flamy Posted December 28, 2008 Posted December 28, 2008 PLease don't answer any questions from Cricketics. He himself has not replied to this thread: http://www.indiancricketfans.com/showthread.php?t=114352 Shame on you cricketics..epic fail! http://www.indiancricketfans.com/showthread.php?t=135701 now your post = epic fail :haha: :haha::haha: Mashallah what Pwnage!
Holysmoke Posted December 30, 2008 Posted December 30, 2008 - Do you get annoyed when people call you "too fat" or something similar??? - name few of your favorite cricketers apart from Tendulkar - Thing you like about United states and hate about INdia - Thing you like about India and hate about U.S - Your Favorite Cricket Match in which Indian didn't play - If you get a chance to meet an ICFer, whom would u pick 1 Depends on who says it, and whats his rationale/reason/context for saying it. 2. Ambrose, Warne, Bond, Ganguly, Dravid, Sehwag, Gambhir, Yuvraj, Zak, Ishant, Surya, Sangakarra, Chanders. 3. Like about US & hate about India- people are disciplined, care for each other. Everyone doesnt have the "I will be left out" mentality. People are ready to wait in a que, be it to board a bus, or to take a left turn. People think about the other person... 4. Aus v Sa, 434/438 game. To actually think SA chased down 434.. wow 5. hard to choose, I'd pick any of Lurker, Dhondy, Online, Rajeev, Milkman, Blue_brigade, Sriram.
Holysmoke Posted December 30, 2008 Posted December 30, 2008 i heard you were doing bachelors in computer engineering - so - whats next? masters or job at google/micrsoft/apple/other ? or family dhokla business?? :o - your favorite programming assignment or project? - your favorite programming language? c/java/perl/python/other Yep, I'm now a BE in Comp Engg next => job at google/micrsoft/apple/other fav "programming" assignment/project -> Made my own OS, like my own distro of linux, coded it in C.. had dynamic memory allocation, ext2 filesystem, task switching, multiple terminals, scheduling, etc. fav language = C "C is like Don Vito Corleone. The baap of them all." - holysmoke :--D
Holysmoke Posted December 30, 2008 Posted December 30, 2008 1. Do you study only at exam time, or every day? 2. You once said Tendulkar was the greatest inspiration in your life. Please explain how, a sportsman can inspire you- an aspiring technocrat to dizzy heights, more so than the Nobel Prize winners at your institute? 3. If you had a chance to bivouac into finance at a greater pay than if you continued as a computer engineer, would you take it? 4. Why, in your opinion, do so many engineering grads take up alternative streams? 5. What is the one quality you admire most in others? 1. Every day. Study for exams at exam time, but there is a lot more to do in a class than just exams. Projects, homeworks, quizzes, labs, reports. etc. I try to keep up to date with material taught, so learning for an exam is less burden. 2. Because I can relate to Tendulkar. I cannot remember life without looking forward to a SRT century. I was born in '86, and since as far as I can remember, SRT has been playing for India. Thats what I mean when I say that a part of me will die when SRT retires. For all my life, that man has been proving me inspiration, ALL MY LIFE. I had no idea who the Nobel laureates at my institution were before I came here. Even now I cannot relate to them. I do not know their story as well. When I'm down and out, I dont think of them. I have seen Sachin grow, to become who he is. I have read about the preparation he did for what he thought was his biggest challenge(Warne in the rough down the leg side in India). I have seen the single minded determination that gave him 241 runs without scoring a single cover drive, because he thought that it was getting him out. I still find it difficult to fathom the power of that brain, because a cover drive is muscle memory. When you are facing Lee at 100mph, and you see a half volley outside the off stump, you dont have the time to think, oh.. I shouldnt play the cover drive. But he did, how I do not know. It's hard to explain Doc, maybe Sachin's like my imaginary best friend. You need to be me to understand it. 3. Depends on the jobs. If the finance job is more fun, something I would like to do (something to do with mathematics, analysis etc) then I might take it. The job profile would be more important to me than the pay. If it can pay for my expenses, and keep some savings on the side, the pay would not be a major factor at this stage in my life. It would still be a factor, but not as much as what I am doing, because once I'm into something I like doing, I know I'll work my way up. 4. A lot of people are forced into engineering. I know someone who wanted to be a dentist, gave the medical exams as well, but was forced to become an engineer because his dad wanted him to. He loathed it. A lot of people do engineering, and then realize that it is not what they want to do. For some its the money factor. Some people do not want to be confined to an engineering job, especially in the current scenario where technology is changing at a blistering place. You never know what is going to be extinct in a couple of years... 5.Anticrastination.
