Ram Posted June 21, 2008 Posted June 21, 2008 And these IT folks have driven the property rates sky high that we heathens can't even dream of buying a bigger home in Mumbai suburb :(( Yep, IT has made a couple of hundreds of thousands of peoples lives proper, but it has made the life of millions miserable. Now, for a vast majority, any decent piece of real estate in city is totally out of reach. it's true MM .. i am told that house is 10 or 20 storey with every facility in the world imaginable.. it has parking space for 100+ vehicle. heli pad yada yada everything......... property price will come down for sure..... in matters of oil price i do believe subsidy worsens the situation. in free market consumption wud have gone down with price but subsidy makes sure consuption pattern remains the same'' let us face it no BPL person consums petrol their gas is proverbial Mitti Katel" and if i ma not mostaken that price has been virtually locked for ages thanks to subsidy............if demand goes down even open countries will feel the pinch will have to slash down the price.. DR, I know about that house DR. In fact here's a picture of it. According to the plan, the house will rise to a height of 173.12 meters, equivalent to that of a regular 60-storeyed residential building. However, Antilia will have only 27 storeys in all, which means each floor will have a ceiling considerably higher than the current average of nearly three meters. Six floors for parking The first six floors will be reserved for parking alone, and that too for cars belonging only to Mukesh’s family. Space for a total of 168 ‘imported’ cars has been earmarked here. Floor for car maintenance Sources said the Ambanis would prefer to have all their cars serviced and maintained at an in-house service centre. This centre will be set up on the seventh floor. Entertainment floor The eighth floor will have an entertainment centre comprising a mini-theatre with a seating capacity of 50. Balconies with gardens The rooftop of the mini-theatre will serve as a garden, and immediately above that, three more balconies with terrace gardens will be independent floors. The ‘health’ floors While the ninth floor will a ‘refuge’ floor - meant to be used for rescue in emergencies - two floors above that will be set aside for ‘health.’ One of these will have facilities for athletics and a swimming pool, while the other will have a health club complete with the latest gym equipment. For guests There will be a two-storeyed glass-fronted apartment for the Ambani family’s guests above the health floors. One more refuge floor and one floor for mechanical works will be built on top of these apartments. Family The four floors at the top, that will provide a view of the Arabian Sea and a superb view of the city’s skyline, will be for Mukesh, his wife Neeta, their three children and Mukesh’s mother Kokilaben. Air space floor According to the plan, two floors above the family’s residence will be set aside as maintenance areas, and on top of that will be an “air space floor,†which will act as a control room for helicopters landing on the helipad above. Helipad The plan states that three helipads are to be built on the terrace. The place will require 600 full time staff to keep it running on a day to day basis! I know we’ve all seen Trump’s gold encrusted New York apartment, but this guy is in another league entirely. I would sure be interesting to see the public reaction in America if anyone was to build a house this opulent. But given the horrific poverty that is present in India, to build a structure like this as a personal residence does seem to be highly insensitive at best. I’m as much of a capitalist as anyone and Mr. Ambani can certainly do as he pleases with all that dough, but I do think an awareness of the fate of those around him should play into his actions. Really will having a house this spectacular give him a better life; or will the separation it creates from virtually everyone else around him make it a regretful nightmare? ------------- At best, this house can be valued at a couple of 100 crores, not the $2 billlion ( 10,000 crores) that you are talking about.
Lurker Posted June 21, 2008 Posted June 21, 2008 we also have world's most luxurieus home in india mukesh amabani's house is worth 2 billion dollar I am told... god knows how he sleeps at night.... 2 billion dollars seems a little far-fetched money but Mukesh Ambani does have the resources to pull it through. It reminds me a bit of Daniel Vettori comment before he left IPL to accompany NZ in England series. He practically had to finish a game and then take International flight. As per him he was not nervous(that he would miss the flight) as - Owners owned the Airport and hence everything moved fast. Call me cynical but does that really work anywhere else except India?? In an Advanced country at best the person would be put in 1st class row so he can pass thru Security etc. Vettori obviously knew it and hence his comments. They said like OPEC, we Rice and grain exporting countries should form "a cartel of rice exposting nations" in the line of OPEC, where we can dictate the price of food-grains and selective export....that would have been great to to teach a lesson to those mofos who are refusing to increase the production of oil I have personally no issue against Mid East countries, even though rising oil has affected me quite a bit. The reason I dont have any issue against Mid East countries is simply because they are playing the Capitalism card - the market decides the price. This philosphy is basically a Western philosphy whereby US/UK etc etc have grown richer over the years by charging extra. Now thanks to Outsourcing to India, Pharma companies of India/China they are getting beat black and blue at the prices and so all these nautanki. Why were these US companies not selling drugs to India at a fraction before?? Obviously because they wanted to make billions. It is plain Capitalism at work. The logic of Rice "blackmail" wont work because one of the largest producer of Rice(China) will NEVER agree to go against Mid East countries. In fact China is rapidly overtaking US as the principle country in Mid East and Africa. And even if for argument sake China did join countries like Thailand fact remains there are more Rice producing countries than Oil producing in the world.
