Ajit Agarkar in ODIs

fineleg

This is not a joke :D, really! usually i dont say good things abt aggy, but... Sharma's response (icf ka sharma) got me to pause and think abt Sir AA...he is innocuous in Tests, but is he really that bad in ODIs??? He's a good first change and more than useful bowler from overs 40-50. Good slower ball, yorkers etc. Why is he TOTALLY out of consideration from ODIs nowadays? Decent fielder also. should he be 'in consideration' if only alongside praveen kumar, RPS...?

in b4 this is moved to joke section :giggle: sir aggy can stick to domestics at best. his look-a-like pujara should subside people's hunger to see sir aggy in action, even if it comes with the bat rather than with the ball....

Are you nuts? Aag was a decent new ball bowler, occasionally first change. In the last third of the innings, ESPECIALLY at happy hitting hour, I would cover my eyes and turn away from the carnage. With one or two notable exceptions, he was one of the most godawful death bowlers I've seen. His style of bowling meant he was good at swinging it with good length balls. When it stopped swinging and it was the 45th over, this basically turned into 'hit me into the fence'. His yorkers were lousy, slower balls were predictable and because of his skiddy action and height, his bouncers lacked any surprise element, usually didn't go above shoulder height and often wound up hit to deep backward square. We have Munaf, Zaheer, Ishant and RP's pretty damn good when he's firing. Forget Aag.

This is not a joke :D, really! usually i dont say good things abt aggy, but... Sharma's response (icf ka sharma) got me to pause and think abt Sir AA...he is innocuous in Tests, but is he really that bad in ODIs??? He's a good first change and more than useful bowler from overs 40-50. Good slower ball, yorkers etc. Why is he TOTALLY out of consideration from ODIs nowadays? Decent fielder also. should he be 'in consideration' if only alongside praveen kumar, RPS...?
Kya bakwas idea hai Finey's gone bonkers!!!!

hmm...no suraj, not bonkers. Maybe I'm losing my memory. I know for sure I used to scold Aggy a lot, but maybe I've forgotten and salil is reminding me. However - the one thing is - I did think he was a good death bowler towards the end before he was dropped. Oh, well, maybe I really did forget. Ok, Aggy can remain in domestics.

However - the one thing is - I did think he was a good death bowler towards the end before he was dropped.
Oh lawrd, save us. I give you... A random selection of Ajit Agarkar's figures and the effects of him bowling at the death, but only from the last year or two of his ODI career. If I detailed it in full, Ravi's site would not be able to hold the full tales of the utter dross unleashed by this man at the end of an ODI innings. Evidence 1: http://content-usa.cricinfo.com/india/engine/match/258476.html In the first 10 overs, Aag took the new ball. 5-0-29-1. Couldn't get worse, could it? It could! Between overs 39 and 46, he bowled three more overs of utter nonsensical crap, full tosses and half volleys and had figures of 3-0-34-0 in the spell. Final figures 8-0-63-1. His last ever ODI (to date), thank god. Evidence 2: http://content-usa.cricinfo.com/statsguru/engine/match/258471.html This masterpiece, a few days before that. Our beloved hero charged in, fire in his eyes and gas in his belly, and produced a lethal opening spell of 6-1-29-0 (by the 15th over), completely wasting the new ball and being quite ineffective in terms of taking wickets. But it got MUCH worse. Haaaaaaaag returned for the 41st over, produced 4 overs of utter crap and conceded 36 runs. 10-1-65-0, bravo Sir Aggy. Evidence 3: http://stats.cricinfo.com/statsguru/engine/match/249212.html Oh, this was PAINFUL. Zaheer began the game with a DOUBLE WICKET MAIDEN. SAF 0/2 in 1 over. Our beloved purveyor of shyte produced two half decent overs, then conceded four boundaries to hand away the momentum in his third. His opening burst was mediocre, his next middle burst was forgettable, his end spell was complete utter rubbish. Sir Aggy went from 6-0-42-1 (an impressive feat considering the score was 91/6 - yes, ninety one runs for SIX WICKETS with a run rate of less than 4, and almost half the runs had come from Aag at 7 runs an over!), conceded another 29 runs in 3 overs at the end and produced final figures of 9-0-71-1. Please, fineleg, look through this game carefully. Find a tape of the South African innings. The bowling spells you sometimes crib about will look like Hadlee at the Gabba or McGrath at Lord's after seeing the utter nonsense Aggy dished up to first bail South Africa out of a tight spot, allowing them free runs and momentum and then a burst of boundaries at the end. Evidence 4: http://content-usa.cricinfo.com/statsguru/engine/match/275789.html SCOTLAND. FRIGGING SCOTLAND. I REPEAT: SCOTLAND!!!! 7-0-29-1 in his first spell. 2-0-25-1 in his second. This was AGAINST THE LOWER ORDER OF A SCOTLAND ODI SIDE. Enough said. I rest my case, Agarkar should be banned from bowling at the death of an ODI (and a lot of this also makes a case as to why Agarkar should be prevented from bowling at other stages of an ODI too), and I still wonder if fineleg is completely nuts for suggesting that Aag could bowl at the death.

This is a typical Ajit Agarkar over; Good ball beat the outside edge........Single.......Two.....Good ball rapped on the pads, loud shout for lbw, not given.....Four.....Wide... Single.. Final analysis: Overs bowled; 1 Runs conceeded; 8 Wickets; 0 Am sorry, there is absolutely no place for such a guy. During the times when our fast bowling stocks were so pathetic that were forced to include guys like Thiru Kumaran, Abey Kuruvilla, Debashish Mohanty etc, Agarkar looked like a Godsend to Indian cricket. But now, with guys like Zak, Ishant, Munaf, RPS, Irfan, Sreesanth and Praveen Kumar, Ajit Agarkar should be nowwhere near ANY international Indian team.

he should be in the squad atleast, if he is fit he can be used in rotation when ishant sharma is rested aggy has a good length, the line is not consistent his pace is reasonable good i am sure venkatesh prasad can work him out

To what end...is he a long term prospect? Not in my reckoning. Better off getting a young guy in and giving him a go rather than wheeling out sir aggy again...unless it's for batting of course...I still remember his record string of ducks with some pleasure.

I dont like to ever rule anyone out from selection because every player can improve ... If Agarkar does consistently well in domestic cricket then he should be in line for a recall.

darn i need to double check what i post....lol i only said aggy isnt totally crap coz he has like 300+ ODI wickets. but even i agree he shouldnt be anywhere near our team right now...lolz

This is a typical Ajit Agarkar over; Good ball beat the outside edge........Single.......Two.....Good ball rapped on the pads, loud shout for lbw, not given.....Four.....Wide... Single.. Final analysis: Overs bowled; 1 Runs conceeded; 8 Wickets; 0 Am sorry, there is absolutely no place for such a guy.
well summed up Sri :two_thumbs_up:

Thanks Salil and Sriram for the answers. As I said, maybe I just forget how awful he was. I'll agree with what you say. Hmm...maybe I'm just feeling a bit sorry for him, he has played so many years for India. Anyway - if he is unfit, he is unfit.