Guest dada_rocks Posted January 14, 2009 Posted January 14, 2009 Dude do a spell check. Then add some meat if you want people to respond. Else you can, as you have done in this thread, act as a joke and debate on a movie which you are yet to seee!! What a tool :hysterical: back to spell check:hysterical: BEing amoron which you are AmitabH bachchan has raised serious question and what yoou had to add (1) SK and so and so praised it.. (2) AB is senile (3) Another clown went one step further he declared AB is jealous because abhishek didn't get awards this is claasic moronci style of criticism and in any serious debate people like you get thrown out of dais.. learn to debate the issue mate..
vroomfondel Posted January 14, 2009 Posted January 14, 2009 -this is not valid criticism d_r, this is just being stupidly jingoistic and scoring free points. -also, it is assuming that audiences are stupid. which speaks more to AB's mental capabilities than ours. we are not the People's Republic of China that we indulge in Image control. And besides, do you think a masala movie can do anything to further worsen the image of an entire nation holding it's crotch waiting for the world to do something after Mumbai? Not to be melodramatic, but it reminds me of those hindi movies where a woman's house is torched, and she goes from person to person saying "khade dekh kya rahe ho? kuch karte kyon nahin" :haha: you think slumdog makes even an iota of difference after than fiasco?
vroomfondel Posted January 14, 2009 Posted January 14, 2009 m_m, get over it man...it's a movie about India, with a large Indian cast and crew. much the same as the movie Gandhi...
Guest dada_rocks Posted January 14, 2009 Posted January 14, 2009 -this is not valid criticism d_r, this is just being stupidly jingoistic and scoring free points. -also, it is assuming that audiences are stupid. which speaks more to AB's mental capabilities than ours. we are not the People's Republic of China that we indulge in Image control. And besides, do you think a masala movie can do anything to further worsen the image of an entire nation holding it's crotch waiting for the world to do something after Mumbai? Not to be melodramatic, but it reminds me of those hindi movies where a woman's house is torched, and she goes from person to person saying "khade dekh kya rahe ho? kuch karte kyon nahin" :haha: you think slumdog makes even an iota of difference after than fiasco? I don't think audience decides these awards.. So I am not sure where does, whether audience is stupid or not came into pitcture.. I have not watched the film mind you I am just poitnitng towards the point AB is making and midn you he has always made these points it's nothign new. Are we to belive after Satyajeet Ray no good movie was made in india ( I know it's nto indian movie) but no recognition came. AB believes it is due to the fact that during all these years more fantassy and positive aspect of India was being depicted hence the reticence to recognize. Since this recogntion comes onm the heels of Booker winnign india-bashign novel I am inclined to buy this theory.. But all that he is senile he is jealous line of criticism was moronic..
Lurker Posted January 14, 2009 Posted January 14, 2009 BEing amoron which you are AmitabH bachchan has raised serious question and what yoou had to add (1) SK and so and so praised it.. (2) AB is senile (3) Another clown went one step further he declared AB is jealous because abhishek didn't get awards this is claasic moronci style of criticism and in any serious debate people like you get thrown out of dais.. learn to debate the issue mate.. Arre akal ke andhe bhai saheb aapke saath kaun bahas kare jab aapne yeh chalchitra dekha hi nahin hai?? Pagal samajh ke baitho ho kya?? Amitabh Bacchan I can criticize, and I have replied to MM in this thread. Lekin pahle you take off your moronic cap and go watch the movie first. Then if you want to have a debate you know I will be right here. Now go shoooooo..
Guest dada_rocks Posted January 14, 2009 Posted January 14, 2009 Arre akal ke andhe bhai saheb aapke saath kaun bahas kare jab aapne yeh chalchitra dekha hi nahin hai?? Pagal samajh ke baitho ho kya?? Amitabh Bacchan I can criticize, and I have replied to MM in this thread. Lekin pahle you take off your moronic cap and go watch the movie first. Then if you want to have a debate you know I will be right here. Now go shoooooo.. Whether I watch or do nto watch is not the question here . Anmd what you wrote was not the criticism of Ab's views it was the same old nonsense Ab's senile AB's jealous..Those do not qualify as criticism mate anyway I won;t be watchign this movie since Have read too much about ithence lost the appetite.. I rather watch some B-grade bollywood flick.. sab ka pet palanaa chahiye:--D
Ram Posted January 14, 2009 Posted January 14, 2009 Whether SM is an Indian or a British movie is akin to asking if Chicken Tikka is English or Indian?? What defines a "thing" as being Indian or British? Is it the content? In which case Chicken Tikka is obviously Indian. Is it the people who develop it, in which case again Chicken Tikka is Indian. Or is it the locale?? In which case Chicken Tikka is English. The fact is the definition is a combination of locale and the content. Without India(or Mumbai) there is no Slumdog Millionaire. I would be very interested if you could point me to any place on the globe where this movie can be made. Anywhere from Buenos Aires to Begusarai will do. As I wrote in a seperate thread some place Mumbai has the propensity to create stories and SM is a fantastic tribute to that spirit. m_m, get over it man...it's a movie about India, with a large Indian cast and crew. much the same as the movie Gandhi... That the movie was set in an Indian setting and involved and Indian actors isn’t the point. As far as I can see, India is to the Slumdog, what the actual ship Titanic, was to the movie itself. Just like how the ship’s setting helped romanticize the movie, the Indian setting added to Slumdog’s mystique, atleast as far the West is concerned. So, this is not an Indian movie, its an English movie in an ‘Indian’ setting. Sure, we can all be proud that Rahman won a Golden globe for the music, or many Indian actors starred in it. But, the actual meat-and-bones of the movie, its story-line, its script etc were British. Again, there’s an important distinction I am trying to make here. As an Indian, I am excited about the unique setting the Indian environment offers to world , interms of the emotion/passion/poverty/ambition etc, which has what Slumdog has portrayed. But, as a movie fan/critic, this movie does not excite me, as far an Indian point of view is concerned.
vroomfondel Posted January 14, 2009 Posted January 14, 2009 I don't think audience decides these awards.. So I am not sure where does, whether audience is stupid or not came into pitcture.. . It comes into the picture when we say that our image will get bad. As if an audience watching the film will say, "oh no, in the movie all of India is in squalor. I can't believe they can do dell tech support from there". Of course, there will be anecdotal mental midgets who believe this, but most audiences are more intelligent. btw, again, I am attacking the credibility of the witness here when it is the same person who associates with scum of the earth like Ram Gopal Varma who went to the Mumbai attack site to recce for his film. chewtiye saale. Sorry d_r, I agree it isn't relevant to the debate but I hate these holier than thou attitude waale who are themselves the biggest destroyers of national image. I haven't read the booker winner. I'm sure you haven't either. how about we reserve judgement until one of us reads it? btw, have you seen trainspotting, Danny Boyle's other famous picture? It shows a disgusting image of Britain...this has more to do with the director's style than any giant conspiracy theory to defame India. We are doing a great job with that ourselves. don't need any amateur outside help.
flamy Posted January 14, 2009 Posted January 14, 2009 um.... no one.. well ok atleast meself is not "proud" of this movie as an Indian. It was a fantastic entertainer and a real SLAP in the face of dumbass bollywood because at the core it is a formulaic movie with a simple story but excellently produced. I enjoyed the movie as much as I enjoy a movie out of Reykjavik. Sure, seeing India excited me, but at the end it is just a movie, not even a documentary.
vroomfondel Posted January 14, 2009 Posted January 14, 2009 That the movie was set in an Indian setting and involved and Indian actors isn’t the point. As far as I can see, India is to the Slumdog, what the actual ship Titanic, was to the movie itself. Just like how the ship’s setting helped romanticize the movie, the Indian setting added to Slumdog’s mystique, atleast as far the West is concerned. So, this is not an Indian movie, its an English movie in an ‘Indian’ setting. Sure, we can all be proud that Rahman won a Golden globe for the music, or many Indian actors starred in it. But, the actual meat-and-bones of the movie, its story-line, its script etc were British. Again, there’s an important distinction I am trying to make here. As an Indian, I am excited about the unique setting the Indian environment offers to world , interms of the emotion/passion/poverty/ambition etc, which has what Slumdog has portrayed. But, as a movie fan/critic, this movie does not excite me, as far an Indian point of view is concerned. the screenplay was written based on Salim-Javed. adapted from a book written by an ICS officer in South Africa. pretty much everything about this movie is Indian, except the director's vision -- and let us not get parochial about it please. it was a good bollywood style movie that the goras liked a lot. and a lot of us liked it too. simple bhai. and it won 4 golden globes. of course we will pay attention. quite simple.
sandtest Posted January 14, 2009 Posted January 14, 2009 Okk here is why I object to this movie and it's intentions. it is not just about portrayal of Mumbai slums, it gets dirty when they deliberately include evil Hindus rioting and killing poor, Muslim victims only. The scene is like this -- The Muslim boy playing role of slumdog is asked a prize question -- What Shri Ram carries in his right hand? Now answer for this could have been given in any suitable way....but director instead prefers to go in flashback and shows a scene where supposedly evil Hindus are killing the mother of that boy. The director doesnot stop there -- he shows a Shri Ram's statute with Bow and Arrow in middle of the riot -- implying that Hindus are rioting in name of Shri Ram. Now this may not mean anything to tolerant, forgiving Indians and Hindu, but imagine a western Gora watching the movie and the amount of psychological effect it will generate. Any outsider will get convinced that Hindus riot and Shri Ram is a symbol uring rioting!! pathetic, attempt, I must say!
ludhianvi Posted January 14, 2009 Posted January 14, 2009 Why would this be termed as a British movie? The majority of the actors are Indian. The majority of the singers are Indian. While Danny Boyle is the director, there is also an Indian co-director Loveleen Tandan (co-director: India). The setting takes place in India. The majority of the music is Indian. The movie is based on an Indian novel written by an Indian author. At best you can label it as a British-Indian movie if one wants to be a rebel.