Guest dada_rocks Posted June 21, 2008 Posted June 21, 2008 http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/Mukesh_Ambanis_home_worlds_costliest/articleshow/3002586.cms Mukesh Ambani's $2 billion home world's most expensive: Forbes
Lurker Posted June 21, 2008 Posted June 21, 2008 Organic stuff makes sense upto some extent not to me khanti robust bihari though.. Organic stuff is good specially for meat and eggs. Generally the opinion is divided over eating whole egg(due to high cholestrol) but eating Organic Eggs is lot safe. Same with meat. Plus being Bihari it actually works better for me to go Organic, no khaad/fertilizer etc. Lekin mehenga ho gaya ab. but u sud have been shooping in costco to start with what's the point of paying more for same stuff of same quality What bothers me about Costco is to buy the huge amount of supplies. This doesnt work for me since I dont have that much consumption. And secondly I would much rather shop twice a week than to do it once. Abhi I am sucking it up and loading my fridge with Costco but I still have a feeling ke kuch to phenkna padega in the end.
Lurker Posted June 21, 2008 Posted June 21, 2008 http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/Mukesh_Ambanis_home_worlds_costliest/articleshow/3002586.cms Mukesh Ambani's $2 billion home world's most expensive: Forbes Odd as it may sound you might find many Indians who will actually be proud of that!
Ram Posted June 21, 2008 Posted June 21, 2008 http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/Mukesh_Ambanis_home_worlds_costliest/articleshow/3002586.cms Mukesh Ambani's $2 billion home world's most expensive: Forbes 2 Billion? The math doesnt make sense to me. Of course, the price will rise coz all the square-footage, swimming pools, heli-pads and other fancy gizmos, but surely, 8000 crores for a real estate property?
Guest dada_rocks Posted June 21, 2008 Posted June 21, 2008 MM 100 crore number which u have i belive won't be enouhg for the land cost itself.. man 5 crore ka ak chhota sa flat aata hai posh locality mein mumbai mein
Guest dada_rocks Posted July 17, 2008 Posted July 17, 2008 Inflation touches 11.91% and none cares in frenzy of cure-all-ills nuclear-deal.
Lurker Posted July 17, 2008 Posted July 17, 2008 Inflation touches 11.91% and none cares in frenzy of cure-all-ills nuclear-deal. Average Indian does care except noone is there to listen to them. Much like how BCCI treats Indian fans. Inflation is getting really bad in India. If you are in a village, or have some sort of farming background so you have crops, veggies etc coming to you then its all good. If you are in Noida, Gurgaon, South Mumbai you still dont give a damn and display the same atitude as George Bush - Whats the big deal if everyday gas moves a cent above. However in middle size town Patna, Kanpur etc where an average salary is 15-20K this is killing people. Specially if you are already under stress getting your kids educated, paying for house etc etc.
Guest dada_rocks Posted July 17, 2008 Posted July 17, 2008 Meanwhile Soniaji chimes in andhra pradesh that nuclear deal will solve the power-cut probelm in rural india.. If I am not mistaken the rough estimate says nuclear power driven energey will cost around 6Rs/unit.. I am not so sure even middle class will be able to afford it let alone the poor class of rural india.. lurker I meant political class when I said none cares all are busy with nuclear deal.. opposition i trying to bring govt down and govt in trying to win the vote of confidence.. I sincrerely belive matters of this kind should be left to the conscience of all MPs. No party whip should be issued..
beetle Posted July 18, 2008 Posted July 18, 2008 Buying petrol hurts a bit...dals have become a little more expensive....but veggies and fruits are the same.
Crookbond Posted September 20, 2012 Posted September 20, 2012 http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/city/delhi/21-year-old-youth-kills-self-over-inflation/articleshow/16458588.cms?intenttarget=no GHAZIABAD: Blaming inflation for pushing him to the brink, a 21-year-old worker in a paint factory killed himself by hanging from a ceiling fan in Loni, Ghaziabad on Monday. The victim, Bharat Tomar, cited rising prices as the reason for taking the extreme step. "No person is responsible for my death. The only reason is mahangai (price rise)," he wrote in a suicide note. Police said Bharat had been facing financial problems which were compounded by high rate of inflation. "The boy was looking for a better job but was unable to find one," said a police officer. Tomar, originally from Mathura, was found hanging in the paint factory where he worked. "I have nothing against anyone, nor do I have any problems with my family. I am just fed up with my life," said his suicide note. "Insaan kare bhi toh kya kare? Na hi acchi naukri hai upar se mahangai itni ki jeena mushkil hai (what can a man do? I do not have a good job and on top of that, inflation has made life difficult)," he wrote. Tomar apologized profusely to his family and asked the authorities to ensure that his savings were transferred to his family. "I couldn't do anything in my lifetime for my family," he regretfully wrote. On Monday, Tomar's family initially alleged he was killed. "There was no pressure from our end. I think it's a murder that has been made to look like a suicide," said Sunil Tomar, his brother who has been referred to in the suicide note. In the note, Bharat had also referred to his brother, saying, "You have always been there for me. I love you". However, police confirmed Tomar had killed himself. "The marks made by the rope on the neck have conclusively shown during the autopsy that it was a suicide," said S H Yadav, SP City, Ghaziabad Sunil said Bharat earned Rs 5,000 a month. His family had been planning to help him set up a shop to make him financially independent. "I run a small garments shop and we had been trying to help Bharat set up his own shop. He had been unhappy about the financial condition of the family," said Sunil.
Silva Posted September 20, 2012 Posted September 20, 2012 Inflation is terrible thing because the only way you can really stop it is buy hurting growth. When the US did it in 80s they put the economy back into a recession and Reagans approval rating was in the 20s. Afterwards the economy boomed.