King Tendulkar Posted December 8, 2008 Posted December 8, 2008 We all dislike congress , dont we ? How many people on this forum have lived in UP ? How many people saw Mayawati campaign in her early career ? And yes my hatred for Maywati is more than what it is for congress. Whats wrong with it ? Agree
Cricketics Posted December 8, 2008 Posted December 8, 2008 I m sick of Sheela dixit as minister of my state. i don't know how she endz up winning so easily. bhaiya change chahiyeh obama style
Guest dada_rocks Posted December 8, 2008 Posted December 8, 2008 I m sick of Sheela dixit as minister of my state. i don't know how she endz up winning so easily. bhaiya change chahiyeh obama style her image was good in fact all the four CMs Rama Singh Shivraj singh Chauhan Vasundera Raje and Shila Dixit had this one thing in common viz a viz their personal standing. As unhappy as I am over BJP's loss I am kind of happy that for the first time congress has left the useless muscat of nehru progeny aside and fought election on basis of their local leader's image.. I find this traditon of congress where they paint picture of sonia mata rahull baba and their dog sickening.. I wud have bene fine had they accepted the responsibility of defeat and said yes our face stinks but no first family of congres can;t be faulted for loss they only get laurels when they win.. for instance rahul baab has sucked campaign after campaing in last couple of years or so everytime whole congressi machinery comes forward to defend how the orator rahul baba has brought postive change.. Particularly UP was his campaign and yet congress polled fewer vote share than it did in previous election. Congress was already in dumps there to outperform that dump was clear thumbs down to rahul baba yet congress machinery somehow were peddling rahul baba actually made a positive difference and media were lapping that to upto some extent.. Give me some real leader who rises from amongst people and even people like me might support congress. For instance narsinha Rao a legend of politician but gets humiliated by congressi just because he was nto from nehru family. Same jokers will fall on feet of even rahul baba's dog. Fact is rahul baba and sonia mata will have their deposit in danger if they go beyond Amethi and Raebareli in UP. Vasundhara Raje needs to do the soul searching: You do not have 60 rebel and aslo show middle finger to RSS and yet win an election . Not everybody is Narendra Bhai Modi.Get real lady classic case of squandering positive personal image of CM we have here Delhi: This was the setbakc in real sense for BJP. How one goes from sweeping a municipality election six months back to losing so resoundingly is beyond me. Time to stop bickering mr harshvardhan Vijay Goyal and Malhotra ji.. Whoever's idea was to project V K Malhotra as CM.> Don't they do vetting with psychological impact of a candidate persona in mind. As one scibe rightly mentioend V K malhotra looks like he has perennial constipation and smile seems to be arcane concept to him. these things matter. I have no doubt had they projected Arun jaitley or even Vijaya Goel it was BJP's election to lose and they did a royal screw-up. Mizoram: I guess BJP was never in the race there MP: I knew Shivraj Singh Chauhan will win but didn't know it will be this resounding.. Job well done Chhatisgarh: Despite uncontrolled naxalism Raman Singh carried this state solely on his own image which is squeaky clean. So rejoice guys with one exceptions all the leaders who have positive image in public's mind have won, sans deigning deity of indian politics....
suraj Posted December 8, 2008 Posted December 8, 2008 DR, Unfortunately Gandhi mania is strong as ever in Congress: Three cheers for Rahul Gandhi’ Monday, 08 December , 2008, 17:05 IANS New Delhi: As the Congress Monday surprised analysts and emerged victorious in three out of five states, senior party leaders hailed Nehru-Gandhi scion Rahul Gandhi for rejuvenating the organisation and swinging young voters in its favour. "Wherever Rahul Gandhi campaigned, he attracted the young generation. He has an appeal among the youth of this country," Congress spokesman Shakeel Ahmad said. Sheila Dikshit thanks people for Congress victory "Within the party, he supports the upcoming young leaders. In these elections his campaign, along with other factors like local issues or individual candidates, has certainly benefited the Congress," he added. The party scored a valuable goal ahead of the general elections early next year by retaining power in Delhi and wresting it in Mizoram and Rajasthan -- though it could not make much of a headway in the Bharatiya Janata Party-ruled Madhya Pradesh and gave a close fight to the BJP in Chhattisgarh. Congress Spokesperson Jayanti Natarajan echoed the sentiments and said: "He definitely has an impact. He brings a new message. He connects to the young generation." Delhi outcome surprising: Rajnath Campaigning in places ranging from trouble-torn Udhampur in Jammu and Kashmir to Maoist-affected Bastar in Chhattisgarh, spending a night in Rajasthan villages and exhorting people in a migrant-dominated trans-Yamuna locality in Delhi to vote for development, the young Congress general secretary and Amethi MP had toiled hard for his party. In October, Gandhi, 38, spent a night with a tribal Sahariya family in Amroli village of Baran district in Rajasthan. Showing empathy with villagers he lifted soil and gave a helping hand to labourers digging a pond as part of the National Rural Employment Guarantee Scheme, a flagship initiative of the Manmohan Singh government. "India lives in its villages," Gandhi had said during his stay there. Veteran party leader Digvijay Singh went a step further and said Gandhi, son of Congress president Sonia Gandhi, had matured as leader and the party was reaping its benefits. KBM: Sify-Star News Elections Special "He is slowly coming to grips. He is certainly making an impact," said Singh, a former chief minister of Madhya Pradesh. Throughout his campaign across the states, Gandhi - who has done his M.Phil in developmental economics from Cambridge University - appealed to citizens to vote in the name of development and vision. Addressing a public meeting in east Delhi's Seemapuri area, Gandhi had said: "The BJP's campaign does not reflect any vision for Delhi or the country's development." Congress leader Manish Tiwari said: "He has worked really hard for the party. This certainly has benefited the party. It shows in the outcome of the election results." http://publication.samachar.com/topstorytopmast.php?sify_url=http://sify.com/news/election/kbm_fullstory.php?id=14814048
MundaPakistani Posted December 8, 2008 Posted December 8, 2008 Whats the best way to follow it online?(other than ICF)
The Outsider Posted December 8, 2008 Posted December 8, 2008 Whats the best way to follow it online?(other than ICF) www.ndtv.com - they also have live video streaming.
Guest dada_rocks Posted December 8, 2008 Posted December 8, 2008 I don;t buy that the usual bhants will agree on rahul worship but it was Shiela Dixit's victory congress agress BJp agrees of course they will throw some gandhi eulogy in the mix always.. DR, Unfortunately Gandhi mania is strong as ever in Congress: Three cheers for Rahul Gandhi’ Monday, 08 December , 2008, 17:05 IANS New Delhi: As the Congress Monday surprised analysts and emerged victorious in three out of five states, senior party leaders hailed Nehru-Gandhi scion Rahul Gandhi for rejuvenating the organisation and swinging young voters in its favour. "Wherever Rahul Gandhi campaigned, he attracted the young generation. He has an appeal among the youth of this country," Congress spokesman Shakeel Ahmad said. Sheila Dikshit thanks people for Congress victory "Within the party, he supports the upcoming young leaders. In these elections his campaign, along with other factors like local issues or individual candidates, has certainly benefited the Congress," he added. The party scored a valuable goal ahead of the general elections early next year by retaining power in Delhi and wresting it in Mizoram and Rajasthan -- though it could not make much of a headway in the Bharatiya Janata Party-ruled Madhya Pradesh and gave a close fight to the BJP in Chhattisgarh. Congress Spokesperson Jayanti Natarajan echoed the sentiments and said: "He definitely has an impact. He brings a new message. He connects to the young generation." Delhi outcome surprising: Rajnath Campaigning in places ranging from trouble-torn Udhampur in Jammu and Kashmir to Maoist-affected Bastar in Chhattisgarh, spending a night in Rajasthan villages and exhorting people in a migrant-dominated trans-Yamuna locality in Delhi to vote for development, the young Congress general secretary and Amethi MP had toiled hard for his party. In October, Gandhi, 38, spent a night with a tribal Sahariya family in Amroli village of Baran district in Rajasthan. Showing empathy with villagers he lifted soil and gave a helping hand to labourers digging a pond as part of the National Rural Employment Guarantee Scheme, a flagship initiative of the Manmohan Singh government. "India lives in its villages," Gandhi had said during his stay there. Veteran party leader Digvijay Singh went a step further and said Gandhi, son of Congress president Sonia Gandhi, had matured as leader and the party was reaping its benefits. KBM: Sify-Star News Elections Special "He is slowly coming to grips. He is certainly making an impact," said Singh, a former chief minister of Madhya Pradesh. Throughout his campaign across the states, Gandhi - who has done his M.Phil in developmental economics from Cambridge University - appealed to citizens to vote in the name of development and vision. Addressing a public meeting in east Delhi's Seemapuri area, Gandhi had said: "The BJP's campaign does not reflect any vision for Delhi or the country's development." Congress leader Manish Tiwari said: "He has worked really hard for the party. This certainly has benefited the party. It shows in the outcome of the election results." http://publication.samachar.com/topstorytopmast.php?sify_url=http://sify.com/news/election/kbm_fullstory.php?id=14814048
MundaPakistani Posted December 8, 2008 Posted December 8, 2008 www.ndtv.com - they also have live video streaming. Dhanyavaad
Desi Cartman Posted December 8, 2008 Author Posted December 8, 2008 I m sick of Sheela dixit as minister of my state. i don't know how she endz up winning so easily. bhaiya change chahiyeh obama style Delhi just like Rest of India has some hardcore congressi .. I know few of them myself but IMO she won this election only because of Metro and flyoves. I guess people want to give her a chance to finish the projects that she has started & people are really pleased with what she has done with Metros and Flyover
talksport Posted December 8, 2008 Posted December 8, 2008 NDTV is celebrating and they had big bonuses I guess
Desi Cartman Posted December 9, 2008 Author Posted December 9, 2008 Picture on the front page of TOI ..
Desi Cartman Posted December 9, 2008 Author Posted December 9, 2008 CANDID MALHOTRA Development plank worked for Cong: VK New Delhi: The last couple of months have been tough for V K Malhotra, BJP’s chief ministerial candidate. And after the party’s drubbing, it’s not going to get any easier for the veteran leader, who candidly admitted that he’d never expected such a “shock”. Malhotra spoke to Times City about why the BJP had lost, as well as what the future holds for the party leaders in the coming few days. You had talked about winning 35 seats. What happened? The feedback that we had received certainly seemed to point towards a BJP wave. There was a strong anti-incumbency factor which we had hoped to capitalize on. But today’s results obviously proved all such speculation wrong. I personally feel that it was Congress’ development plank that worked for them. They had done a lot on the Master Plan, bringing about numerous amendments, which people voted for. They had also worked on getting colonies regularized, which again helped them. Do you think one of the reasons was also the selection of candidates? The selection of candidates was done only after consensus had been reached. So one cannot blame the failure on that. The final list was prepared after due consultations with party leaders as well as the Parliamentary committee. But your ground-level workers were extremely unhappy with the list. There has even been talk that workers didn’t campaign properly because of that. Yes, we’ve received several reports of workers who worked against the party in some seats. Though we had been assured that workers were campaigning for the party, the results show that was not the case. It’s a matter that we will look into. But that’s not the only issue that worked against us. I think Delhi voted for the development that has happened. A certain section also voted for the economi reforms that the Centre has brought about as well as the NPT agreement. What happens now? There have been demands for resignation of the state leadership because of the debacle. Will that happen? That’s a decision that the party’s Parliamentary committee will take. We will obviously be taking stock of the situation, and try and identify the areas where we went wrong. What about your MP seat? Are you going to retain that or opt for the MLA seat? That decision too will be taken by the party leadership. I will go by whatever the party decides