Holysmoke Posted December 30, 2008 Posted December 30, 2008 1. The thing about you that you like the most, hate the most? ( need some unconventional answers here). 2. What has Grad-school taught you? ( Literally and figuratively) 3. If given a choice, which one would you choose amongst the two; Happiness or peace of mind. 4. Are there any incidents/moments/collection of event(s) that have had a profound impact on you as a person? And finally.. 5. Is it true that your Dad owns half of Bombay? :giggle: P.S; More to come. 6. Gimme your version of a perfect holiday.. 7. If I all of a sudden gave you 2 hours of time out of nowwhere, what would you do with it? 8. Biggest regret in life so far? ( Neednt be something that has to be personal) 1. Like = I love the fact that my thinking is methodical and relaxed. I am rarely rushed into making rash decisions. hate = I have a tendency to procrastinate stuff which I'm not too interested in doing. 2. I havent done grad school :--D College has taught me a lot of lessons, but the greatest one would be making me independent and self reliant. It has also gotten me closer to my parents, which is weird, because now I'm half the world away from them. Time management, and how to motivate yourself are also results of college. 3. Peace of mind. Happiness is a by-product of peace of mind. 4. Yes. It turned me into a completely different person. Changed me from a -dont care, happy go lucky, lets go drinking, enjoy life as it comes, procrastinate as much as you can guy to now a more focussed, relaxed, mature guy. 5. No re, I wish it was so, I wouldnt be busting my ass here :hysterical: 6. Chilling on a beach with a loved one. I'd prefer that to sightseeing, etc. But the perfect holiday would be when I'm there and I have nothing on my head.. nothing to do, nowhere to go, I can do whatever I please. 7. Arre..:hysterical: depends dude.. depends on what I need to do then.. If I'm sleepy, I might go to sleep, If I wanted to watch a movie, I'd do that.. depends on the time/situation/company yaar :--D 8. No regrets as such..
Holysmoke Posted December 30, 2008 Posted December 30, 2008 Do you wish you were born 10 yrs earlier so that you could catch Tendulkar taking on Abdul Qadir circa 1989 ? Which is better Bollywood or Hollywood ? Your happiest day in life ? 1. No, not at all. Thats because SRT then wouldnt be the inspiration he is to me now. 2. Hollywood 3. hmm.. I dont know :hmmm:
Holysmoke Posted December 30, 2008 Posted December 30, 2008 will you ban fineleg? Banning fineleg is not in my hands. I am not an admin. Thats a question you should ask Rajeev :haha:
Online Posted December 30, 2008 Posted December 30, 2008 Banning fineleg is not in my hands. I am not an admin. Thats a question you should ask Rajeev :haha: answer the question - if u have the power, would you?
Holysmoke Posted December 30, 2008 Posted December 30, 2008 Currently, no. Probably would have done so earlier.
Online Posted December 30, 2008 Posted December 30, 2008 Currently' date=' no. Probably would have done so earlier.[/quote'] ***** lol jk, :two_thumbs_up: everybody loves fineleg :icflove:
Ram Posted December 30, 2008 Posted December 30, 2008 2. Because I can relate to Tendulkar. I cannot remember life without looking forward to a SRT century. I was born in '86, and since as far as I can remember, SRT has been playing for India. Thats what I mean when I say that a part of me will die when SRT retires. For all my life, that man has been proving me inspiration, ALL MY LIFE. I had no idea who the Nobel laureates at my institution were before I came here. Even now I cannot relate to them. I do not know their story as well. When I'm down and out, I dont think of them. I have seen Sachin grow, to become who he is. I have read about the preparation he did for what he thought was his biggest challenge(Warne in the rough down the leg side in India). I have seen the single minded determination that gave him 241 runs without scoring a single cover drive, because he thought that it was getting him out. I still find it difficult to fathom the power of that brain, because a cover drive is muscle memory. When you are facing Lee at 100mph, and you see a half volley outside the off stump, you dont have the time to think, oh.. I shouldnt play the cover drive. But he did, how I do not know. It's hard to explain Doc, maybe Sachin's like my imaginary best friend. You need to be me to understand it. Wow... Simply wow... That made my eyes well up dude... really did. Honestly, some splendid answers there.
fineleg Posted December 30, 2008 Posted December 30, 2008 ***** lol jk, :two_thumbs_up: everybody loves fineleg :icflove: even if you assume the last line were true (:P) - you may need to change it to everybody-1 (or maybe everybody-2) But Sir Online - I have never figured out whether you love me or hate me or both :eyedance: :D J/K
Guest Hiten. Posted December 30, 2008 Posted December 30, 2008 holy, even I would love to meet you one day..if everything goes accordingly we will watch the wc2011 together in Hindustan My questions: 1) Who is your best friend ...mom or dad? And why? 2) If given a 'chance' to become a president of India, tell us one thing that you would do to solve the problem that has really irked you (as a citizen)? 3) do you think India shoul have attacked Pakistan after Mumbai incident ? 4) Did the recent Mumbai attack hurt your ego (mine sure did:(()?
nospam Posted December 30, 2008 Posted December 30, 2008 Yep, I'm now a BE in Comp Engg next => job at google/micrsoft/apple/other fav "programming" assignment/project -> Made my own OS, like my own distro of linux, coded it in C.. had dynamic memory allocation, ext2 filesystem, task switching, multiple terminals, scheduling, etc. fav language = C "C is like Don Vito Corleone. The baap of them all." - holysmoke :--D ek dum mast, os ka naam kya rakha? om jai sachin os :o
Dhondy Posted December 30, 2008 Posted December 30, 2008 Very honest and introspective answers there, Holy. I particularly like your stated affinity for Maths. Although I am a medic, I truly believe that an obsesssional love for Maths, and its constant practice is the biggest tool one can possess to inculcate academic discipline,i.e. several hours of study every day, cultivate an enquiring and dissenting mind, the pairing of which in due course will hopefully lead to satisfying breakthroughs in whatever one happens to be doing for a living.
Bumper Posted December 30, 2008 Posted December 30, 2008 Holy, i dont know if you still plan to answer: 1) What do you plan to do (in terms of career) after your degree ? 2) How do you react to Sachin's failures ? 3) Who is the one poster here you'd kill to read ? And who'd you read & kill ?
Holysmoke Posted December 30, 2008 Posted December 30, 2008 holy, even I would love to meet you one day..if everything goes accordingly we will watch the wc2011 together in Hindustan My questions: 1) Who is your best friend ...mom or dad? And why? 2) If given a 'chance' to become a president of India, tell us one thing that you would do to solve the problem that has really irked you (as a citizen)? 3) do you think India shoul have attacked Pakistan after Mumbai incident ? 4) Did the recent Mumbai attack hurt your ego (mine sure did:(()? 1. I'm close to both, but I'm probably closer to Dad. I dont know why, maybe because he understands me better. 2. My first priority would be to tackle all forms of corruption. 3.No 4.No, not really.
Holysmoke Posted December 30, 2008 Posted December 30, 2008 Holy, i dont know if you still plan to answer: 1) What do you plan to do (in terms of career) after your degree ? 2) How do you react to Sachin's failures ? 3) Who is the one poster here you'd kill to read ? And who'd you read & kill ? 1. I'm gonna start working, and plan to work for a couple of years. I plan to do a Masters after a couple of years, but I'm not sure in what. I'm hoping a couple of years of work ex will help me find what I want to do. 2. Disappointment, but at the same time I dont expect a 100 every time from him. I hope for one every time, but I dont expect it. 3. Ehh? Kill to read? I wouldnt kill anyone dude :giggle: But if you're asking for my favourite posters, it would be Shwetabh, Lurker, Dhondy, Bumper, Bossbhai, GKD, Salil, Sriram, h4te, flamy, my 2 cents, fbm, dsr, blue brigade, etc. Read and kill - dravid, sachin rox, fineleg. Special mention would be dada rocks. He needs a virus on his computer that wont let him post until he corrects his spelling, punctuation and grammatical errors.
ludhianvi Posted December 30, 2008 Posted December 30, 2008 hey, there's no deadline for this it seems, so I'd like to sneak some questions in :D * Would you like to stay abroad and work or go back to India? * The most craziest thing you've ever done? * How did you find ICF? * Here's a tough/easy one: Say you're riding in a sports car that has only one more passenger seat, and you see your dream girl and Sachin Tendulkar asking you for a ride, what will you do? *The most challenging experience while living in the States? Thank you Holy Baba :tounge_smile: