kumble_rocks Posted July 15, 2008 Posted July 15, 2008 She didn't necessarily fuel the war , but she did support Velupillai Prabhakaran the founder of LTTE back in the 70's and early 80's. Under her stewardship , RAW was working cladestinely with LTTE members in a number of locations in Tamil Nadu providing financial as well arms support.The government of Tamil Nadu under MGR was asked by the Indira Gandhi to turn a Nelson’s eye to LTTE activities. Things begin to change only when LTTE started its ruthless policy of systematic assassination of the top leadership of other insurgent groups in Sri Lanka namely TELO.
Guest dada_rocks Posted July 15, 2008 Posted July 15, 2008 In 80's Rajeev gandhi used to basically fund LTTE, ironically after IPKF fiasco he himself became the target of LTTE.. kar bhala to ho bhala:giggle:
Lurker Posted July 15, 2008 Posted July 15, 2008 Any truth to this? Heard it from someone recently. No. :giggle: Indira Gandhi would have funded LTTE if she was actually doing the payments from her own pocket, which she wasnt obviously. This was Indian official policy at the time. Part of the reason for this policy was the sheer "Nationalism" that was floating around in Tamil Nadu at the time(no different from Punjab and Kashmir, only lot less violent). Tamils were specially incensed by the invokation of Hindi as the "National" language(it didnt happen obviously). Southernites, specially Tamils, should be able to tell you more about this but many Tamil political stalwarts, including Karunanidhi, went so far as burning Indian Constitution at Marina Beach. At the same time Sri Lanka was caught in Sinhala-Tamil conflict and the latter group derived quite a lot of support from Indian Tamils. Some of it was strictly ethnic based, other was because of the refugees pouring in. To quell the assertion that Indian Government was "anti-Tamil" India did have its contact/support with Tamil rebels. Of course another good reason would be Indian desire to be the strongest nation in the region. xxx
kumble_rocks Posted July 15, 2008 Posted July 15, 2008 In 80's Rajeev gandhi used to basically fund LTTE, ironically after IPKF fiasco he himself became the target of LTTE.. kar bhala to ho bhala:giggle: What's their to giggle about . Guy got blown to pieces mind you ! Even BJP goverment supported the Burmese Junta which was brutal to it's own civilians. Hardly kar bhala!
sandtest Posted July 15, 2008 Posted July 15, 2008 There is a lot of propaganda and psy-ops involved and yes that includes our good old USAs complicity with LTTE at one crucial stage. Let us first speak of present time condition in South Asia. I have seen, our smaller neighbors in SAARC now a days tend to project India like an Evil empire to hide their own failure and internal unrest within their population. In south asia we are increasingly seen as synonymous to evil USA thanks to our screwed up foreign policy of Nehruvian legacy. Every country from Nepal, to Sri lanka to Bangladesh tries to blame all their failures on evil Bharatiyas, same like latin American countries blame imperial USA even when a Chavez farts. That said, I find Indira's covert yes to LTTE and Prabhakaran as a "geo-strategic" compulsion than any thing else. Any PM of India was 'majboor' to do that for following reasons -- (1) It was a time after we just finished a war with Pakistan by succesfully splitting it into two parts and thus birth of Bangladesh. (2) It was a time when Cold war prejudice was prevalent in USA and West, and we were seen as Russia staunch ally. (3) During Bangladesh liberation war, Indira gandhi faced an unique challenge, that forced her national security advisors to rethink the geo-political startegy. The Challenge was how to counter both Pakistan and China TOGETHER and avoid opening a third front with USA ( through their proxies). If you recall, during Bangladesh war, USA sent it's Aircraft carrier-- USS Kitty hawk to pressurize Indira, but Russia quickly dispatched their Nuclear submarines and bailed Indira out. Now this newfound fear of USA made Indira rethink that what if SLs Bandranakan - turns a pro western?? Wouldn't he allow CIA to covertly operate from Sri lanka and thus Sri lanka will become a play ground for all western experiments like Soviet era Afghanistan?? To add to her fear, Bandranakan successor became increasingly pro-Western and that prompted Indira to influence LTTE to remind him that any western presence in Sri lanka will be dangerous and unacceptable. reason no. 2 , I think is during those days, India herself was not financially and militarily, politically capable to suppress the feelings of their own Tamil population in Tamilnadu. M.G. Ramarao was of opinion that open opposition of Tamils might result in some seccession movement in Tamilnadu itself. It worked during that time and kept CIA at bay, however, after break-up with India and rajiv Assasination, CIA has gained it's presence in Lanka through LTTE. Please read -- "Kaoboys of RAW" by B. Raman, not only about Sri Lanka, there lot more very enlightening disgusting and many a times foolishness of successive Indian leaders.
Ram Posted July 15, 2008 Posted July 15, 2008 There was once a time when LTTE was receiving lots of patronage from the Tamil Nadu govt, with tacit approval from the Centre. Whether this period was under Indira's regime, I dunno.
Guest dada_rocks Posted July 15, 2008 Posted July 15, 2008 What's their to giggle about . Guy got blown to pieces mind you ! Even BJP goverment supported the Burmese Junta which was brutal to it's own civilians. Hardly kar bhala! Again u are confusing things.. support for junta would have been when it had provided them with money arms to fight.. BJP just didn't oppose it..... same foreing policy line is in place even now Bwe don't confront burmese junta.. it's nto the same as litrally funding the LTTE.. So he got blown into pieces what shoud I do shed tears.... did he shed tears for 3000 killed in delhi.. I am not wasting my tears on such characters ....... u reap what u sow
kumble_rocks Posted July 15, 2008 Posted July 15, 2008 Again u are confusing things.. support for junta would have been when it had provided them with money arms to fight.. BJP just didn't oppose it..... same foreing policy line is in place even now Bwe don't confront burmese junta.. it's nto the same as litrally funding the govt.. So he got blown into pieces what shoud I do shed tears.... did he shed tears for 3000 killed in delhi.. I am not wasting my tears on such characters ....... u reap what u sow You are the one who is confusing things ... Rajiv Gandhi did not support LTTE on the same scale like the way Indira Gandhi did . He was under tremendous pressure to do something in Jaffna and hence IPKF was sent in as a show of force with full support from Indian Masses especially from Dravid land ... No reason for you to interject a giggle smiley when talking about Rajiv Gandhi being blown apart by Tamil Tigers....
Guest dada_rocks Posted July 15, 2008 Posted July 15, 2008 Well heuseds to release crores of oney from the RAW fund.. I have a book penned by RAW man claiming these.. Well Indira Gandhi preceded him so she too wud have supported but point is Rajeev opened his coffers .... ....Tamils still would like india to support LTTE .. I don't see india forces there.. on one hand u support a terrorist outfit and at the same time send your forces to fight against them and in the melee u got caught .. Certainly deserves a smiley..... Moreover sikh genocide is reaosn enough for me to not waste tears over his death.. certainly not wish death on any indian leader but I do reserve the right to grieve or not to grieve..
fineleg Posted July 15, 2008 Posted July 15, 2008 DR, You need not grieve, but I suggest removing the smiley, because it shows yourself in really poor light otherwise. Thats my suggestion.
Desi Cartman Posted July 16, 2008 Posted July 16, 2008 isnt it true that Lankan govt also allowed pakistani planes to refuel during the bangladesh war ? 3 of my colleagues are from Sri Lanka and they blame India for LTTE (not hate India though). They see the major reasons like Bangla war , US trying to establish air bases in SL , Tamil population migration and incompetence of Lanakan leaders at that time. The only issue that still bothers every sri Lankan I have met is the treatment by Indian soldiers when Army was sent in by rajeev Gandhi. It pissed off LTTE Tamils as well as Sinhalese
sandtest Posted July 16, 2008 Posted July 16, 2008 DR, You need not grieve, but I suggest removing the smiley, because it shows yourself in really poor light otherwise. Thats my suggestion. Why, you are getting so touchy! If anything he is just stating the things as it is --bluntly -- without caring whether Rajiv is a famous Nehru-Gandhi dynasty whom Indians are brainwashed to hold in high esteem no matter how they screwed us left and right.
