Ram Posted July 18, 2008 Posted July 18, 2008 It's incredibly rude when some people ask questions and then don't bother to acknowledge the answers. I must have wasted several hours in doing up the answers to this exercise many months ago. Total waste of time. Some of the people who asked the questions never even acknowledged they'd read it. Here's Bheem's replies- a window into his facinating soul. I am sure he'd appreciate the courtesy of even a brief acknowledgement that he's been read. True. It must have taken hours for BB to compile this. He could have given two line answers for the sake of it, but took the pains of giving honest, detailed answers.
kumble_rocks Posted July 18, 2008 Posted July 18, 2008 The mighty US Dollar. It pays my bills and that of a lot of my less fortunate friends and family members back in India. As with most Indians I have a large family back home ... most of whom are not as fortunate as me. They look up to me ( and my cousin ) and we do the best we can to make sure they dont end up struggling for large parts of their lives to just survive and make ends meet. Slowly but surely me and my cousin have wiped out all our debts gotten a lot of kids educated take are of the aged provide capital for those who are entrepreneural and such responsibilities. All these things are easier to do if we live and work in the USA. I owe a lot to this great country. Yes I would like to return but its easier said than done .... too many dependencies and variables to resolve. Good honest answer straight from the heart especially this one !:two_thumbs_up:
Guest dada_rocks Posted July 18, 2008 Posted July 18, 2008 Read it word by word.. Kafi Intezaar karwaya janaab but sabra ka phal meetha tha... :two_thumbs_up:
Lurker Posted July 18, 2008 Author Posted July 18, 2008 Thanks for the kind words guys ..... And yes Danramrah you can ask some more ... but I will probably not be able to answer them right away as I need to finish answering others. Doc , I missed your interview .... :(( BB, You can find Doc's interview here: http://www.indiancricketfans.com/showthread.php?t=89670 Also I am thoroughly enjoying your answers. Didnt want to butt in till you are completely done. Please keep them coming. :hatsoff:
The Outsider Posted July 18, 2008 Posted July 18, 2008 Very impressive and top notch stuff! Keep the ball rolling.:two_thumbs_up:
Guest Hiten. Posted July 18, 2008 Posted July 18, 2008 Thank you BB for your time. You have answered all the questions in great depth and aptly.
Holysmoke Posted July 18, 2008 Posted July 18, 2008 Honest answers Boss. Thanks. I simply CANNOT BELIEVE that you havent been to an international cricket game!!!!
dial_100 Posted July 18, 2008 Posted July 18, 2008 Hey Bossy, I mssed the timing when questions were asked. 'en seriously busy oflate so missed it. But now I dont want to add up any more burden on ya by asking questions. But honestly, you are exactly the way I thought from the beginning. Excellent read. You are honest in the work you do? Keep it up buddy. D100
Predator_05 Posted July 18, 2008 Posted July 18, 2008 Thanks for answering all my questions, yaar. I really didn't expect anything more than a 2 or 3 line response - you truly are a marvel. I'll hold my replies until you finish. Next time, there should be some kind of limit on the # of questions asked.
ludhianvi Posted July 18, 2008 Posted July 18, 2008 Excellent responses BossBhai :two_thumbs_up: Sidenote: we should get a place to archive these interviews
sandtest Posted July 19, 2008 Posted July 19, 2008 What an incredible read these answers are!.....Take a bow Shridhar bhaiya. Your honest description of relation with your father is what touched the heart most. Definately, an archive material.:two_thumbs_up:
theguyinallblue Posted July 19, 2008 Posted July 19, 2008 Why do Guys have strained relations with their father..? i am also not in talking terms with dad...some difference of pricnciples..:giggle:
sandtest Posted July 19, 2008 Posted July 19, 2008 As with most Indians I have a large family back home ... most of whom are not as fortunate as me. They look up to me ( and my cousin ) and we do the best we can to make sure they dont end up struggling for large parts of their lives to just survive and make ends meet. Slowly but surely me and my cousin have wiped out all our debts gotten a lot of kids educated take are of the aged provide capital for those who are entrepreneural and such responsibilities. That's an inspirational stuff for all. It made a youngster in me to sit and look back at such a practical and real life way of helping others in true sense.:hatsoff: reminds me of a famous poem from Dinkar ji.. "Wohee Pashupravritti hai ke aap aap hee charey "Wohee Manushya hai ke jo Manushya ke liye marey".
sandtest Posted July 19, 2008 Posted July 19, 2008 Hmmm I think I know what this is all about ... clever Doc. There is a thin line between kindness and stupidity based on context. Example : If a mad dog is on a rampage in the neighbourhood you cannot sit there and say well its doing whats in its nature ..too bad if there is a side effect of rabies or missing poutry or worse human casualties. The right thing to do is put down the Dog first while look at ways to find a vaccine. Some real world examples Kuldeep Nayyar petitioning the NHRC on behalf of a Terrorist caught red handed is not an act of kindness it is an act of utter stupidity. Like wise Rai Pithora's - popularly known as Samrat Prithvi Raj Chauhan - act of letting go Ghori based on misplaced notion of chivalry is an act of utter stupidity , Gandhi's stance during the Mopla riots and his subsequent (and persistent ) take on minoriy issues and their appeasement even after having admitted openly to the nature of the community by and large. Played with straight bat as always. BossBhai, knowing your god gifted prowess in statistics of history, please allow me to suggest, apart from Cricket, you can easily compile the staitistics of key incidents in history....perhaps in your own personal blog or some place like that. It would be a great repository of reference for your fans like me, whenever one needs to burst the balloon of JNU jholawala type historians.
Bumper Posted July 19, 2008 Posted July 19, 2008 Wow, the amount of time you have put in, each question is unbelievable. Perhaps you are not as lazy as you think. Good answers, BheemBhai!
SachDan Posted July 19, 2008 Posted July 19, 2008 Thanks for the kind words guys ..... And yes Danramrah you can ask some more ... but I will probably not be able to answer them right away as I need to finish answering others. Doc , I missed your interview .... :(( Just some more questions to answer BB... 1.If you get a chance to have a private conversation with Boss,what three questions you would like to ask him? 2.Which according to you is the one most fascinating law being implemented in the game of cricket forthe last 25 years or so...if at al there's any 3.Who do you view as the most valuable poster of this forum?and who's the most entertaining one?
theguyinallblue Posted July 20, 2008 Posted July 20, 2008 BossBhai...your life story epitomize the Lakhs of Indian students...who work their way up by sheer determination and hard work... inspite of little resources... i am sure...you not only transformed your life and of your near and dear ones...but many in your neighbourhood would have got the inspiration from you..and worked harder to succeed in life... :two_thumbs_up:
observer1 Posted July 20, 2008 Posted July 20, 2008 Bheem One question from me, albeit late What is your definition of a 'pseudosecularist' and, similarly your definition of a 'true secularist'? As always, thanks in advance
Guest Hiten. Posted July 20, 2008 Posted July 20, 2008 High praise again TGIB ... not worthy of me. Next its Bumper : 1) Can someone with serious philosophical differences with you, ever be your friend ? How tolerant are you in your real life, of such people ? A very close friend of mine happens to be a die hard pseudo-secularist. He is quite up to date with politics and loves talking about such things. We used to get into similar conversations at work. It took me 2 yrs to convince the guy that there are some big man-holes in his ultra liberalist take on things especially in the Indian situation where its simply callous to practice such theories. Those discussions were fun and very engrossing and much more satisfying than conducting a debate on the forum. So yeah I can get along very well with most people though I pick and choose my company very very carefully. A lot of my family members are seudo-secularists due to the shallow understanding of reality. For example no-one in my family knew anything about the Kashmir situation other than that there was some danga fasad. 2) Have you ever been caught at work, browsing/posting on MBs ? (LOL!) Iam beyond that stage. I work with thorough professionals who dont even care about such stuff. Better yet if the proxy blocks a site I report that to my manager in an email (who then puts it in the garbage bin). I also have high levels of self control in such matters and will just not go to a site that Iam not familiar. I dont even visit the betting section for this reason. The one time I did accidentally click on a wrong site was when I clicked on that stupid matrimonial ad that slips through between pages. I more or less work on my own terms but I also go out of my way when the situation at work demands. Like yesterday when I did a all-nighter on a production issue. I keep my relationship with coleagues strictly professional. I dont bother anyone and no-one bothers me. If I spend time on the internet .... I make that up by working from home. Very rarely do I miss deadlines and if I feel I will miss it the boss will know about in an email upfront in plain english. 3) Is BheemBhai, a straight shooter in real life too ? Absolutely . Some examples : Told the boss a few things that he wouldnt expect anyone to tell him. Coleagues ALWAYS get a very straight answer to professional or technical questions. Theres is no beating around the bush and if anybody tries that I usually tell them to cut to the chase. Have told a couple of American colegues that Baseball sucks after they were bragging about that awefull sport. Have kept a cricket ball at desk for that purpose. Told my boss ka boss ka boss in an email that I cannot comply with this new policy on reducing power consumption by shutting down PC's as it didnt make economic sense.(Ended up getting an exemption). The best thing was I had a boss who was just as darn straight shooter as me. What fun that was working with him. Meetings would last just a few minutes. No bakwas. No chit chat. No nonsense. No CYA. Great guy that fella is ... would go to great extents to stand by his team members. Now why havent I not gotten into trouble you ask ? Because there is a way to do it without pissing off people. 4) How politically correct are you ? Very little. Told a Muslim classmate during a debate pretty much the same stuff that I write here. There was this annoying idiot who thought he was a Afghan because his last name was well Afghan sounding .. told him to never take a DNA test as the results might not go down well with him. There was this another guy to whom I asked if he would follow Khomeini's fatwa against Rushdie if he ever met Rushdie ... he said he was dutybound to follow orders . Soon after 9/11 told my American boss that he was lucky to have been born in a country that is sooo far away from the epicenter of terror unlike India where we lose more people every year than America lost on that fatefull day.(So why is the World not aware of such a tragedy - he asked - to which I had no answer) . :hail: You sir are a effing genius! :omg_smile: