Shehezaada Posted June 28, 2008 Posted June 28, 2008 Hey guys, My sister is getting married on July 19th and I have to emcee. My brother in law is from Delhi and boy are they proud of it. I was wondering if you guys could help me out with some typical Delhi jokes, some inside stuff you might have, some great joints there...knahmean? Thanks a lot and looking forward to hearing from y'all
theguyinallblue Posted June 29, 2008 Posted June 29, 2008 can't really think of anything... delhi doesn't have its own culture..its a mix breed kinda society.. people here love to show off..their " contacts " and ...in any tussle...this would surely come first.. "abe jaanta nahi mai kaun hun.."..:giggle:
Desi Cartman Posted June 29, 2008 Posted June 29, 2008 shehzada where are u from ? Arey dilli waley believe in show off big time ... and TheguyinBlue is 100% correct contacts and bank balance is a true yardstick of ur success in delhi.
Guest dada_rocks Posted June 29, 2008 Posted June 29, 2008 if u happen to know some sc lawyer or some top journalist or politician u are the king
Shehezaada Posted June 29, 2008 Author Posted June 29, 2008 hey downunder, I'm from Ghaziabad. thanks for your suggestions guys..keep em coming!
Cricketics Posted June 30, 2008 Posted June 30, 2008 don't talk about GB raod with your brother in law.
Desi Cartman Posted June 30, 2008 Posted June 30, 2008 don't talk about GB raod with your brother in law. :hysterical: tharki dilli walay ! Its more famous than Lal Qilla for some reason :devil_smile:
Desi Cartman Posted June 30, 2008 Posted June 30, 2008 hey downunder, I'm from Ghaziabad. thanks for your suggestions guys..keep em coming! There isnt much difference between Ghaziabad and delhi .. yaar I grew up in UP and moved to delhi when I was 17 and the only difference I found was the property value and how much the youngsters took pride in property inherited by them .. koi farak nahi hai .. sab desi hai :two_thumbs_up:
Texy Posted July 2, 2008 Posted July 2, 2008 you should talk about your sister......those childhood stories...all the shaitani...silly stuff.....and then you should end it with how much you love her and you're ready to welcome the brother-in-law. In the middle talk about experiences.... make up some stuff for fun like : my sister wants to get married so quickly that she has already found someone for me ....sorry mom n dad....i will not stay quiet anymore (in dramatic tone)
punjabi_khota Posted July 2, 2008 Posted July 2, 2008 The "culture" of Delhi is heavily influenced by Punjabis and also the politicians. If its a Punjabi family, make sure you have some naughty jokes available. Also, you might want to see Monsoon Wedding, if you haven't seen already. I cannot believe how much filthy jokes are tolerated in those weddings....ofcourse, I LOVE IT..haha. Anyways, everyone is too drunk to get any complicated jokes, anyways...haha. Its more about dancing anyways..I had an uncle once who kept on dancing even though the songs stopped playing.