Please share the positives that you see in today's India. To me there are a lot of positives and Im listing a few * Democracy : we don't appreciate it as much but when you look at other countries like China, Pak etc only then you realize how important it is * Education: education is still very cheap in India as compared to other countries. It makes me proud when I hear how a child born to a sabzi wala or an auto driver made it to IIT. * Culture : Respect elders , respect women , take care of parents when they are old, etc etc ... All these things are missing from the western world. * Equal opportunity : we are slowly but surely getting there. You will see Yadav ji , Sharma ji , khan saheb working in the same office and it shows that things are not all bad. I will add more later .. of course there is a lot work needed to be done but India has come a long way and Im sure its heading in the right direction. Today lets share the positives Jai Hind :isalute:

1. Our brilliant diversity of culture and art forms 2. We are the ONLY nation where there is no single overall ethnic/cultural majority but is a mozaic of many cultures and ways of life 3. Our history 4. We are one of the few nations/culture zones who's ideas,philosophy and ways of life have impacted humanity far beyond our cultural/ethnic borders through history 5. We are a secular nation officially

new addition : Food. Our cuisine is, hands down the most diverse cuisine on a national level. No other nation fields such a diverse base of culinary delights, where even the most basic staple is prepared radically differently from one another. My only complaint with Indian food is that most indian restuarants serve an 'americanized-north indian' cuisine,that has developed the reputation of being the ultimate decadent cuisine, ie, something that tastes good but is ridiculously unhealthy for you. In this regard, i doff my hats to the southies- while their restaurants are few and far in between, their cuisine offers far more balanced and nutritious food on the restaurant level.

yes CC , msst people think that we eat butter chicken and chicken tikka masala everyday :cantstop:. There arent any decent south Indian restaurants in Melbourne. I miss dosa :((
What gets my goat is that NONE of these desi restaurants- from Canada, US to UK etc. will offer the simple, delicious homestyle Northie food, like Khichdi or panchmel sabzee. As for melbourne not having any decent southie restaurant, are you serious ?? oh man, thats dire- it'd be hard for me to live in a city where i cant eat idli, vada, dosai and sambhar (with tonnes of coconut chutney) atleast two meals a week. Vancouver is great that way - we have a huge indian populace (though most are 2nd/3rd gen khaalisthani punjabis here, there still are dozens of thousands of normal desis) and parts of the metropolis where it looks like you are in middle of india. hell, the other day i was visiting surrey, i took a double-take when i saw a paanwallah plopped around scottsdale. And this guy had the whole shebang- modern tin-cart vending stall, with wall-to-wall cigarettes, some big jars of candy, a big cloth-covered paan container and even the good ol desi style 'smoldering copra rope on the side for lighting your cigs'. Man, i love this place sometimes. :yay:
yes CC ' date=' msst people think that we eat [b']butter chicken and chicken tikka masala everyday :cantstop:. There arent any decent south Indian restaurants in Melbourne. I miss dosa :((
I would do it all my life, if I find a decent one here in the town I live. Alas, what we have here is bland north indian food. Crappy!!

All the points made in the OP does amke all of us proud.But I think the post no.6 too is a valid point...just amazing....mind blowing. Yes all so the fact that I have the same citizenship as the one Sachin Ramesh Tendulkar does!

India is still a pseudo-secular country despite people trying to make it truelly secular otherwise You should always be proud to be part of any true secular country :isalute:

being vanshaj of a civilization where Matrubhoomi was always regarded as precious than even heaven, is reason enough for me to be proud. I am grateful to be born as Indian and will pray the Lord to be re-born again and again in this punya-bhoomi. As Lord Shri Hari Ram says to Laxman, immediately after vistory in Lanka-- "Api Swarnamayi Lanka, Na Mey Lachhiman Rochatey Janani Janmabhoomischa Swargadapi Gariyasi" Translate-- O Laxman! this beautiful golden Lanka which you see is not much dear to me, for mother and mother land are dearer than even heaven. Jai Hind.

Sandy, deliberately misquoting someone's post is as categoric a lie as it gets - not surprised from the hindoovta nutters like yourself. Still waiting for you to swallow your hollow pride on the air force thread,vatz.

Whose quote and what? Fineys post was just quoted with correction as highlighted above. Why your commie orifice feeling pain for showing the light? ohh..btw..nooone here really wants to talk with a Google Chor like you. Go in the thread read the link which proves the point of Commie ouster which has boosted Indo-US tie-- which was the main point and proved. Period.