coffee_rules Posted January 17, 2009 Posted January 17, 2009 http://www.rediff.com/news/2009/jan/17sena-warns-of-snapping-ties-with-bjp-on-karnataka-border-issue.htm Can't believe this is within India? Border row: Sena warns of snapping ties with BJP Mounting pressure on its ally over the border row issue, the Shiv Sena today warned BJP that it would snap ties with it if its government in Karnataka continued to "torture" Marathi-speaking people. "The BJP government in Karnataka used force against Marathi people protesting the Assembly session at Belgaum, a border district, and arrested senior leaders like N D Patil," Leader of Opposition in Maharasthra Assembly Ramdas Kadam told PTI from Belgaum. "Sena chief Bal Thackeray [images] has asked me to convey to Marathi-speaking people in Karnataka that it would snap ties with the BJP in Maharashtra if the atrocities continue," he said. His remarks came a day after Thackeray said his party was "ready to accept blows from friends (BJP) if atrocities against Marathi-speaking populace of Karnataka's border areas continue". Reacting to the Sena posture, Maharashtra BJP President Nitin Gadkari said he was not sure what led Kadam to warn of snapping the over two-decade-old ties over the boundary row. "I have said that BJP in Maharashtra is behind the Marathi-speaking people in Karnataka and we feel that injustice against them should stop," Gadkari said. "Snapping ties is their (Sena) right. If they want to take a unilateral decision, it is their prerogative," he said. Sena executive president Uddhav Thackeray has warned Karnataka Chief Minister B S Yeddyurappa would not be allowed entry in Maharashtra if "atrocities" against Marathi people in the southern state continued. Uddhav also appealed to BJP leader L K Advani [images] to `control' those perpetrating these "atrocities". Thackeray said Yeddyurappa was accorded a red-carpet treatment when he visited Mumbai [images]. "The same Chief Minister is heaping grave atrocities on Marathi people in Karnataka," he said in the Sena mouthpiece `Saamna' yesterday. "Marathis are being assaulted with sticks and guns and beaten up like cattle. If Karnataka Government wants to display its machoism by breaking heads of Marathi people, it should remember that Maharashtra is the land of Shivaji Maharaj," Thackeray had said. The nine-day session of the Karnataka Legislature, which commenced at Belgaum yesterday, is being held in the backdrop of protests by Maharashtra Ekikaran Samiti (MES) which is seeking merger of 856 villages and towns of Karnataka, including Belgaum, Karwar and Nippani, with the Western state. Karnataka had been rejecting Maharashtra's claim over the Marathi-speaking areas. The boundary dispute, which has led to violent protests in the past, is now pending before the Supreme Court .
kumble_rocks Posted January 17, 2009 Posted January 17, 2009 Atrocities against any community , be it marathi , tamil , bihari etc should not be practiced nor condoned by anybody. And it is shameful if their is truth to this statement by Thackeray. While we are at it , what about the atrocities against kannadigas practiced by the Sena in Maharashtra ? Heck , Shiv Sena practically made it's living targeting lungiwallas back in the 70's and 80's. It is a hypocritical on the part of BJP and it's fans to blame congress for divisive politics and align with this extremist party called Shiv Sena.
Ram Posted January 17, 2009 Posted January 17, 2009 Can the Shiv Sena stoop any lower? Why dont they first care about the plight of Marathi people in Mahararshtra, before bothering about what happens to Marathi people in other states? There are millions and millions of Marathi people living in poverty, struggling in the slums of Mumbai. They dont have water, no sanitation, no roads, no access to primary education. Mumbai residents have been threatened by terrorists. Why doesnt the Sena do anything about it? Its all too plain isnt it? The Sena, in reality, gives a big SH!T about the welfare of the Marathi people. All they need is publicity and shouting for the welfare of some far away Marathis will give them that. These criminals are such lowlifes that they wont hesitate to play politics with the lives of the people even. For us Indians, it has finally come to handling this pathetic bunch of gutless worms who will spare no effort to get themselves on the newspaper. And this is just the beginning of the freefall. Yesterday, it was Biharis in Bombay and Valentine's day celebrations. Today, its Marathis in Karnataka.. Tomorrow, it will be some other nonsense.
cowboysfan Posted January 17, 2009 Posted January 17, 2009 the MES is a joke which is supported by shiv sena for its own stupid agenda which is there for every body to see in plain sight-there is no way we are parting with belgaum.shiv sena knows this but still continue to trouble karnataka with their pesky antics.
Lurker Posted January 17, 2009 Posted January 17, 2009 Why does this surprise you guys? Isnt SS the same party who supported the Congressi idiotic choice of Prateebha Patil as the President choice ahead of a much more suitable candidate Bhairo Singh Shekhawat simply because the former was a Marathi?? SS is the ultimate discriminatory party that needs a us-versus-them mentality to exist. I am not surprised at all.
Ram Posted January 17, 2009 Posted January 17, 2009 Why does this surprise you guys? Isnt SS the same party who supported the Congressi idiotic choice of Prateebha Patil as the President choice ahead of a much more suitable candidate Bhairo Singh Shekhawat simply because the former was a Marathi?? SS is the ultimate discriminatory party that needs a us-versus-them mentality to exist. I am not surprised at all. Yes, I am surprised. The surprise isnt because Shiv Sena is doing such things, its more due to disbelief that they can without an iota of shame, keep denigrating our politics in such manner. If preventing Valentine's day celebrations, preventing migrants from other states taking railway exams in Bombay, digging up a cricket pitch in Delhi and throwing out Pakistani comedians from Indian television channels is in the top of the welfare agenda of organizations like Shiv Sena and MNS ( whatever its crap full form is), then God save our people.
Ram Posted January 17, 2009 Posted January 17, 2009 Btw, I know of a Marathi colleague at my work place who has been continuously harassed by his American Boss. I am going immediately ring up the Shiv Sena and the MNS and inform them of this 'injustice meted out to a fellow Marathi on this planet earth'. I expect their top leaders to drop whatever they're doing, organize a group of their activists, catch their next flight to the states and vandalize my workplace and threaten the American Manager.
Guest dada_rocks Posted January 17, 2009 Posted January 17, 2009 ShivSena is marathi party and noone sud give them relevance beyond that..
Ram Posted January 17, 2009 Posted January 17, 2009 ShivSena is marathi party and noone sud give them relevance beyond that.. :haha: So lets get this straight. A bunch of Pakistani twists will blabber irrelevant nonsense about how uproar in the world community and we've gotto pay 1000% attention, while an Indian political party will talk about creating trouble in India and we should ignore them? Classic case of saffron brigade lunacy and the usual double standards that come with it. Had the All-India-Muslim council talked about protesting the treatment of Muslims in some other state, rest assured you guys would have painted the board red by now.. :cantstop:
kumble_rocks Posted January 17, 2009 Posted January 17, 2009 ShivSena is marathi party and noone sud give them relevance beyond that.. Apparently BJP does ....
Guest dada_rocks Posted January 17, 2009 Posted January 17, 2009 Apparently BJP does .... People sud educate themselves before speaking on issues.. In all the adjoining states where shiv sena field its candidate like gujarat etc shiv sena fights alone.. BJP's alliance with shiv sena doesn't go beyond maharahstra.. on this very issue BJP is at loggerheads with shiv sena what does it tell.. BJP has been denouncing all their moronic deeds.. BTW we happen to know certain parties ( congress communist ) who have alliance with muslim league in kerala...
graphic23 Posted January 18, 2009 Posted January 18, 2009 :haha: So lets get this straight. A bunch of Pakistani twists will blabber irrelevant nonsense about how uproar in the world community and we've gotto pay 1000% attention, while an Indian political party will talk about creating trouble in India and we should ignore them? Classic case of saffron brigade lunacy and the usual double standards that come with it. Had the All-India-Muslim council talked about protesting the treatment of Muslims in some other state, rest assured you guys would have painted the board red by now.. :cantstop: MM, you are better than that. Lurker has repeatedly said that Shiv Sena is kept under control. No one even believes them anymore. They're talking like idiots. You know that in the case of Pakistan, it is different. We have to pay 1000% attention to what Pakistan is saying because we are the ones who lost the 179 lives because of Islamic, jihadi terrorists across the border. I'm very surprised that you are saying they are the same thing. It is one thing to be argue when the posters here are accusing the Indian muslims but it is on completely another level to compare what the Shiv Sena is doing to what Pakistan has been doing and what it has done. If there is one nation for which I would wish the worst for - for which I am willing to sound like an inhumane person, it is Pakistan. I really wish they get to pay for all the atrocities they have committed.
Lurker Posted January 18, 2009 Posted January 18, 2009 ShivSena is marathi party and noone sud give them relevance beyond that.. The simple, easy and to the point answer should have been - SS is wrong, they should not be doing this. But being the thick skinned bhagwa supporter that you are, you had to take it upon yourself to stop from criticizing SS. Marathi party? So what the eff was SS supporters doing digging up pitch at Feroz Shah Kotla??? Daroo maar ke MB pe aate ho kya miyaan?
Ram Posted January 18, 2009 Posted January 18, 2009 MM, you are better than that. Lurker has repeatedly said that Shiv Sena is kept under control. No one even believes them anymore. They're talking like idiots. You know that in the case of Pakistan, it is different. We have to pay 1000% attention to what Pakistan is saying because we are the ones who lost the 179 lives because of Islamic, jihadi terrorists across the border. I'm very surprised that you are saying they are the same thing. It is one thing to be argue when the posters here are accusing the Indian muslims but it is on completely another level to compare what the Shiv Sena is doing to what Pakistan has been doing and what it has done. If there is one nation for which I would wish the worst for - for which I am willing to sound like an inhumane person, it is Pakistan. I really wish they get to pay for all the atrocities they have committed. And when did I ever draw parallels to what is the Islamic terrorists are doing and what the Shiv Sena is doing? You immediately assumed I did, and I didnt. I was merely highlighting the usual double standards and the duplicity of resident Saffron Brigade here that shout their throats hoarse if anything untoward happens across the border, but respond with muted silence if any their saffron torch bearers ( which is what the organizations like Shiv Sena, BJP are) do something improper. My point is, if you want to raise your voice against something thats improper, do it for everything.
graphic23 Posted January 18, 2009 Posted January 18, 2009 And when did I ever draw parallels to what is the Islamic terrorists are doing and what the Shiv Sena is doing? You immediately assumed I did' date=' and I didnt. [/quote'] I'm sorry then. I misinterpreted your post. I was merely highlighting the usual double standards and the duplicity of one group of posters here who shout their throats hoarse if anything untowards happens across the border, but respond with muted silence if any their saffron torch bearers ( which is what the organizations like Shiv Sena, BJP are) do something improper. I was responding that improperness(?) of Shiv Sena is different than that of Pakistan. Because they're not going hold hostage people from different states and threaten to kill all of them if all the non-Maratis are not drive out of Maharashtra. Don't mistake me for a Shiv Sena supporter - I hate them too. They're focused on an UP person getting a job in Bombay and are a distraction to the state govt. They are living to divide people while we ought to live to unite people. They are wrong. They are dangerous if they are successful - but I feel that there are not that many blind supporters of the Shiv Sena as there are of the terrorism across the border.