sandtest Posted July 16, 2008 Posted July 16, 2008 Sending Indian troops to kill Tamils across the border was the biggest strategic blunder by India committed under none other than Dynasty stalwarts of India -- Rajiv. This Nehru family has a history of scoring such self-goals when it comes to foreign policy issues, so what's new here? His grand pa the great Chaaaaaa Chaaaaaa Nehru was singing praises of socialism and communist ideals when ChinCommies grabbed major chunk of land in north east. Taking J&K issue in United Nation is another legacy of Nehru dynasty. Even after death of Rajiv, his legacy is hounding us in defense. Today our armed forces we cannot purchase a superior Artillary of Bofors because in past this company was involved in bribing Rajiv. I pity ignorant Indians who come out with all their PC guns blazing at slightest denouncing of this corrupt, mass murderer, dictator and trataitor dynasty of India
fineleg Posted July 16, 2008 Posted July 16, 2008 Why, you are getting so touchy! If anything he is just stating the things as it is --bluntly -- without caring whether Rajiv is a famous Nehru-Gandhi dynasty whom Indians are brainwashed to hold in high esteem no matter how they screwed us left and right. This is not about dynasty. This is about RESPECT for a tragedy that befell a leader of our country who was first and foremost a human being. r.e.s.p.e.c.t
Lurker Posted July 16, 2008 Posted July 16, 2008 Sending Indian troops to kill Tamils across the border was the biggest strategic blunder by India committed under none other than Dynasty stalwarts of India -- Rajiv. This Nehru family has a history of scoring such self-goals when it comes to foreign policy issues, so what's new here? His grand pa the great Chaaaaaa Chaaaaaa Nehru was singing praises of socialism and communist ideals when ChinCommies grabbed major chunk of land in north east. Taking J&K issue in United Nation is another legacy of Nehru dynasty. Even after death of Rajiv, his legacy is hounding us in defense. Today our armed forces we cannot purchase a superior Artillary of Bofors because in past this company was involved in bribing Rajiv. :hysterical::hysterical::hysterical: When it is not an anti-Islam post then it has to be anti-Gandhi family. You must be a simple man Sandy saab :giggle: Quick question for you - Why was Rajeev Gandhi wrong in sending Indian Armed Forces in SL?? Elaborate in detail...write as much as you want so we can have a meaningful discussion. xxx
THX_1138 Posted July 16, 2008 Posted July 16, 2008 There is a lot of propaganda and psy-ops involved and yes that includes our good old USAs complicity with LTTE at one crucial stage. Let us first speak of present time condition in South Asia. I have seen, our smaller neighbors in SAARC now a days tend to project India like an Evil empire to hide their own failure and internal unrest within their population. In south asia we are increasingly seen as synonymous to evil USA thanks to our screwed up foreign policy of Nehruvian legacy. Every country from Nepal, to Sri lanka to Bangladesh tries to blame all their failures on evil Bharatiyas, same like latin American countries blame imperial USA even when a Chavez farts. where exactly are you getting this from? Sri Lankan government has never blammed any Indian policy for their internal conflict, and furthermore, i spoke to a Sinhalese friend of mine who is a graduate student here and he echoed this sentiment that there is no unfounded enimosity towards India amongst Sri Lankans. however, when on the cricket field, there is an adversely high rivalship (i guess india-sri lanka is the new india-pakistan following pakistan's decline). Furthermore, india enjoys cordial relationships with both Bangladesh and Nepal. While there are some extremists in Bangladesh, including one former general, there is no particular hatred of india. quite frankly, bangladeshis are quite neutral towards india and pakistan (yeah one might expect them to be more pro indian, but their's is a sophy's choice: the infidels who liberated them in a past now forgotten, or a former torturer who shares a common religino). Nepal however, is a bit of a conundrum. Some of the nepalese feel that indian support for the nationalist maoists came too late and their military support of the tyrannical monarchy is frowned upon. however, the new government views india as a significantly more helpful and trustworthy ally as opposed to the menacing chinese. and finally, the Bhutanese downright love us. true some of the stuff above is based on anecdotal evidence, but that is more than you have provided. That said, I find Indira's covert yes to LTTE and Prabhakaran as a "geo-strategic" compulsion than any thing else. Any PM of India was 'majboor' to do that for following reasons -- (1) It was a time after we just finished a war with Pakistan by succesfully splitting it into two parts and thus birth of Bangladesh. (2) It was a time when Cold war prejudice was prevalent in USA and West, and we were seen as Russia staunch ally. (3) During Bangladesh liberation war, Indira gandhi faced an unique challenge, that forced her national security advisors to rethink the geo-political startegy. The Challenge was how to counter both Pakistan and China TOGETHER and avoid opening a third front with USA ( through their proxies). If you recall, during Bangladesh war, USA sent it's Aircraft carrier-- USS Kitty hawk to pressurize Indira, but Russia quickly dispatched their Nuclear submarines and bailed Indira out. if you check history, indira gandhi travelled to the united states ahead of the bangladesh liberation war and received an acknowledgement from both the chinese and the americans of its efforts in the region and a promise that it would not be subjected to an opportunist attack during this campaign. furthermore, for all your hatred of united states, it has never increased military aide to pakistan when india and pakistan have been at war. this after nixon's secretary of state kissinger insisted that the united states use the opportunity to strengthen its position against a perceived soviet ally in the region by persuading the chinese to open a third front... Now this newfound fear of USA made Indira rethink that what if SLs Bandranakan - turns a pro western?? Wouldn't he allow CIA to covertly operate from Sri lanka and thus Sri lanka will become a play ground for all western experiments like Soviet era Afghanistan?? To add to her fear, Bandranakan successor became increasingly pro-Western and that prompted Indira to influence LTTE to remind him that any western presence in Sri lanka will be dangerous and unacceptable. reason no. 2 , I think is during those days, India herself was not financially and militarily, politically capable to suppress the feelings of their own Tamil population in Tamilnadu. M.G. Ramarao was of opinion that open opposition of Tamils might result in some seccession movement in Tamilnadu itself. It worked during that time and kept CIA at bay, however, after break-up with India and rajiv Assasination, CIA has gained it's presence in Lanka through LTTE. Please read -- "Kaoboys of RAW" by B. Raman, not only about Sri Lanka, there lot more very enlightening disgusting and many a times foolishness of successive Indian leaders. while this rationale sounds plausible, i am still skeptical of accusations of indian support of the LTTE, not so much because we are so bloody ethical, but because our foreign subterfuge programs are not quite as effective as one might believe.
THX_1138 Posted July 16, 2008 Posted July 16, 2008 :hysterical::hysterical::hysterical: When it is not an anti-Islam post then it has to be anti-Gandhi family. You must be a simple man Sandy saab :giggle: Quick question for you - Why was Rajeev Gandhi wrong in sending Indian Armed Forces in SL?? Elaborate in detail...write as much as you want so we can have a meaningful discussion. xxx lurks i am curious... i havent been to india in ages, but assuming you have, are there a lot of people who are as vociferous and belligerent as sandest in india? he is a bit like DR without the logic and a lot more sabre rattling.
Lurker Posted July 16, 2008 Posted July 16, 2008 lurks i am curious... i havent been to india in ages' date=' but assuming you have, are there a lot of people who are as vociferous and belligerent as sandest in india? he is a bit like DR without the logic and a lot more sabre rattling.[/quote'] No not really. By and large average Indian is lot more tolerant(or tagged royally by others as "psec"). At the very least you will have Indians who will be supportive of a party, say BJP, but will also concede that BJP like any other party has its own demerits. It is only a small percentage that will support BJP(or Congress for that matter) being correct all the time. What bothers me, like you correctly pointed out, is not that this percentage has a one-track mind but is often belligerent and vociferous.
Guest dada_rocks Posted July 16, 2008 Posted July 16, 2008 Seriously kurker that was alot fo selg-aggaranidzement in one post.. So your uncondition and unabashed eulogy of Rajeev gandhi ( Presiding over 3000 death without a signle bullet fitred) is by some pretzel logic logical stand.. but if some supports modi ( who didn;t sleep over somewhat similar scenariop and actually gave his police orders to fire) he she is illogical funamentalist.. No party is clean heck no political party can remain clean such is the nature of politics......All one is arguing abouot is how much who screwed... So counter-question why do we not have our troops in Iraq Sudan heck why we don't have it even in Srilanka.. Answer of thsi why will answer ur original question of why indira gandhi or rajeev gandhi was being at bets idiotic or at worst sinister when they sent indian troops there...... For me it was as right or wrong as iraq war...