Ram Posted December 2, 2008 Posted December 2, 2008 These are two news pieces appeared in today's edition of 'The Hindu' and deals exclusively about the background and details of the captured terrorist. Its by security Correspondent Praveen Swami, without doubt, one of India's BEST ever investigative journalists, especially on Pakistan related issues. The second piece is really worth reading, as it gives comprehensive information about the captured terrorist... Things like who are his family members, their age, what do they do, where they live, what did the terrorist do in his early age. Honestly, after seeing some sections of the Pak media make claims about Mungeri Lal and Rinku Singh, this is so refreshing to read. ----------------------------------------- Mumbai massacre story unfolds in terrorist’s interrogation Praveen Swami Prize catch: Mohammad Ajmal Amir Iman, the only terrorist arrested in Mumbai, is undergoing treatment at an undisclosed location in the city. This handout photo has been released by the police. MUMBAI: For the past week, newspaper readers across the world gazed at photographs of the dark young man who, sack slung over his shoulder, was caught on closed-circuit camera minutes before he opened fire at commuters at a busy Mumbai railway station. Based on interviews with key officers involved in the investigation and on the interrogation records of the terrorist, The Hindu has been able to assemble key parts of the story behind the face. Mohammad Ajmal Amir Iman (wrongly identified earlier as Kamaal and Kasav) began his journey to Mumbai on September 15, 2008. He was part of a group of ten men who had spent months training in marine combat and navigation skills in Pakistan-administered Kashmir and Punjab. Lashkar military commander Zaki-ur-Rahman Lakhvi, Iman has told investigators, showed them detailed maps of south Mumbai, and films of the targets they had been tasked to hit. Iman and his partner ‘Abu Umar’ — whose name, he learned, was in fact Mohammad Ismail — were tasked with attacking the Chhatrapati Shivaji Terminus. Iman and the other terrorists were set to leave for Mumbai on September 27. For reasons he claims to be unaware of, they were ordered to hold back. Late on November 22, Lakhvi finally gave the team a heads-up. At 4:15 a.m. on November 23, Iman and Ismail rowed out to sea along with four other groups: men Iman knew as Abu Akasha and Abu Umar; ‘Bada’ [big] Abdul Rehman and Abu Ali; ‘Chhota’ [small] Abdul Rehman and Afadullah; Shoaib and Umar. Each man was equipped with a Kalashnikov rifle and 200 rounds of ammunition and grenades. The group also had at least one state-of-the art Garmin global positioning system set, and several mobile phones fitted with SIM cards, which have now been determined to have been purchased in Kolkata and New Delhi. Three men had larger bags, packed with five timer-controlled Improvised Explosive Devices. Near Indian coastal waters, the men hijacked a fishing boat. On reaching Mumbai, they rowed the last few nautical miles to Budhwar Park in an inflatable dinghy. From Budhwar Park, they travelled on to their targets by hailing taxis. Iman and Ismail reached CST as planned, and opened fire on the assembled commuters. While Ismail was killed when policemen at the site returned fire, braving grenades thrown at them, Iman was injured and is now in the Mumbai hospital. Mumbai police officials were able to defuse two of the IEDs planted at the Taj Mahal hotel and a third at the Oberoi hotel, even as fighting broke out. This police action saved dozens of lives. However, two bombs went off in taxis used by the group, possibly after being abandoned in the vehicles. Iman has told interrogators that right through the fighting, the Lashkar headquarters remained in touch with the group, calling their phones through a voice-over-internet service. In all likelihood, Indian investigators were able to intercept these calls, which would then form part of a compelling body of evidence to corroborate Iman’s account. In addition, Mumbai police sources said, investigators have succeeded in reconstructing the group’s journey through the Garmin GPS set that has been seized. http://www.hindu.com/2008/12/02/stories/2008120257410100.htm ------------------- A journey into the Lashkar Praveen Swami Iman’s story shows it preys on the most vulnerable poor MUMBAI: It is improbable that Mohammad Ajmal Amir Iman’s family has seen the photograph that has made his face known across the world. Hours before he began firing at commuters waiting at Mumbai’s Chhatrapati Shivaji Terminus (CST) last week, Iman, one of ten Lashkar-e-Taiba terrorists, was caught on closed-circuit camera. After he and his partner, Mohammad Ismail, had killed 55 commuters at CST and three senior police officers, including Maharashtra Anti-Terrorism Chief Hemant Karkare, Iman was injured and captured — and the story he has since been telling Mumbai police investigators casts new light on how the feared terror group preys on the most vulnerable in Pakistani society to further its agenda of hate. The man in the photo was born on July 13, 1987 at Faridkot village in Dipalpur tehsil of Okara district in Pakistan’s Punjab province. His family belongs to the underprivileged Qasai caste. His father, Mohammad Amir Iman, runs a dahi-puri snack cart. His mother, Noori Tai, is a homemaker. Iman is the third of the family’s five children. His 25-year-old brother, Afzal, lives near the Yadgar Minar in Lahore. His sister, Rukaiyya Husain, 22, is married locally. Iman’s younger siblings, 14-year-old Suraiyya and 11-year-old Munir, live at home. Iman’s desperately poor family could not afford to keep their second son, an indifferent student, at the Government Primary School in Faridkot past the fourth grade. He was pulled out of school in 2000, at the age of 13, and went to live with his older brother in Lahore. Afzal, who lives in a tenement near the Yadgar Minar in Lahore, eked out a living on a labourer’s wages, and could barely afford to look after his brother. For the next several years, Iman shuttled between the homes of his brother and parents. Adrift After a row with his parents in 2005, Iman left home, determined never to return. No longer welcome in Afzal’s home, he stayed at the shrine of the saint Syed Ali Hajveri until he could pick up some work. He began working as a labourer and by 2007 his work brought in Rs. 200 a day. Iman, however, found the work degrading. He soon began spending time with small-time criminals in Lahore. Along with a friend, a one-time Attock resident named Muzaffar Lal Khan, Iman decided to launch a new career in armed robbery. On Bakr Eid day in 2007, Iman has told the Mumbai Police, the two men made their way to the Raja bazaar in Rawalpindi, hoping to purchase weapons. In the market, they saw activists for the Jamaat-ud-Dawa — the parent political organisation of the Lashkar-e-Taiba — handing out pamphlets and posters about the organisation and its activities. After a discussion lasting a few minutes, Iman claims, both men decided to join — not because of their Islamist convictions but in the hope that the jihad training they would receive would further their future life in crime. A life in Lashkar But at the Lashkar’s base camp, Markaz Taiba, Iman’s world view began to change. Films on India’s purported atrocities in Kashmir, and fiery lectures by preachers, including Lashkar chief Hafiz Mohammad Saeed, led him to believe that the Lashkar’s cause — the greater glory of Islam, as the organisation presented it — was worth giving his life to. It is possible, an official involved in the interrogation suggested, that the atmosphere of the camp gave him the sense of family he had lacked for much of his life. When he returned home for a two-month break after his indoctrination at the Lashkar base camp, he found a respectability within his community and family that had eluded him most of his life. Where Iman had earlier been seen as a burden, he was now self-sufficient — and bore the halo of religious piety. Later that year, Iman was chosen for the Lashkar’s basic combat course, the Daura Aam. He performed well and was among a small group of 32 men selected to undergo advanced training at a camp near Manshera, a course the organisation calls the Daura Khaas. Finally, he was among an even smaller group selected for specialised marine commando and navigation training given to the fidayeen unit selected to target Mumbai. According to Iman, Lashkar military commander Zaki-ur-Rahman Lakhvi promised that his family would be rewarded with Rs. 1.5 lakh for his sacrifice. http://www.hindu.com/2008/12/02/stories/2008120259961000.htm
Lurker Posted December 2, 2008 Posted December 2, 2008 The man in the photo was born on July 13, 1987 at Faridkot village in Dipalpur tehsil of Okara district in Pakistan’s Punjab province. His family belongs to the underprivileged Qasai caste. His father, Mohammad Amir Iman, runs a dahi-puri snack cart. His mother, Noori Tai, is a homemaker. Iman is the third of the family’s five children. His 25-year-old brother, Afzal, lives near the Yadgar Minar in Lahore. His sister, Rukaiyya Husain, 22, is married locally. Iman’s younger siblings, 14-year-old Suraiyya and 11-year-old Munir, live at home. If this is indeed true, and Hindu is one of the more credible newsmedia from India, I would say it should be very easy to prove the Pakistani angle. I mean if you find any of his siblings/parents a quick DNA test should prove that this chap is indeed a Pakistani and all the other pieces would start falling into place.
Guest dada_rocks Posted December 2, 2008 Posted December 2, 2008 If this is indeed true' date=' and Hindu is one of the more credible newsmedia from India, I would say it should be very easy to prove the Pakistani angle. I mean if you find any of his siblings/parents a quick DNA test should prove that this chap is indeed a Pakistani and all the other pieces would start falling into place.[/quote'] Jusice Chaudhary former chief justice of Pakistan lost his job when he tried to poke into gazillion cases of missing people witout a trace.....ISI is all powerul there by now they must have removed the trail of anything related to that captured boy.....
Lurker Posted December 2, 2008 Posted December 2, 2008 Jusice Chaudhary former chief justice of Pakistan lost his job when he tried to poke into gazillion cases of missing people witout a trace.....ISI is all powerul there by now they must have removed the trail of anything related to that captured boy..... True that. However Justice Choudhary's cases were Pakistans internal affair so pretty much rest of the world gave two hoots about it. This time foreign countries are involved, including the benefactors of Pakistan state and so I definitely see better chances. Although I must also say that something here worries me quite a bit. By all accounts, including this one, the apprehended terrorist belongs to a poor family who did bits and pieces as small time crime before he landed with LeT. Fair enough. But how does that explain the initial "intelligence leaks" that the chap is fluent in English? By default most educated Pakistanis have horrible English,just look at their cricketers, how in the world does a criminal-labourer-terrorist-school dropout get fluent in English? :nervous:
zubinpepsi Posted December 2, 2008 Posted December 2, 2008 True that. However Justice Choudhary's cases were Pakistans internal affair so pretty much rest of the world gave two hoots about it. This time foreign countries are involved, including the benefactors of Pakistan state and so I definitely see better chances. Although I must also say that something here worries me quite a bit. By all accounts, including this one, the apprehended terrorist belongs to a poor family who did bits and pieces as small time crime before he landed with LeT. Fair enough. But how does that explain the initial "intelligence leaks" that the chap is fluent in English? By default most educated Pakistanis have horrible English,just look at their cricketers, how in the world does a criminal-labourer-terrorist-school dropout get fluent in English? :nervous: i heard he was talking in some hindi or punjabi or something.. where did u read abt him speaking english?? was he speakin in english?? and already pukepashioners r saying theres no faridkot in porkistan and this faridkot is infact in india.. :|
Lurker Posted December 2, 2008 Posted December 2, 2008 i heard he was talking in some hindi or punjabi or something.. where did u read abt him speaking english?? was he speakin in english?? Yeh lo. Saara Ramayan khatam aur Pepsi bhaiya poochte hain ke Sita kiski joru. His name is Azam Amir Kasav, he is 21 years old, speaks fluent English, hails from tehsil Gipalpura in Faridkot in Pakistan, and is the only terrorist from this audacious operation to have been captured alive http://www.indiancricketfans.com/showpost.php?p=529988&postcount=1 and already pukepashioners r saying theres no faridkot in porkistan and this faridkot is infact in india.. :| Yeah that website reminds me of the blind men and the elephant story. Jisko dekho he has his own version of what happened.
Guest dada_rocks Posted December 2, 2008 Posted December 2, 2008 True that. However Justice Choudhary's cases were Pakistans internal affair so pretty much rest of the world gave two hoots about it. This time foreign countries are involved, including the benefactors of Pakistan state and so I definitely see better chances. Although I must also say that something here worries me quite a bit. By all accounts, including this one, the apprehended terrorist belongs to a poor family who did bits and pieces as small time crime before he landed with LeT. Fair enough. But how does that explain the initial "intelligence leaks" that the chap is fluent in English? By default most educated Pakistanis have horrible English,just look at their cricketers, how in the world does a criminal-labourer-terrorist-school dropout get fluent in English? :nervous: They already would have done the dirty work before international players come into action...These things do not matetr time and again we have given them proff od Dawood's abode in karachi what happened nothing. Had Dawood wronged USA by now he wud have been Gunatanamo Bay. Few of these clowns who got killed were British pakistanis and they must be talking aboout those samples. In was listening to CBC radio yesterday one Canadian survivor of that ordeal who was in Taj hotel was saying there were more than 40-50 terrorists. Because they were chasing hotel inmates from every corridor more or less on all floor. I too am inclined to buy that can't belive just two chumps could hold NSG at bay for three days. Are we hiding something here for political compulsion. You know the kind where just ten sneaked in looks better than 40-50.
Lurker Posted December 2, 2008 Posted December 2, 2008 In was listening to CBC radio yesterday one Canadian survivor of that ordeal who was in Taj hotel was saying there were more than 40-50 terrorists. Because they were chasing hotel inmates from every corridor more or less on all floor. I too am inclined to buy that can't belive just two chumps could hold NSG at bay for three days. Are we hiding something here for political compulsion. You know the kind where just ten sneaked in looks better than 40-50. Kinda doubt that. If the team included 40-50 people they wouldnt have split into groups of 2-4. The group that hit CST was made of 2 people, atleast from what we know, and it just doesnt make sense that you have group of 2 when you have smuggled in 20 times people that number.
zubinpepsi Posted December 2, 2008 Posted December 2, 2008 Yeh lo. Saara Ramayan khatam aur Pepsi bhaiya poochte hain ke Sita kiski joru. :hysterical::hysterical: sorry lurks.. i missed that thread.. but still i dont know how far thts true tht hes fluent in english.. see they even got the names wrong in tht article..
Guest dada_rocks Posted December 2, 2008 Posted December 2, 2008 Who knows as the intial report said and even the chump who had been caught said 20 more are at large and they mgiht do somethign again.. but that person on radio was talking about TAJ.. See they just landed near TAJ and I guess there main target was TAj so it seems resoanable that bulk of them might have entered TAJ. Don't you think two chumps keeping NSG commandos at bay for three days and killign each and every of the hostage sounds like far-fetched. If they were just two and still cud manage to killall hostage keeping NSG in check for three days then we have got joke in name of NSG commandos.. No disrecpet meant to people who lost their lives.. Why would they wait particularly when there was no clear demand which you usually assscoaite wiht this wait and watch hostage situation
zubinpepsi Posted December 2, 2008 Posted December 2, 2008 ^^ oon other hand , if there were really 40 terrorists, then how cud we have saved those hostages.. dont u think, those 40 wud have finished everyone..? remem they dont have any conditions.. they jus went there to kill people n panic the world..
Lurker Posted December 2, 2008 Posted December 2, 2008 Don't you think two chumps keeping NSG commandos at bay for three days and killign each and every of the hostage sounds like far-fetched. If they were just two and still cud manage to killall hostage keeping NSG in check for three days then we have got joke in name of NSG commandos.. No disrecpet meant to people who lost their lives.. Not exactly 3 days. I mean the entire operation lasted 60 hours and NSG showed up after about 20-24 hours had passed. Then it prioritize its work. Cleaned up Nariman and Oberoi Trident and finally went in Taj guns blazing. yes the terrorists had done their homework and loaded themselves with weapons, ammunitions and hostage and thats what it took it longer than expected. If you want to check the effectiveness of NSG check how they cleaned up Nariman House in a matter of hours. Even though there were 5 or so terrorists it was cleaned up in quick time(matter of hours). Thanks to smaller area and less number of hostages. I am not ruling out the theory that there could be more but trying to use the evidence that we have as of now and it does appear 10 would do what eventually unravelled.
Guest dada_rocks Posted December 2, 2008 Posted December 2, 2008 ^^ oon other hand , if there were really 40 terrorists, then how cud we have saved those hostages.. dont u think, those 40 wud have finished everyone..? remem they dont have any conditions.. they jus went there to kill people n panic the world.. I thougth everyone got finished beyond those who managed to sneak out in first few hours. Certainly since that wait and watch episode ensued we don't have any survivors ..All 100+ or whatever the number was got killed... See if you give even two guys with automatic weapons three days they can manage to kill thousand so it doesn't prove much.. but I do find this wait and watch episode for three days intriguing in face of just two chumps , hence I am inclined to buy that there were more than our official line..
milkman Posted December 2, 2008 Posted December 2, 2008 Tum loge kaisa bate karela hai re? I am not buying the low number of terrorists in Taj story either. Dal mein kuch kala hai yaar. Btw there are more terrorists on the loose in Bombay. Maybe they have escaped out of Bombay to other parts of India or flown out of India. I won't be surprised if some left Taj as fake victims. The handling of the situation outside was hardly inspiring.
Guest dada_rocks Posted December 2, 2008 Posted December 2, 2008 Mumbai police chief came with revelation today that all those credit cards found on terrorists were snatched from hotel guests...... So it's more than likely that few terrrosits sneaked out using those identity.. if you can snatch credit card you can snatch other documents too.. Moreover why aren;t we buying the captured terrorsits words when he says 20 odd are still at large.. I don't see any reaosn other than that it makes our police our system look worse ..We are taking his other revelations on face value then why are we coy on this one..
zubinpepsi Posted December 2, 2008 Posted December 2, 2008 welll wat abt the traitors in Taj?? why this angle was never investigated? how did the terrorists got the layouts of Taj? how did they know everything and familiar about the inner details of taj? has someone frm Taj gave away the vital info or helped the terrorists?
milkman Posted December 2, 2008 Posted December 2, 2008 Wasn't their some early reports of burka clad man/woman helping the terrorists in one of the street attacks? What ever happened of that? Basically burka is perfect outifit to hide an Ak47. Frankly I am surprised these attacks don't happen on a monthly basis considering our lack of.....
Gambit Posted December 2, 2008 Posted December 2, 2008 i heard he was talking in some hindi or punjabi or something.. where did u read abt him speaking english?? was he speakin in english?? and already pukepashioners r saying theres no faridkot in porkistan and this faridkot is infact in india.. :| What's this then - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Faridkot,_Pakistan and http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2008/dec/02/mumbai-gunman-faridkot
Guest dada_rocks Posted December 2, 2008 Posted December 2, 2008 welll wat abt the traitors in Taj?? why this angle was never investigated? how did the terrorists got the layouts of Taj? how did they know everything and familiar about the inner details of taj? has someone frm Taj gave away the vital info or helped the terrorists? Couple of theses mofos had checked in few days back and they did all the ground work..