Ram Posted January 18, 2009 Posted January 18, 2009 I was responding that improperness(?) of Shiv Sena is different than that of Pakistan. Because they're not going hold hostage people from different states and threaten to kill all of them if all the non-Maratis are not drive out of Maharashtra. And even if it is, our first priority is to fix things at home. India is what it is today, a country of massive poverty, poor health and pathetic living standards of the people, not because a bunch of lunatic Pakistani terrorists rant away at us from their caves, its because of the systemic failure in our political system, a political system filled with gutter-class, biased, vote-bank parties like Shiv Sena and MNS. These parties have unashamedly put the welfare of the people's welfare in the back-burner and taken upon themselves to resort to cheap publicity stunts just to stay in power. If you want fix whats wrong with India, you dont have to look abroad. Start looking at home first.
kumble_rocks Posted January 18, 2009 Posted January 18, 2009 Yes yes KR .. BJP needs to scrub itself into a spotless entity before it can lay claim to rule from Dilli ... untill then Kaangress can continue to make merry .... we know your line of thinking :winky: And what is my line of thinking ? Standing up for a fellow Indian and condemning discrimination is wrong ? And just because I don' t agree with you , does that make a kangress supporter ? For the records I find BJP to be the lesser evil .
kumble_rocks Posted January 18, 2009 Posted January 18, 2009 People sud educate themselves before speaking on issues.. In all the adjoining states where shiv sena field its candidate like gujarat etc shiv sena fights alone.. BJP's alliance with shiv sena doesn't go beyond maharahstra.. on this very issue BJP is at loggerheads with shiv sena what does it tell.. BJP has been denouncing all their moronic deeds.. BTW we happen to know certain parties ( congress communist ) who have alliance with muslim league in kerala... Agree with you that people should educate themselves. The last time I checked , BJP is still in alliance with Shiv Sena.And why should it go beyond Maharashtra. You yourself have said that Sena is irrelevant outside Maharashtra. Talk to me , if BJP breaks this alliance ! And for the last time, when did congress became the accepted standard for virtue ? I agree that BJP is the lesser evil .
sandtest Posted January 18, 2009 Posted January 18, 2009 Aprt from Rediff, I need to know from some other sources, exactly how many Marathis got killed/injured by so called violent Kannadigas. Or is it another ploy from dhimmi medai to rile-up Shivsena and aftrewards score cheap points when regionalism issue gets hot. It's high time Hindus learn to seperate between wheat and chaff.....This reagionalism and petty selfishness is what lead to Mughal haraamis invading India, looting and plundering our wealth and converting en masse, murdering those who refused and raping our women to their hearts content. Even in 21st centuries if Hindus don't learn to unite rejecting false notions of Aryan-Dravidan BS, then our situation will eventually become like Jews, fighting for survival!! It is issues like these which gives media ammo to divert attention from real issues we are facing as a race.
Lurker Posted January 18, 2009 Posted January 18, 2009 Aprt from Rediff, I need to know from some other sources, exactly how many Marathis got killed/injured by so called violent Kannadigas. Or is it another ploy from dhimmi medai to rile-up Shivsena and aftrewards score cheap points when regionalism issue gets hot. It's high time Hindus learn to seperate between wheat and chaff.....This reagionalism and petty selfishness is what lead to Mughal haraamis invading India, looting and plundering our wealth and converting en masse, murdering those who refused and raping our women to their hearts content. Even in 21st centuries if Hindus don't learn to unite rejecting false notions of Aryan-Dravidan BS, then our situation will eventually become like Jews, fighting for survival!! It is issues like these which gives media ammo to divert attention from real issues we are facing as a race. Arre Jogeshwari waale Shri Shri 1008 Autowaale Baba. Yaar tum aadmi ho ke paijama?? Even Maharashtra BJP's chief has said he is disappointed by SS's stance and SS's threat of working with BJP was the former's right and there was little BJP could do about it. Aur ek tum ho ke dhimmi media mein lage huye ho? Bhai Saheb Auto aage barhayein aur tape mein se Panchjanya ka recording band karein. xx