India really fluffed a great chance yesterday

SK_IH

I thought Pujara let us down badly. He did face a lot of balls, but for the number of balls he survived had a scored a tad faster it'd would have definitely helped. He needs to think of himself as our main batsman, especially in overseas tests, and take onus on himself to score more runs. He can't simply block one corner and rely on others to do the scoring, especially when they seem to be unable to.

27 minutes ago, bihutoli said:

I thought Pujara let us down badly. He did face a lot of balls, but for the number of balls he survived had a scored a tad faster it'd would have definitely helped. He needs to think of himself as our main batsman, especially in overseas tests, and take onus on himself to score more runs. He can't simply block one corner and rely on others to do the scoring, especially when they seem to be unable to.

Pujara is doing what Dravid used to sometimes, just get stuck into a rut and just could not score. It just puts more pressure on him and team if he can’t even rotate the strike. No one is telling to him blast away. Just don’t get stuck in a rut. Keep the scoreboard ticking. I think he can do it, it’s a change in mindset and going in with a plan. He is still too valuable to be dropped and certainly hell of lot preferable than Dhawan or Tailunt. Those two are not meant for test cricket. They neither have the technique nor the grit.

On 1/9/2018 at 8:57 AM, rkt.india said:

after 12/3, we let them score 286. there, we lost it. we can blame batsmen as much we can, but bowlers will have to take the blame. Remember SA lost 8 wickets for 65 yesterday, so, 200 was certainly enough score in those conditions. we should not have let SA score more than 200 in the first innings.

Batsmen should have matched SA's first innings score. Except Pujara and Rohit (who got tough deliveries), all others played bad shots. Blame the pitch or pace quartet of SA all you want, shot selection was a major issue with all Indian Batsmen. Vijay, Kohli, Ashwin all went searching for balls tentatively outside of off. Dhawan could not pull and Saha made a blunder shouldering arms. It was not a 70/7 pitch on day 2. So, yes, batsmen are to be blamed.

Kya fight yaar? Doesn’t matter if it was 28-0 or 74-3, still far away from 208 and we did not even come close. We lost the match in the first innings after letting SA get away and then collapsing to a 70+ run lag. No one except Pandya and Bhubaneswar scored. Without Pandya’s 93, there would not even be a 208 score to chase. This is what happens when you have unfamiliarity of alien conditions. But anyway, what’s the point debating that. This will happen again in England and in Aus later this year. Bhainchaut Cutte Cricket of India will not learn and do not care.

4 hours ago, Gollum said:

That's the difference between Kohli and Smith. Same situation if Smith had got his eye in and batting at 30 odd, no way would he have thrown it, he would have carried his side till the end, unfortunately that is too much to ask from the mental midget that is VK. 

Smith failed in Bangalore chase ,3rd innings in Ranchi test (it were the rookies like handscomb who had to salvage a draw) and also in the 2nd innings in dharmsala when his team required his service.