Rajiv Posted August 20, 2008 Posted August 20, 2008 I changed schools and was a new dude in class 2, still adjusting to the baggy grey shorts and staring at miss fatimas huge hips The year went along smoothly while making few friends and around october, the class was asked to come to the ground and our P.T Teacher Mr. Andrade inspected the heats. I jusr ran for fun and later I realized, they told me to come on Saturday wearing all white and put the blue house strap around my chest I almost forgot about it and told my mother one night before and I need a blue cloth and white shorts. I never had white shorts so she had to borrow it form the neighbor. In comes Saturday, I woke up with sleep in my eyes and a heavy belted white shorts which never belonged to me. My folks had to go somewhere unexpectedly so here goes little rajeev in bermuda style white shorts, a white banyan and a blue miss world style strap The school ground is all sandy and loud while I search for my class, or team or basically someone I know. I managed to find some aunty, who knew me but I had no idea who she was So they call the class 2 100 M race and I was asked to stand in lane 4, with older students chanting blue house and scaring the hell outta me. Anyways, all I knew is I gotta run, the moment the whistle blew, I ran and I ran fast as hell..I crossed the finished line only to find my P.T teacher stopping me and saying "stop man, stop man " I still had no clue whats going on but after 15 mins, I was taken to the podium - right in the middle to receive my GOLD medal I came home alone with the medal on my neck and my mother thought I was lying, I cried and then she believed me I repeated the same feat for next 2 years and both my parents were there to witness it So yeah 3 gold medals
Aditi Posted August 20, 2008 Posted August 20, 2008 4th or 5th Grade - we had our annual elementary school "Olympics" & I came first in the girls' 100 m dash. I also won the gold in girls' long jump haha
Desi Cartman Posted August 20, 2008 Posted August 20, 2008 won couple of gold medals for singing (akele nahi .... in a group)
Rajiv Posted August 20, 2008 Author Posted August 20, 2008 4th or 5th Grade - we had our annual elementary school "Olympics" & I came first in the girls' 100 m dash. I also won the gold in girls' long jump haha I was a big fan of long jump, but the taller fellas had more advantage
Rajiv Posted August 20, 2008 Author Posted August 20, 2008 won couple of gold medals for singing (akele nahi .... in a group) :(( sports sports
Willow_on_fire Posted August 20, 2008 Posted August 20, 2008 Well...I did win my first gold in grade 8, it was a not so common sports event called 'slow cycling race'....I knew it would be really tough to balance with jammed brakes...so I decided to keep moving slowly at a snail's pace...while most would try to just balance at dead stops. it turned out exactly my way...I was ahead of the pack...but half way down the track...all had touched down. I was so happy...the idea got me the gold...:--D
Rajiv Posted August 20, 2008 Author Posted August 20, 2008 Slow cycling, the art of balancing..that was awesome
punjabi_khota Posted August 20, 2008 Posted August 20, 2008 I won in 3 legged race once. And once in colony badi championship. My father was so proud. Hahaha.
Desi Cartman Posted August 20, 2008 Posted August 20, 2008 :(( sports sports kyoun ? why only sports ... :finger:
Willow_on_fire Posted August 20, 2008 Posted August 20, 2008 Slow cycling' date=' the art of balancing..that was awesome[/quote'] yes Rajeev...it was nice...I had so much fun with my bicycle...when I was in college...Grease2 had just hit the theatres ..I mastered the art of wheelie....I could do almost 100mtrs at a stretch.....those were the best days..I made so many friends...everybody around wanted me to pull up wheelies...and I did it at will........much better than the days with my Yamaha RX100 later on.
Willow_on_fire Posted August 20, 2008 Posted August 20, 2008 I won in 3 legged race once. And once in colony badi championship. My father was so proud. Hahaha. :hysterical:...you r cool man!!!!
beetle Posted August 20, 2008 Posted August 20, 2008 Won a bronze in class seven for javelin throw..... There were only three girls participating.:P
Desi Cartman Posted August 20, 2008 Posted August 20, 2008 Won a bronze in class seven for javelin throw..... There were only three girls participating.:P :hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical: In 7th class I was 3rd in the class for a similar reason ,I think everybody else failed one of the subjects :cantstop:
Kartikey Posted August 20, 2008 Posted August 20, 2008 I came second in the Spelling Competition held 5 years ago. I'm really proud of it and thinking about it still brings a proud tear to my eye.:((:((
CSK Fan Posted August 20, 2008 Posted August 20, 2008 I changed schools and was a new dude in class 2, still adjusting to the baggy grey shorts and staring at miss fatimas huge hips The year went along smoothly while making few friends and around october, the class was asked to come to the ground and our P.T Teacher Mr. Andrade inspected the heats. I jusr ran for fun and later I realized, they told me to come on Saturday wearing all white and put the blue house strap around my chest I almost forgot about it and told my mother one night before and I need a blue cloth and white shorts. I never had white shorts so she had to borrow it form the neighbor. In comes Saturday, I woke up with sleep in my eyes and a heavy belted white shorts which never belonged to me. My folks had to go somewhere unexpectedly so here goes little rajeev in bermuda style white shorts, a white banyan and a blue miss world style strap The school ground is all sandy and loud while I search for my class, or team or basically someone I know. I managed to find some aunty, who knew me but I had no idea who she was So they call the class 2 100 M race and I was asked to stand in lane 4, with older students chanting blue house and scaring the hell outta me. Anyways, all I knew is I gotta run, the moment the whistle blew, I ran and I ran fast as hell..I crossed the finished line only to find my P.T teacher stopping me and saying "stop man, stop man " I still had no clue whats going on but after 15 mins, I was taken to the podium - right in the middle to receive my GOLD medal I came home alone with the medal on my neck and my mother thought I was lying, I cried and then she believed me I repeated the same feat for next 2 years and both my parents were there to witness it So yeah 3 gold medals So ur school had houses named after colors too. Whch school were u in?
DomainK Posted August 20, 2008 Posted August 20, 2008 I changed schools and was a new dude in class 2, still adjusting to the baggy grey shorts and staring at miss fatimas huge hips The year went along smoothly while making few friends and around october, the class was asked to come to the ground and our P.T Teacher Mr. Andrade inspected the heats. I jusr ran for fun and later I realized, they told me to come on Saturday wearing all white and put the blue house strap around my chest I almost forgot about it and told my mother one night before and I need a blue cloth and white shorts. I never had white shorts so she had to borrow it form the neighbor. In comes Saturday, I woke up with sleep in my eyes and a heavy belted white shorts which never belonged to me. My folks had to go somewhere unexpectedly so here goes little rajeev in bermuda style white shorts, a white banyan and a blue miss world style strap The school ground is all sandy and loud while I search for my class, or team or basically someone I know. I managed to find some aunty, who knew me but I had no idea who she was So they call the class 2 100 M race and I was asked to stand in lane 4, with older students chanting blue house and scaring the hell outta me. Anyways, all I knew is I gotta run, the moment the whistle blew, I ran and I ran fast as hell..I crossed the finished line only to find my P.T teacher stopping me and saying "stop man, stop man " I still had no clue whats going on but after 15 mins, I was taken to the podium - right in the middle to receive my GOLD medal I came home alone with the medal on my neck and my mother thought I was lying, I cried and then she believed me I repeated the same feat for next 2 years and both my parents were there to witness it So yeah 3 gold medals Wow.....that sounds great. I never won anything for sports. I did come second and third respectively in chess and carrom 9th standard, but they didn't give me anything apart from announcing my name in the annual event. I once got the best actor's award in a school drama. They gave me something for scoring 98.98% in junior KG:D. Never came first in my class again till MBA when I again crossed 98% yet again in the final presentations (but scored poorly in written exams). The idiots didn't give me anything apart from the marksheet and the certificates.:sad_smile:
Mr. Wicket Posted August 20, 2008 Posted August 20, 2008 No gold medals. Used to swim on the school team (100m IM, 50 and 100m butterfly) - we only got blue ribbons for first, red for second and yellow for third. Won a few blues for the butterfly - does that count instead? :D