Lurker Posted July 20, 2008 Author Posted July 20, 2008 BB. This is why I absolutely love this segment, it brings a human aspect to all posters who are otherwise often little more than an avtar, a fan, a troll..or maybe a combination of all of the above. In the end we are all inspired more by people around us, and not some leader we dissect every day, and I have little doubt that there would be quite a few posters who would have read your responses and felt inspired on some levels. The difficulty on responding on website is often how you respond? You can either choose to be at a distance and not allow the reader into your bubble, after all you dont owe anything to him. Or you can choose to be yourself and let him see the world through your own eyes. I am glad you chose the latter. My personal favorite response was perhaps where you mentioned how your Dad meticulously kept Xerox of your passport. It is almost impossible to understand this unless one has experienced it first hand(I suppose only children of 80s have actually felt this). This was the time before "soft copies", "electronic filing" etc. And so anytime one had a document of any importance - Tax papers, Driving license, Marksheets - Dads specially made Xeroxes of them, often in multiple copies. It was very touching to read it, as also the fact that the first game you saw was the 1985 Benson Hedges game against Pakistan, it was mine as well although the game I remember most was the final, and again Kapil did a few things special. Thanks a bunch for taking time. Indeed sabr ka fal meetha tha. :-) xxx
MundaPakistani Posted July 21, 2008 Posted July 21, 2008 It's incredibly rude when some people ask questions and then don't bother to acknowledge the answers. I must have wasted several hours in doing up the answers to this exercise many months ago. Total waste of time. Some of the people who asked the questions never even acknowledged they'd read it. Here's Bheem's replies- a window into his facinating soul. I am sure he'd appreciate the courtesy of even a brief acknowledgement that he's been read. Would like to apologize for that. After asking those questions i had stopped posting here for a few months.
coffee_rules Posted July 22, 2008 Posted July 22, 2008 Coffee : How did choose your nick? Inspired by Bheem Boy? Explained earlier but it was inspired by Bheem (the pandava ) and initiated by BladeBhai. Are u always PC outside MBs as well? You mean Non-PC right ... If so look above to answers given to Bumper (Else I will e-kill you) Bhaakri or Paratha? Both. Bhakri (Rotti as we prefer to call it) needs its own variety of side dishes to go along with it. Like Yengai Palle (its palle not palya BTW hehehe :-D ), Gurol chutney, mavinkay uppinkay etc ... It doesnt go too well with North Indian dishes plus its damn hard to make and the ingredients (Jowar) is hard to find anyplace else other than Northern Karnataka region. We tried to do it the other day here but the darned smoke detector wouldnt allow us. Came out okaish in the end but there is a different taste to the ones that are cooked on the choola (vale or vali or valai) . Our house in India had a choola and Mom used to cook on that once in a while .. man there is a different taste to it altogether when done that way. Today if you want to taste the true North Karnataka style you have to go to those Lingayat Khanawali's. They absolutely rock ! There is one in B'lore Majestic area (Forget the name probably Basweshwar Khanawali) . The ones in our town make you site on the floor and serve you in Baale yeli Banana Leaf and its not yele but yeli :-D ). For those who havent tasted North Karnataka food and like to try different Indian varieties you should try them. Just make sure you have enough spice tolerance. Just a tidbit on that note .... Gurol pudi - one of the main spices in North Karnataka style of cooking - is available in the US and is probably of a better quality. So where do you get it ? Hold your breath it is found in any Bird food store across America its called thistle seeds. Just dont tell them its for you :-D . So all you need to do is grind the seeds and use them There was one Yatri Nivas in Majestic area which served NK food in the 3rd floor. It was pretty good, not as authentic as probably somebody from NK would like. I think it was the type of red chilli that makes the difference (byadgi mensinkai) which gets the aroma and color to all the dishes! The red chilli chutney made in NK can't be gotten anywhere else (also thought to be carcinogenic), goes great with bhaakri. I had done 3 yrs of primary school in Dharwad. Great memories. Great responses, BB. Loved the read.
sandtest Posted July 27, 2008 Posted July 27, 2008 Dhanyabaad, Bossbhaiya for words of wisdom in matrubhashaa. Sorry for delayed response, family commitments are keeping me away from internet. We all know, History taught to kids in school plays a very crucial role in development of youth and poupulation of any country....It's evident, our history is written by sidekicks of same very folks who are projected as stalwarts of 'tolerance" and "ahimsa" no matter at the expense of nation and it's existence. If we wish to make even 0.001% progress in changing the view and outlook of next generation and thereby improving the condition of India, changing history and adequate representation of true interest of nation in mass media is essential.
Guest dada_rocks Posted July 27, 2008 Posted July 27, 2008 observer1: What is your definition of a 'pseudosecularist' and, similarly your definition of a 'true secularist'? pseudo-secular : I will explain this thru examples .... will be faster and easier. The greatest pseudo-secular guy that ever existed on this planet was Mahatma Gandhi. Perhaps the father of Pseudo-secularism would have been a better title for him. Iam sure I dont need to explain some of his acts but the despicable act of his lining up with the likes of Ali brothers during Khilafat movement and then very conveniently brushing away the Mopla riots as an act of Muslims trying to protect Islamic interests sum up the man. Someone who is truly secular would be Vallabh Bhai Patel. A man of impeccable morals and strong sense of justice. u terrorrist :two_thumbs_up:
Guest dada_rocks Posted July 27, 2008 Posted July 27, 2008 Do everybody give such detailed responses ot the questions asked or BOssBhai is exception.. I won't know since I have not been following these threads but the regular ones should know.. Still somethign tells me Lurker needs to give special plaque to BB for taking his intiative so seriously.. Padhate padhte padhate ham thak gaye par BB doesn't seem to be tiring:--D
punjabi_khota Posted July 27, 2008 Posted July 27, 2008 Thanks everybody for the kind words and often heaping unworthy praise especialy from Sandtest, dial_100 , Predz , TGIB and DR. Its been a pleasure answering all questions. I had thought of explaining some other aspects about me and my outspoken political views that drive up the BP levels of a lot many. Samay ki kami ke karan nahi ho paaya but one of these days will definitely do it. But rest assured it will not be easy on your BP levels. I do not know much about you, since I am newcomer to this site. But I really look forward to this future article.:-D