son playing for the state. In 2007, TN state won the inaugural national T20, with Anirudha doing very well at the opening spot, with even Sachin having a word of praise for him when he played against Mumbai. He even figured in the 30 probables for the T20 world cup after his performances. He failed in 2 Ranji games and was dropped from the 11 again. He was reselected into the state one day team 6 months back, and he had scored almost 1000 runs including 5 100s in the senior Chennai league, a Chennai record, to get back into the 1 day state team. No help from Dad still. Anirudha was among the most promising youngsters in the state, had plenty of natural ability but was getting chances in the 11 in bits and pieces...a game here and there, then dropped, reselected, dropped again etc . No one could have even blamed Srikkanth senior if he had legitimately fought for his son's place, but he didnt. I had even once asked him and he replied" all selectors in the state are fellows I had groomed and they played for the state under me, how can I degrade myself, let Ani score runs and if he is selected let him play, I will have nothing to do with it". Cheeka is a national figure in cricket, he is constantly in the media as a commentator/expert...selectors like Venkatapathy Raju have played with him, Chief of selectors Vengsarkar is Cheeka's buddy, but still he doesnt even do a small thing to push his son's case. He doesnt mention Anirudha in any article, column, website, news analysis etc. Even in IPL, when Anirudha was the perfect candidate for opening in T20 and still hasnt played a game in the Chennai 11, Srikkanth , despite being brand ambassador for Chennai Superkings, hasnt done anything to get him a slot. 4-5 days back , Ajay Jadeja, in an obvious attempt to bait him asked him on TV " with Hayden leaving now, is there any replacement opener in Chennai, Cheeka ? Cheeka replies " plenty of bench strength, there are many good batters in Chennai". Jadeja persists , hoping to make Cheeka mention his son..." heard Vidyut is a attacking opener, any others? ", and Cheeka says " I dont want to get into selection matters, there is a committee for it, I am just the brand ambassador". And when Vidyut batted so well last game and got a 50, Cheeka was the first to profusely praise him on TV. Even on such a small matter as an interview here on ICF...which Cheeka did a few months back, there was someone who asked him a question on Anirudha....it would have hardly meant anything for him to answer that , but he refused telling me " no questions on Ani and his cricket...that is a separate issue, dont mix up my interview with him". I wish cricket Dads were like this....I am proud of this chap, and that is the reason I feel so frustrated with the likes of Shivalal Yadav ! If cricket dads were like Cheeka, I am sure that if at all their sons make their mark it will be a sure case of merit and not nepotism. That is why I wrote this long post in the context of this thread. Finally I would quote both dad and son to finally clear how the issue stands. Cheeka : I have given him my genes , that is enough, he doesnt even need my name. Anirudha : I use just this name and not Dad's because at the end of my career I want dad to be known as Anirudha's Dad and me not known as Srikkanth's son !

Thank you Hari, for the wonderfully informative posts. Love reading such gems from you! :two_thumbs_up: I did Anirudha play, and I still remember one shot he pulled, my god that was a ferocious pull, cleanest hit in that I match I saw that day, and I told my Dad, that's Srikanth's son. My dad said, Cheeka would be very proud, he played just like him. (I've never seen Cheeka play) And about Rayudu. What a terrible waste :(( He didn't impress much in the first ICL, but during the second one, he got Hyd Heroes out of some tough pickles, and played some great innings. This guy has precocious talent and I'm sad to hear what has happened to him. I wish ICL and BCCI could reach some arrangement, though I highly doubt that'd happen. Thanks Hari, and more stories if possible! :icflove:

okay so u know raydu. we used to speak about him in college' date=' back in india... even when he was playing under 19s. what a waste of talent. But i must say ur frend is little short tempered. See rohit sharma, he comes from a poor family...but his talent is recognised. rayudu should have waited for some time, i feel.[/quote'] I agree with you that Rayudu is a little short tempered and lacked a guiding hand. I have heard from a few that he has rubbed many people in the administration on the wrong side with his tantrums. in addition to Shivlal's vested interest in promoting his son, IMO Rayudu also has to take some of the blame for throwing away many opportunities he got early in his career. He has the Afridi-esque self destruct streak try to go too fancy with his shots too early in the innings. For such rare talent I thought Rayudu missed a mentor, which he really needed. I wish he had some one like Azhar or Laxman take him under their wings. But unforutnately Azhar got himself into the mess and VVS was not available due to India duty. But every one cannot have a mature head as Rohit. For every Sachin there are atleast 10's of Kamblis.

I would like to question whether the seniors in indian cricket whether ex or current have the responsiblity to nurture talent. I mean even greg mentioned rayudu as a prospect when he came in. but how come he was allowed to wither away inthe dirty politics of hyderabad CA. its alright to say the youngster may have his own faults.but they are can be hardly expected to understand powerplay and politics. These situations are beyond the capability of any youngster. Its at this time someone like laxman could have put this foot down. but they probably had other priorities. that's the shame. nurtung our talent requires the highest priority. if a high profile youngster like rayudu can be subjected to such treatment, one can shuddert to think what can happen to the more unknown. This state of affairs is deeply disturbing and it can only change if seniors and powerful people in adminstration take charge of nurturing talent with agression and initiative. Instead they waste their time supporting fools like harbhajan.

Guest HariSampath

Rayudu doesnt have any short temper or throws any tantrums. If at all anything he had been upset by those in the "administration" ...that is the Yadav gang, and he spoke his mind. I know rayudu very well..whenever he comes to Chennai, he calls on me, I mostly take him out for dinner at some good restaurant etc. He is always respectful and keeps " sir sir" language to me which I used to hate but his background is like that. He respects talent in other cricketers and is honest about his views on who plays well and who is a dud, he is also very helpful. At one game during the Deodhar trophy, NZ vs SZ, in Chennai, 4 seasons back I think...he asked me when I went to pick him up in his hotel after a game " sir , a friend of mine has to catch the flight to Delhi, can you please give him a lift to the airport"...it turned out to be Gautham Gambhir, and when we were returning from the airport, Rayudu was full of how good a player Gambhir was and why he should play for India. I had heard him say so much about Irfan Pathan who played under Rayudu in India U-19...long before Irfan made his India debut. It was only once that Rayudu threw a tantrum during a game and that was in a Andhra Hyd ranji game when he was constantly sledged when batting and after he got out, some remark was made by Arjun Yadav about Rayudu's parents/family...Rayudu responded with a remark that Arjun Yadav wont be playing for Hyd but for his father. Yadav picked up a stump and went to attack Rayudu who picked up a bat. There were hundreds of Rayudu supporters at the ground ( Guntur I think), and the matter went to the police as the game was stalled and later resumed. BCCI was given a biased statement of this incident. From that point Rayudu was involved in a couple of dressing room incidents after he returned to Hyderabad team next season, naturally it was inevitable. But as he was always under the guidance of Vijay Paul the coach, he did pull through , both in temperament and in his cricket. I know many people in Hyderabad cricket at the state team levels to know what happened in those 2 seasons. Incidentally , VVS is really a great supporter of Rayudu...I have seen him check his mobile every 5 min after a game and he used to say " waiting for VVS sir's msg, I had sent him my score and how I got out",...just that VVS is not that powerful to help anyone against the rowdy Yadav...but it was also due to the efforts of VVS that Rayudu returned to Hyderabad. And it was not just rayudu....7 other main players from Hyderabad left the Ranji team to play for ICL...you can see why...just that people are trying to give it a twist by painting rayudu as the one at fault. btw, I still have hopes...that fellow is still 22 only...and has plenty of cricket and has not even reached his peak, maybe something will happen, IPL/ICL/BCCI may merge into 2 leagues next season, ICL may be disbanded...something, and I am sure justice will be done and we will see Rayudu in India colors. He deserves it.

It was only once that Rayudu threw a tantrum during a game and that was in a Andhra Hyd ranji game when he was constantly sledged when batting and after he got out, some remark was made by Arjun Yadav about Rayudu's parents/family...Rayudu responded with a remark that Arjun Yadav wont be playing for Hyd but for his father. Yadav picked up a stump and went to attack Rayudu who picked up a bat. There were hundreds of Rayudu supporters at the ground ( Guntur I think), and the matter went to the police as the game was stalled and later resumed. BCCI was given a biased statement of this incident. .
It was in Anantapur, the notorious faction ridden area in A.P. The hyderabad team had to be escorted out to the Railway station or they would have been stoned to death. But one fascinating thing about Anantapur getting to host most of the home matches of Andhra in the Ranji Trophy, the last few years is that it has arguably the best cricket wicket in India, due to the efforts of the local administrator.