Famous Cricket Quotes

Some Good ,Famous and FUNNY QUOTES (U all must have read it before) Henry Blofeld In the rear, the small diminutive figure of Shoaib Mohammed, who can't be much taller or shorter than he is. It's a catch he would have caught 99 times out of a 1000. Don Bradman I saw him playing on television and was struck by his technique, so I asked my wife to come look at him. I know I never saw myself play, but I feel that this player is playing much the same as I used to play, and she looked at him on Television and said yes, there is a similarity between the two...his compactness, technique, stroke production... it all seemed to gel! in reference to Sachin Tendulkar. Mike Brearley Playing against a team with Ian Chappell as a captain turns cricket match into gang warfare. Darryl Cullinan Q: Darryl, who are your favourite actors? Cullinan: Dustin Hoffman and some Aussie bowlers in the act of appealing. Trevor Bailey On the first day, Logie decided to chance his arm and it came off. Farookh Engineer "Sunny. Don't get out first ball. It's a long way back to the pavilion." Fred Trueman That was a tremendous six, the ball was still in the air as it went over the boundary. That's what cricket is all about. Two batsmen pitting their wits against one another. Anyone foolish enough to predict the outcome of this match is a fool. Joel Garner, he pockets them for breakfast. Unless something happens that we can't predict, I don't think a lot will happen. Mike Gatting Q: Do you feel that the selectors and yourself have been vindicated by the result? A: I don't think the press are vindictive. They can write what they want. Michael Kasprowicz "Don't bowl him bad balls, he hits the good ones for fours." referring to Sachin Tendulkar Dennis Lillee "If I've to bowl to Sachin, I'll bowl with my helmet on. He hits the ball so hard." Oscar Wilde I never play cricket. It requires one to assume such indecent postures. Jack Potter It was close for Zaheer, Lawson threw his hands in the air and Marsh threw his head in the air. Adam Parore New Zealand vs South Africa: Daryll Cullinan was batting, attempting a comeback from a complete bamboozling from Warne in earlier games. Cullinan played the first ball from Chris Harris very carefully back down the pitch, and keeper Parore yelled out "Well bowled Warnie!" Ray Illingworth That black cloud is coming from the direction the wind is blowing, now the wind is coming from where the black cloud is. Viv Richards Viv Richards to Sunil Gavaskar at Madras 1983. "Man, it don't matter where you come in to bat, the score is still zero." Gavaskar had decided to come in at no 4 for that test. But Malcolm Marshall got Anshuman Gaekwad and Dilip Vengsarkar for ducks , Gavaskar had to walk in at 0/2. Gavaskar made 236*. Greg Thomas was bowling to Viv Richards in a county game. Viv missed a superb outswinger, and Thomas said "It's red, round and weighs about 5 ounces. "Next ball Viv hits Greg Thomas out of the ground and replies, "Greg, you know what it looks like. Go ahead and find it !" Richie Benaud His throw went absolutely nowhere near where it was going. That slow motion replay doesn't show how fast the ball was travelling. There was a slight interruption there for athletics. -Richie Benaud, referring to a streaker at Lord's, BBC TV Laird has been brought in to stand in the corner of the circle. - Richie Benaud, Channel 9 He's usually a good puller - but he couldn't get it up that time. Rod Marsh "So how's your wife, and my kids?" During a match from behind the stumps Rod Marsh to Ian Botham!! Shane Warne "I'll be going to bed having nightmares of Sachin just running down the wicket and belting me back over the head for six. He was unstoppable. I don't think anyone, apart from Don Bradman, is in the same class as Sachin Tendulkar. He is just an amazing player." Pete Sampras I don't know what these fellows are doing, but whatever they are doing, they sure are doing it well. - Pete Sampras on watching Lara and Ambrose at Lord's. Steve Waugh Q: What's your favourite animal ? Steve Waugh: Merv Hughes. ''You've just dropped the World Cup, son.'' After Herschelle Gibbs dropped Waugh on 56, as he attempted to fling the ball into the air in celebration. (after being defeated in the Coca-Cola Cup finals in Sharjah) "It was one of the greatest innings I have ever seen. There is no shame being beaten by such a great player, Sachin is perhaps only next to the Don''. Tony Cozier The Queen's Park Oval, exactly as the name suggests, absolutely round. Trevor Quirk "And there's the George Headly Stand, named after George Headly"- Trevor Quirk during the test between WI and SA at Bridgetown.

Viv Richards to Sunil Gavaskar at Madras 1983. "Man, it don't matter where you come in to bat, the score is still zero." Gavaskar had decided to come in at no 4 for that test. But Malcolm Marshall got Anshuman Gaekwad and Dilip Vengsarkar for ducks , Gavaskar had to walk in at 0/2. Gavaskar made 236*.
That's class against the early 80s WestIndian pace battery!

nice collection! how's this for an idea. Implent a quote of the day section on the front page or somewhere else. Integrate with sql and it randomly picks a quote of the day:D

Nice one :two_thumbs_up: Will do soon

Some more Glen McGrath (Australia) and Eddo Brandes (Zimbabwe) Aussie paceman Glenn McGrath was bowling to Zimbabwe number 11 Eddo Brandes - who was just missing each ball. McGrath, frustrated, went to him and inquired: "Why are you so fat?"Quick as a flash, Brandes replied, "Because every time I make love to your wife, she gives me a biscuit." Douglas Jardine (England) and Bill Woodfull (Australia) England player Jardine complained that one of the Australian players called him a bastard. Australian captain Bill Woodfull turns to his team, points to Jardine and asked “Which one of you bastards called this bastard a bastard?” Steve Waugh (Australia) and Parthiv Patel (India) When Steve came (Steve's last test match) to bat, Parthiv said, "Come on, just one more of the famous slog-sweeps before you finish" Steve-"Respect Me...for when i made my test debut You were still in your nappies". Sunil Gavaskar Once, during the tour of West Indies, a young bowler was trying to get under Gavaskar's skin by sledging. Gavaskar, a senior player retorted "Son, don't waste time sledging at me. I have been sledged at more often than you have taken a piss". James Ormond & Mark Waugh James Ormond (England) had just come out to bat on an ashes tour and was greeted by Mark Waugh(Australia). Mark Waugh :"F*** me, look who it is! Mate, what are you doing out here? There's no way you're good enough to play for England" James Ormond : "Maybe not, but at least I'm the best player in my family" Freddie Trueman & Raman Subba Row Fearsome English fast bowler Fred Trueman extraced an edge from the batsman, which flew straight into the hands of Raman Subba Row at first slip. The ball however went right between Row's legs to the third man boundary. Fred didn't say a word. At the end of the over, Row ambled past Trueman and apologised sheepishly. "Sorry Fred. I should've kept my legs together". Trueman retorted in classic fashion "Not you, son. Your mother should've!"

Some more Glen McGrath (Australia) and Eddo Brandes (Zimbabwe) Aussie paceman Glenn McGrath was bowling to Zimbabwe number 11 Eddo Brandes - who was just missing each ball. McGrath, frustrated, went to him and inquired: "Why are you so fat?"Quick as a flash, Brandes replied, "Because every time I make love to your wife, she gives me a biscuit." Douglas Jardine (England) and Bill Woodfull (Australia) England player Jardine complained that one of the Australian players called him a bastard. Australian captain Bill Woodfull turns to his team, points to Jardine and asked “Which one of you bastards called this bastard a bastard?†Steve Waugh (Australia) and Parthiv Patel (India) When Steve came (Steve's last test match) to bat, Parthiv said, "Come on, just one more of the famous slog-sweeps before you finish" Steve-"Respect Me...for when i made my test debut You were still in your nappies". Sunil Gavaskar Once, during the tour of West Indies, a young bowler was trying to get under Gavaskar's skin by sledging. Gavaskar, a senior player retorted "Son, don't waste time sledging at me. I have been sledged at more often than you have taken a piss". James Ormond & Mark Waugh James Ormond (England) had just come out to bat on an ashes tour and was greeted by Mark Waugh(Australia). Mark Waugh :"F*** me, look who it is! Mate, what are you doing out here? There's no way you're good enough to play for England" James Ormond : "Maybe not, but at least I'm the best player in my family" Freddie Trueman & Raman Subba Row Fearsome English fast bowler Fred Trueman extraced an edge from the batsman, which flew straight into the hands of Raman Subba Row at first slip. The ball however went right between Row's legs to the third man boundary. Fred didn't say a word. At the end of the over, Row ambled past Trueman and apologised sheepishly. "Sorry Fred. I should've kept my legs together". Trueman retorted in classic fashion "Not you, son. Your mother should've!"
Good ones...:hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical:
Freddie Trueman & Raman Subba Row Fearsome English fast bowler Fred Trueman extraced an edge from the batsman, which flew straight into the hands of Raman Subba Row at first slip. The ball however went right between Row's legs to the third man boundary. Fred didn't say a word. At the end of the over, Row ambled past Trueman and apologised sheepishly. "Sorry Fred. I should've kept my legs together". Trueman retorted in classic fashion "Not you, son. Your mother should've!"
:cantstop:

Shameless copypasta Hashim Amla: "Nothing bad can happen to us if we're on a plane in India with Sachin Tendulkar on it." Hashim Amla, the South African batsman, reassures himself as he boards a flight Yaseer Hameed: "Sometimes you get so engrossed in watching batsmen like Rahul Dravid and Sachin Tendulkar that you lose focus on your job." "To Sachin, the man we all want to be" - What Andrew Symonds wrote on an aussie t-shirt he autographed specially for Sachin BBC on Sachin: Beneath the helmet, under that unruly curly hair, inside the cranium, there is something we don't know, something beyond scientific measure. Something that allows him to soar, to roam a territory of sport that, forget us, even those who are gifted enough to play alongside him cannot even fathom. When he goes out to bat, people switch on their TV sets and switch off their lives " "But the finest compliment must be that bookmakers would not fix the odds - or a game - until Tendulkar was out." "Tuzhe pata hai tune kiska catch chhoda hai?" Wasim Akram to Abdul Razzaq when the latter dropped Sachin's catch. Brian Charles Lara: "Sachin is a genius. I'm a mere mortal." Mark Taylor: "We did not lose to a team called India...we lost to a man called Sachin" - Mark Taylor, during the test match in Chennai (1997) M. L. Jaisimha: "The more I see of him the more confused I'm getting to which is his best knock." Glenn McGrath: "The joy he brings to the millions of his countrymen, the grace with which he handles all the adulation and the expectations and his innate humility - all make for a one-in-a-billion individual," Anjali "I can be hundred per cent sure that Sachin will not play for a minute longer when he is not enjoying himself. He is still so eager to go out there and play. He will play as long as he feels he can play," Matt HAYDEN: "I HAVE SEEN GOD, HE BATS AT NO.4 FOR INDIA" "Even my father's name is Sachin Tendulkar." -- Tendulkar's daughter, Sara, tells her class her father's name after the teacher informs them of a restaurant of the same name in Mumbai KUMBLE: "I am fortunate that I've to bowl at him only in the nets!" Shahrukh (quoting Shahrukh from an interview) "Que: Who do you think as most important celebrity ? Shahrukh: There was a big party where stars from bollywood and cricket were invited. Suddenly, there was a big noise, all wanted to see approaching Amitabh Bachhan. Then Sachin entered the hall and Amitabh was leading the queue to get a grab of the GENIUS!!" Navjot Singh Sidhu: "India me aap PrimeMinister ko ek Baar Katghare me khada kar sakte hain..Par Sachin Tendulkar par Ungli nahi utha Sakte.." Waqar Younis "He can play that leg glance with a walking stick also." A banner once said-' I WILL SEE GOD WHEN I DIE BUT TILL THEN I WILL SEE SACHIN ' that quiet defines Sachin-The greatest. Allan Donald: "Sachin Tendulkar has often reminded me of a veteran army colonel who has many medals on his chest to show how he has conquered bowlers all over the world" And i remember reading in one of Allan Donald's interview. This interview was in Cricket Talk 7-8 yrs ago. "I was bowling to Sachin and he hit me for two fours in a row. One from point and the other in between point and gully. That was the last two balls of the over and the over after that we (SA) took a wicket and during the group meeting i told Jonty (Rhodes) to be alert and i know a way to pin Sachin. And i delivered the first ball of my next over and it was a fuller length delevery outside offstump. And i shouted catch. To my astonishment the ball was hit to the cover boundary. Such was the brilliance of Sachin. His reflex time is the best I have ever seen. Its like 1/20th of a sec. To get his wicket better not prepare. Atleast u wont regret if he hits you for boundaries." Peter Rebouck, Aussie journalist "On a train from Shimla to Delhi, there was a halt in one of the stations. The train stopped by for few minutes as usual. Sachin was nearing century, batting on 98. The passengers, railway officials, everyone on the train waited for Sachin to complete the century. This Genius can stop time in India!!" NKP Salve, former Union Minister (This was when he was accused of ball tempering) "Sachin cannot cheat. He is to cricket what (Mahatma) Gandhiji was to politics. It's clear discrimination. " Andy Flower: "There are 2 kind of batsmen in the world. One Sachin Tendulkar. Two all the others."

The Mother of all quotes, as far as I am concerned;

Only one team was playing with the spirit of the game - Anil Kumble
That single line had such a reverberating effect on the cricketing world. It was almost like a political statement made by a high-profile leader.
The Mother of all quotes, as far as I am concerned; That single line had such a reverberating effect on the cricketing world. It was almost like a political statement made by a high-profile leader.
hehe epadi Sriram ivalo build up..Kumble koode ivalo yosichirke mattanu nanikeren avan sonne aporom :D
Um... do you have any idea how much havoc the ORIGINAL quote (uttered by Bill Woodfull) caused' date=' to the point of diplomats almost intervening in a series?[/quote'] Could you please quote what Bill Woodful said, I'd love to know. And as you may have guessed by now, I do not know what he said. And as a general rule, I do not comment on things that i did not witness first-hand for myself since history can spin things beyond context (not to say that that was the case in this instance..)
hehe epadi Sriram ivalo build up..Kumble koode ivalo yosichirke mattanu nanikeren avan sonne aporom
lol, I truly do think that statement by Anil was profound in so many ways. :D
Could you please quote what Bill Woodful said' date=' I'd love to know.[/quote'] The quote itself is less important than the impact it had in the Bodyline Series. The fact that the comment (about two sides on the field and only one playing cricket) was a significant spark in some of the worst relations between England and Australia as the first major protest by an Aussie player - that too the captain - against the Bodyline tactics, with boards and even diplomats trying to intervene says enough.
And as you may have guessed by now, I do not know what he said. And as a general rule, I do not comment on things that i did not witness first-hand for myself since history can spin things beyond context (not to say that that was the case in this instance..)
http://www.indiancricketfans.com/showpost.php?p=851934&postcount=20 http://www.indiancricketfans.com/showpost.php?p=853424&postcount=35 http://www.indiancricketfans.com/showpost.php?p=853994&postcount=48 Ahem.