Desi Cartman Posted July 7, 2008 Posted July 7, 2008 RANCHI: Even as Team India skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni was busy taking on the Sri Lankans in the Asia Cup final, his fans in Ranchi are busy preparing for the celebration of their icon’s 27th birthday on Monday. While a prominent retail chain has announced 27% discount on most items for a day, a radio station has picked one of Dhoni's fans, through SMS, to cut a 30-pound cake on his behalf and distribute among the fans. Some fans have also decided to cut a cake in the city's main chowk. Nagpuri singer Pankaj Dharohar is preparing to begin recording for a new album on Dhoni's birthday. He is hoping to release the album later in the month. The songs would include a desire of many of the cricketer’s fans that he should marry soon. "We have tried to give this message to his mother that her son has turned 27 and she should look for a match," Dharohar said. Sources said students of Jawahar Vidya Mandir, Dhoni's alma mater, are also ready to celebrate his birthday. His family, however, has decided to keep it a personal affair. The cricketer's brother-in-law, Gautam Gupta, denied any special arran-gements at home saying since Dhoni is not home there is no point organising any special celebration. :hysterical::hysterical::hysterical: :omg:
sandtest Posted July 7, 2008 Posted July 7, 2008 Don't be surprised, if our news channels tirelessly provide live news coverage of Dhonis neighborhood. Last time they did was Aishwarya-Abhishek marriage....Star News registered itself in Guinese book by telecasting interview of the man who supplied "Mehendi" for her.:hatsoff:
theguyinallblue Posted July 7, 2008 Posted July 7, 2008 Sandtest...don't you think Hindi news channels are now more towards Masses than classes.. 2-3 years ago..it was only INDIA TV which used to show all the stories of Bhut, snakes, supernatural things etc etc..by hyping and sensationalizing it....and no wonder...india tv has the highest viewseship now among Hindi channels.. i follow news on internet..and only watch selective debates on on 24*7 or other english channels.. but whenever i am having my food..i always switch on India TV... its news but its fun ..and i like it.. and like me..there are many in my office and others who like India TV... and now all other Hindi channels are following the same path... they all are show "sai baba"..super natural things..and other sensational news...:haha:
sandtest Posted July 7, 2008 Posted July 7, 2008 ^^^ that's correct and fair enough to say that Mass rules and decides the quality of "class". But I still believe if there is a will and funding from patriotic Indian businessmen, then IIT/IIMS folks in India can easily come together and manage a class media outlet which will have enough substance to attract masses. Public opinion is like a growing money plant, media can turn it whichever way they feel. As far as NDTV and IBN are concerned, they are nothing but some bunch of pseaudo-intellectuals playing in the hands of their owners. Just sample this Karan Thapar....once talking of nuclear deal went on blabbering that our Dr. APJ Kalam -- a prominent nuclear scientist is in favor of deal. This idiot don't even know that one of the India's greatest Nationalist in 21st century- Dr. Kalam was not a nuclear scientist. I written a letter to IBN pointing the idiocy of moron Thapar that our ex-President was head of DRDO missile research and development, while Nuclear scientists fall under Department of Atomic Energey (DAE). Needless to say there was no reply from them and Karan Thapar is considered as an intelligent debator by many in India, go figure!.
theguyinallblue Posted July 7, 2008 Posted July 7, 2008 :-D... how politicians fool the innocent masses... Amar Singh was worshiping Mahamahim..Pujniya..Bharat Ratn..Bharat ke saput Abdul Kalam sahab is in favour of Nuclear deal.. i sometimes think how easy it is for politicians to fool...the largely uninterested..tax ridden masses of india..
sandtest Posted July 7, 2008 Posted July 7, 2008 Btw... GIB, how do you find 9X bounquet of Channels? They have this "News X", which looks sometimes straight forward and sometimes dull in appearance. May be they are still low on TRP compared to others? Among, religious channels, Astha is OK, I wonder why they can't produce more programmes on Vedanta, Upanishads and Philosophy of Advaita, Sankhya , Charvaka etc. rather than sticking with pure Bhakti.
theguyinallblue Posted July 7, 2008 Posted July 7, 2008 i only watch 9xm..while posting here..when i am at home...never spent more than a minute on 9x news... some of the babes there are good... also i seldom watch bhakti channel....i sometimes watch Baba Ramdev's yoga programs .. now a days i am listening to one quran channel that my cable wala shows :cantstop:...mostly when people call them and ask about what is Haraam and Halal... they sure make me laugh...
sandtest Posted July 7, 2008 Posted July 7, 2008 now a days i am listening to one quran channel that my cable wala shows :cantstop:...mostly when people call them and ask about what is Haraam and Halal... ... Are you talking about Q-TV?....Al-humdullillah, your Arabic will improve drastically now. I noticed a thing when I watched that last time. A sizeable no. of the callers on that channel were from Pakistan.
theguyinallblue Posted July 7, 2008 Posted July 7, 2008 some one should tell them that "Man changa to kasauti me Ganga"...