"Mendis is not unplayable": Guess who??

Call me a madman' date=' but I think Yuvraj is going to massacre Mendis...[/quote'] madman on the other hand is Yuvraj will massacre Mendis, in a bar fight.

No Indian fan wopuld like to belittle Yuvi, he is an asset for limited overs cricket. But we would have preferred if he resisted himself from showing such plain paki bravado. At least score a 50ish against those two spinners, and such statements will be held in high regard. Being self obssessed like Chuckhtar, talk talk and then if he gets owned by M&M next week, he will look stupid. It's definately not an Indian trait.

Kya yaar, kuch bhi ??
No Indian fan wopuld like to belittle Yuvi, he is an asset for limited overs cricket. But we would have preferred if he resisted himself from showing such plain paki bravado. At least score a 50ish against those two spinners, and such statements will be held in high regard. Being self obssessed like Chuckhtar, talk talk and then if he gets owned by M&M next week, he will look stupid. It's definately not an Indian trait.[/QUOTE] but it is definetely a Punjabi trait...:hysterical: hopefully Yuvi plays well againt mendis to justify the interview..:D
Guest Hiten.
No Indian fan wopuld like to belittle Yuvi, he is an asset for limited overs cricket. But we would have preferred if he resisted himself from showing such plain paki bravado. At least score a 50ish against those two spinners, and such statements will be held in high regard. Being self obssessed like Chuckhtar, talk talk and then if he gets owned by M&M next week, he will look stupid. It's definately not an Indian trait.[/QUOTE] but it is definetely a Punjabi trait...:hysterical: hopefully Yuvi plays well againt mendis to justify the interview..:D
So you yourself are admitting that Punjabi's != Indians. Did you really had to throw your BS in this thread too ? Show me one post in this thread where it mocks Punjab or Punjabi's which supposedly 'provoked' you to barf here.
oh man!!! take it easy...why do you think like that...I'm just saying...."that's how we Punjabis are" always +ve and optimistic...chill man...actuallly I was having hard stuff yesterday........seems like you are having it today..:hysterical:....also I was upset that a Gold Medal winner like Abhinav was not being shown much respect....especially when no Indian cricket match is being played now....that Gold Medal winning effort deserved a sticky for some time....so what if it is a cricket fans website, this olympic Gold has come after a very long wait.
Damn!! I am actually very worried about Yuvraj. How will he play Mendis and Murali bowling in tandem? He cant read either of them.:((
hey why not make Yuvi open with shewag... and make Gauti come in the middle order to face the spin duo.. Yuvi can handle pace easily.. so maybe its not such a bad idea to open with yuvi.. by the time the spin attack comes, he will be be well settled and ll b more confident to face the spinners rather than facing the spinners straightaway.
I dont think we should disturb the in form Sehwag-GG pair. It can backfire with no guarantee that YS will succeed as opener. Our best chances are to accumulate some good runs right at the start with Sehwag-GG so that the middle order can counter Mendis and Murali with a relaxed mind. But yes, if an early wicket falls, YS should be sent in at no3 so that he gets some share of fast bowlers before the spinners step in. But if Sehwag-GG do well and the first wicket falls late, out best shot at no 3 would be Dhoni himself. We saw in Asia cup final that he was reading Mendis better than the other batsmen. YS should be saved for later overs when the fast bowlers comeback. Having said that, I think too much shuffling can break the confidence of Yuvraj. May be he should be allowed to bat at his normal position and should be given an opportunity of proving himself correct. Sometimes when a captain shows confidence and supports a player, the player overcomes big odds and performs.
Ok Willow san, don't make it an ethnic/regional biase issue. Last thing we need is folks muddling over regionalism. It was a tongue in cheek comment. Replace Indian with Chanakian and you know what I meant :winky:

:hysterical::hysterical::hysterical: hez gonna play in dambulla..........the t20 style wont work there...........SRT or dhoni shud say this......they are gr8 batsman.....they can handle anything......

Yuvi's look was as pathetic as Dravid's all test-series long look. 4 times out of 6. Everbody got beaten in that ODI match. Dhoni didn't have to play too much of Mendis. Hold your horses for sometime.
I think the point these guys are trying to make is that for someone who has historically struggled against spinners (and didnt do anything against Mendis in their one and only encounter), an outlandish statement such as this seems perplexing ... what is he trying to achieve? Couldn't he have kept his mouth shut.

Yuvraj needs some luck when facing spinners. He should pray that whenever he comes into bat, either two pacers are in operation or Mendis/Murali have just finished their spells. But since Lanka will most probably play both the Ms, thats highly unlikely to happen. So, given a choice to choose between the devil( Mendis) and the deep-sea(Murali), Yuvraj would rather face the deep-sea. Atleast, he then has some hope of swimming his way out of trouble. Of course, the easiest method for the entire Indian batting line-up to tackle Mendis would be to bribe the hotel chef to mix some diarrhea tablets into the morning cup of coffee that Mendis drinks, but thats plan is very hard to implement :D

:two_thumbs_up:
Am I the only one that thinks the claims of Yuvraj being clueless against spin are grossly exaggerated? I've seen him play very well against Shoaib Malik and Afridi. He's positive in this interview and I don't see anything wrong with that. A lot of the battle against Mendis and Murali is getting on the front foot quickly and using your footwork to get in line with the pitch of the ball and try to negate the spin before it occurs. Yuvraj would be best served to play off the front foot rather than waiting for it and playing late but thankfully his game is aggressive and I do think he'll be ok. Let's wait to see how he does before we crucify him!
Yuvraj slams a quickfire ton. How you like me now?!!! :-D E7262_01.jpg
Guest Hiten.

I agree that OP was ridiculous but this is only a practice match whose opponents are comprised of Bandara and other 2nd string bowler. But UV certainly needs to be recognized as a force of our cricket team esp. in ODI's.

Not quite Mendis and Murali, but poster-boy has done enough to create some flutter in the Lankan camp. :icflove: