If Ganguly gets dropped ...

Ok ... whats your best XI?
Strategically, India has two classes of players. The specialists and the established. The established are players that do well in any conditions, home or away and as such merit selection. These guys are obvious like Tendulkar, Laxman, Khan, Sharma, Gambhir, Sehwag, Dhoni. Then there are the specialists who require help from the pitch to bowl well and be a threat (Harbhajan, RP, Pathan) or bat well (Yuvraj etc). The problem India have is that the selectors are driven as much by the media/public as they are merit. India doesn't have a constant best 11 and for that matter no team should. You bring in your established players that are in good form and then pick your specialists which are dictated by form also but the pitch conditions/combinations how they've done in certain situations (for example Kaif batting well over seas and being a gifted fielder etc). It's not rocket science and not all that difficult unless you start mixing in politics, blind loyalty, and media pressure which is unfortunately what happens all too often.
If Ganguly gets dropped then I will distribute meethai in my village. "saab khate hai!" :hysterical: :lollypop:
Indeed. Add mr 'has been living on past glory' Sachin Tendulkar to that list too....two of the biggest baggages in the team....one gets to stay coz of his 'left handedness and once-in-a-blue moon knock', the other gets to stay coz he was a superstar who burnt out and can now produce one decent innings every 10 times he steps out to bat. Pathetic duo...hatao een do budhaus ko. I have more faith in Dravid than i have in mr-has-been Tendulkar.

D_R, Interesting article. Quoting here for easy reference - I do think Gurgaon is also offering opportunities these days, and you may find quite a few Bengalis still moving there too.

Till two years ago, Samrat Ghosh’s life revolved around Calcutta. He’d grown up playing cricket in its galis and knew every nook, cranny and adda in the city. But a short stint in Hyderabad changed his emotional connect with Calcutta. When Ghosh flew into the city for the Pujas last year, he felt suffocated. “The city has not grown in two years. There were the same posters, the same politics and the same traffic,” says Ghosh, 25, who works as an assistant manager at the General Electric (GE) call centre in Hyderabad. Ghosh’s loyalties have now shifted to Hyderabad. “It’s a dynamic city. Something new is happening there all the time. Calcutta can’t compare with it,” he declares. Ghosh could be speaking for thousands of educated Bengali youth. In the last couple of years, hordes of young Calcuttans have headed for the silicon cities of south India. Bangalore, for example, now boasts of a three-lakh Bengali population. True, Calcutta’s young have been heading out for years. But until a decade ago, young, ambitious Bengalis would go to Delhi, lured by its top-end universities and diverse job opportunities. But now Bangalore and Hyderabad seem to have replaced Delhi in the mindspace of young Calcuttans. Siddharth Bhattacharjee, officer of placement and training and head of the University Employment Bureau at Jadavpur University, says that 30 per cent of the university’s graduates opt for jobs in southern cities. Anecdotal evidence too suggests that the number of straight-out-of-college Bengalis in Bangalore’s information technology (IT) industry has shot up steeply in the past five years. Bengalis comprise 14 per cent of the IT Professionals Forum, which has 10,000 members in Bangalore. Most of them are youngsters who work in BPO firms, says M.K. Swaminath, national chairman of the forum. “Five years ago, less than seven per cent of our members were Bengalis,” he adds. Consider too that 30 per cent of Bangalore’s Bengalee Association’s 2,000 active members are in the age group of 20 to 25 years. “For the first time this year, most volunteers working at our Durga Puja pandal were under 30 years of age,” says A.K. Bhadra, joint secretary, Bengalee Association. And because of the huge influx of Bengalis into Bangalore, anything Bengali is now sure to be a hit. For instance, when Ayan Banerjee, director of MukhOsh, a Bangalore-based Bengali theatre group, organised a protest in November over Nandigram, about 200 people, all Bengali IT professionals, showed up. “Even five years ago, the attendance would have been zero,” says Banerjee. Again, last month, MukhOsh’s annual production ran to packed houses for two days. As young Bengalis pour into Bangalore, a slice of Bengal is rapidly emerging in the city. As many as 30 Durga Puja celebrations were held in Bangalore last year — up from 10 three years ago. In Hyderabad, the 750-plus-member Hyderabad Bengali Samiti too reports an influx of young people from Bengal. “The trend of Bengalis moving southwards has increased by 25 per cent in the last five years,” says the Samiti’s Gautam Dutta. Over two dozen Durga Puja pandals were set up in Hyderabad last year, he reveals. “Every year, we see at least two to three new pandals,” says a member of a city puja committee. To be sure, young Bengalis are lured to the south because they usually get better jobs there than in Calcutta. Says Rimi B. Chatterjee, a lecturer at Jadavpur University’s department of English, “Most of my students are literature graduates and face a major job crunch in the media and communications industry. This is forcing them to venture south.” But other than job opportunities, Bangalore and Hyderabad’s cosmopolitan culture and modish lifestyles are also a major draw. Notes Calcutta-based sociologist Prasanta Ray, “Life is easy for young migrants in Bangalore and Hyderabad. They live anonymously and are not answerable to any family or neighbours.” Take, for instance, Somen Guha (name changed at his request). “I wanted to lead an independent life. That was next to impossible in Calcutta with my parents always breathing down my neck. So the best option was to move out. And what better option than Bangalore,” exclaims the 26-year-old, Bangalore-based journalist. Guha quit Calcutta two years ago. “Now I earn well and live on my own terms,” he says. Sociologist Ramachandra Guha says, “Calcutta is a very Bengali city. Hyderabad and Bangalore, on the other hand, are multi-cultural. There are only 30 per cent Kannadigas in Bangalore.” He adds that while Bangalore is a city of the young, Calcutta is perceived to be a city of the middle aged and the old. A few also say that Bangalore’s superior work culture attracts youngsters. Software engineer Arijit Chatterjee, for example, feels that Bangalore’s USP is that it is an equal-opportunity city. “You don’t have to be well-connected to make it big in the IT industry. Performance talks,” says the 25-year-old techie. Money talks too. Says Banerjee, who works at General Electric (GE) Research, “When I joined GE, I got an annual pay package of Rs 15 lakh. A research company in Calcutta offered me half the salary,” he says. Some, however, insist that the annual migration to the south is drawing to a close. Bharati Mukherjee, pro vice-chancellor, Rabindra Bharti University, for instance, feels that young Calcuttans now prefer to stay on in a city that’s suddenly displaying dynamism and growth. “This (moving to the south) was the trend a decade ago. Now the reverse is happening since a lot of companies are setting up bases in Calcutta.” Author Sunil Ganguly echoes that view. Apart from many more job opportunities, “thanks to the mall and disco culture, the youth now have access to almost everything they were seeking in other metros,” he points out. But mall or no mall, for the moment at least, Calcutta’s youth are showing no sign of turning away from the siren call of the south.

Subcontinent: Sehwag Gambhir Dravid Tendulkar Laxman Rohit Sharma Dhoni Kumble Harbhajan Zaheer Ishant Australia, South Africa, West Indies: Sehwag Gambhir Dravid Tendulkar Laxman Yuvraj Singh Dhoni Harbhajan Sreesanth Zaheer Ishant England, New Zealand: Sehwag Gambhir Dravid Tendulkar Laxman Dhoni Praveen Kumar Harbhajan RP Singh Zaheer Ishant

Why does Ganguly always gets the chop first?? it's like a habit of Indians...anything happens blame dada.....while totally ignoring others... what the hell did LAXMAN do???? he's the most selfish batsman in Indian team.....2nd innings 3rd test match....he takes a single 1st ball and exposes the tail...and ends up not out on 61.....i guess to him that was MORE important than covering for the tail...yet NO one will notice that...coz he made "61" "valuable" runs

your going to call him selfish...wow...ganguly is the most out of any cricketer, what you mean what did he do....look at tendulkar look at dravid they all averaged in the twenties. time to wake up to reality my friend ganguly is 36 and is not that great of a test player first of all Laxman should not be batting at 6, second of all i wouldnt blame him for being not out because he never gets a chance at number 6 to score many runs. its Laxman who is always the borderline player whose place in the side is questioned despite being consistent and being the top 3 batsmen of all almost every series, take away gangulys lucky 239 he is nothing in test cricket. Its not Laxmans fault its the team managements problem they shouldnt be sending Laxman after Ganguly and out of form players. One should not blame Laxman at all hes been one of the most sacrificial cricketers india has ever seen. Ganguly is the most selfish cricketer india has seen.

Laxman does the act of exposing tail with complete disregard of match situation all the time.. He always gives the impression that he hardly cares about eventual result as long as he scores

I agree laxman doesnt bat well against tail enders but dada was terrible in this series-he had trouble picking mendis,his footwork was worse than before.however he should play in the aussie series-If he continues to struggle after the 1st match than he should be dropped.

Dont worry guys... You dont have to worry about dropping one of the 4 buddhas... One of them will definitely get **** by the time we select team. So we surely need replacement but dont need to worry whom to drop. :hysterical: Kyaa... buddhe hai.. bimar to ho hi sakte hai naa :giggle:

Well, technically speaking, Ganguly has the least amount of natural talent. He doesn't have great foot work or technique. Instead he always relied on tremendous bat speed and incredible timing to play his shots especially when working the the ball on leg side. So at a certain age when your reflexes and agility decline so does your timing and ability to get into a good position in time. You can kinda see that with Ganguly. It's like his mind is as sharp as ever but his body isn't responding quickly enough and someone who's been coaching for years can probably look at it and make a good judgement call. Whereas batsmen like Tendulkar can play a lot longer because their technique, footwork and form are so good that they're not just reliant on one thing like Ganguly depends on his timing. Just my opinion.