Lurker Posted January 14, 2009 Posted January 14, 2009 Whether I watch or do nto watch is not the question here . Anmd what you wrote was not the criticism of Ab's views it was the same old nonsense Ab's senile AB's jealous..Those do not qualify as criticism mate anyway I won;t be watchign this movie since Have read too much about ithence lost the appetite.. I rather watch some B-grade bollywood flick.. sab ka pet palanaa chahiye:--D Quite sums you up really. Dont make up your mind, let others make mind for you...Jai ho bhagwa brigade ki!
Lurker Posted January 14, 2009 Posted January 14, 2009 That the movie was set in an Indian setting and involved and Indian actors isn’t the point. As far as I can see, India is to the Slumdog, what the actual ship Titanic, was to the movie itself. Just like how the ship’s setting helped romanticize the movie, the Indian setting added to Slumdog’s mystique, atleast as far the West is concerned. So, this is not an Indian movie, its an English movie in an ‘Indian’ setting. Okay so help me understand what is English about it? Any single question that made you sit up and say - Whoa thats how it works in Old Blighty?? Any single scene where you sat up and said - Hey wait a second thats exactly how things are around Piccadilly Circus?? The settings, the content, the locale, the background(of the story) is all Indian. This movie may not have come from Bombay but it has the Indian stamp all over it. xx
Lurker Posted January 14, 2009 Posted January 14, 2009 Okk here is why I object to this movie and it's intentions. it is not just about portrayal of Mumbai slums, it gets dirty when they deliberately include evil Hindus rioting and killing poor, Muslim victims only. The scene is like this -- The Muslim boy playing role of slumdog is asked a prize question -- What Shri Ram carries in his right hand? Now answer for this could have been given in any suitable way....but director instead prefers to go in flashback and shows a scene where supposedly evil Hindus are killing the mother of that boy. The director doesnot stop there -- he shows a Shri Ram's statute with Bow and Arrow in middle of the riot -- implying that Hindus are rioting in name of Shri Ram. Now this may not mean anything to tolerant, forgiving Indians and Hindu, but imagine a western Gora watching the movie and the amount of psychological effect it will generate. Any outsider will get convinced that Hindus riot and Shri Ram is a symbol uring rioting!! pathetic, attempt, I must say! Hahahahaha :hysterical::hysterical::hysterical: Which is one reason why I am happy that it was Danny Boyle who made the movie and not Dharmesh Darshan. Had the latter made the movie, that g**ooo Modi would have banned it in Gujarat. That param ch****a that goes by the name Thook-re would have let his Jogeshwari goons loose in Mumbai in the garb to show his mardangi(and claim he would send them to J&K as well :hysterical: ) This is one area where I am extremely happy this movie got made without such nonsense that comes with Bollywood industry.
sandtest Posted January 14, 2009 Posted January 14, 2009 The most surprising thing is that even though they showed Shri Ram statue rioting, noone of our media or even any person in film industry/critic ever criticized or looked at the movie from critics angle. It took an Amitabh Bachhan to do the dirty job. Goes to show the lack of any sense of self-respect among Indians. No wonder Amitabh himself once said that Indians lack the sense of appreciation for their own past achievments. Lurker go lick Arundhotis behind.
veer Posted January 14, 2009 Posted January 14, 2009 my respect for AB has fallen to almost at half of the level that I had before... his connection with Amar Singh is just sad.. amar singh is one son of a gun who is as good as pakistani..
Holysmoke Posted January 14, 2009 Posted January 14, 2009 Wow, I cannot believe what I'm reading. I can understand the debate about whether it is a British film or an Indian film, but all the other BS in this thread is mindblowing.
Lurker Posted January 14, 2009 Posted January 14, 2009 The most surprising thing is that even though they showed Shri Ram statue rioting, noone of our media or even any person in film industry/critic ever criticized or looked at the movie from critics angle. Watch the movie akal ke andhe bhai saab. No where is Shri Ram statue rioting! :hysterical: And stop spreading spreading nonsense. It took an Amitabh Bachhan to do the dirty job. Sure. Jogeshwari Autowaalon mein yeh himmat kahan :hysterical: Goes to show the lack of any sense of self-respect among Indians. No wonder Amitabh himself once said that Indians lack the sense of appreciation for their own past achievments. Amitabh also called your beloved role model in life, Rajeev Gandhi, as his best friend. I am glad you worship both of them. :hysterical: Lurker go lick Arundhotis behind. :hysterical: Kya hua Auto nahin chal reha hai dham dham karke :hysterical: