theguyinallblue Posted March 13, 2009 Posted March 13, 2009 Except for Sachin Tendulkar.... Nothing special happened in the 90s... boring movies...boring songs.. no style statement.. is there even an identity of 90s? i can not think of anything which 90s can claim its own....
Desi Cartman Posted March 13, 2009 Posted March 13, 2009 Mandal commission , 93 blasts , Babri masjid , Narimha rao , devi gowda , Vp Singh ... yeh dil maangay more ?
Lurker Posted March 13, 2009 Posted March 13, 2009 90s boring??? Cable TV, cellphone, laptop, credit card, Internet, Globalization etc etc are all children of this era. Sure one can argue that Internet was conceived in 70s or therabouts but the boom of hotmail, yahoo was all 90s. I still remember coming out of SEEPZ Mumbai and getting clobbered by Standard CHartered brokers to apply for a Credit card. Or Gujju real estate brokers shouting out loud in their cellphones(was too expensive for common man then). From a movie perspective what perhaps catches my attention, amongst other things, is how the role of villain changed. Starting from Parinda(late 80s), the villain was nomore a Gaaon ka Daaku or gareeb auraton ki izzat se khelne waala Laala. He was not soft spoken as KN Singh and didnt carry a gupti like Pran. Instead began an era of Bhaigiri. Parinda started it, Angaar(early 90s) fueled it immensly and before you knew Satya, Company, D-Company etc etc were being churned out. Heck even the big comedy franchise Munnabhai exploited this phenomenon albeit in a totally different manner.
theguyinallblue Posted March 13, 2009 Author Posted March 13, 2009 there is not fashion style of 90s as in bollywood fashion or hair style.. No super star like Amitabh or Rajesh khanna songs got deteriorated.. lyrically... except a few exceptions... 90s saw the rise of Govinda and his pelvis movements... baggy pants of Govinda and sunil shetty.. very mediocre decade.. actually my statement was more to do with Bollywood wise..
Holysmoke Posted March 13, 2009 Posted March 13, 2009 Like it or not, the 90's will be all about Shah Rukh Khan and Aamir Khan.
Desi Cartman Posted March 13, 2009 Posted March 13, 2009 Like it or not' date=' the 90's will be all about Shah Rukh Khan and Aamir Khan.[/quote'] and choli ke peechay kya hai :winky:
Desi Cartman Posted March 13, 2009 Posted March 13, 2009 in all seriousness it was decade in which India matured as a nation ... we saw masjid , mandal , corrupt govts ... we saw all that and since then I have seen politicians take elections a little more seriously and try to work out a way to work together .. these days mostly MILI -JULI sarkars survive for whole term unlike 90s when we had different CMs and PMs every few months/years sometimes.
Lurker Posted March 13, 2009 Posted March 13, 2009 there is not fashion style of 90s as in bollywood fashion or hair style.. No super star like Amitabh or Rajesh khanna songs got deteriorated.. lyrically... except a few exceptions... 90s saw the rise of Govinda and his pelvis movements... baggy pants of Govinda and sunil shetty.. very mediocre decade.. actually my statement was more to do with Bollywood wise.. From lyrical perspective things have been downhill since the end of 70s. For two reasons: a) The beauty of Hindi movie lyrics owed a LOT to Urdu. There were very few writers who could make great compositions in Hindi. Names like Yogesh, Neeraj, Indeevar, Pradeep come to mind. Otherwise every popular writer from Shailendra to Shakeel, Gulzaar to Anjaan used Hindi/Urdu. Most of these were educated in Urdu madarassas and so were as good in Urdu as they were in Hindi. Of course circa Independence Urdu became a pain in the rear for right wing morons. Even if they lapped up Gulzar's work the mention of Urdu would drive a wedge through them. Whether one agrees with it or not, I am sure all of us can agree that Urdu as a language has been on decline in India. b) Fall of Hindi as a language. Most non-Hindi speakers had issues taking up Hindi(no such issue for English). In Hindi speaking belt only girls took literature to do BA/MA, that too to get married. Middle class family would send their kids to Don Bosco and St. Xaviers. Upper class hated Hindi anyway and so a 2 year child learnt A, B, C much ahead of क ख ग. In a nutshell bhaasa ki maa *** gayi. Its not a 90s phenomenon just that it became more apparent then(continues today) xxx
The Outsider Posted March 13, 2009 Posted March 13, 2009 ^Lurker, not only that the Amitabh Bachchan phenomenon played a big factor in the death of music in Bollywood. Songs became of peripheral importance in his movies. The story lines and the larger than life persona he used to portray did not fit in with good music - I am strictly talking about his movies after the late 70s/early 80s, stuff like Mard, Coolie etc.
coffee_rules Posted March 13, 2009 Posted March 13, 2009 More than the 90s, 80s was the worst wrt popular music getting worse lyrically. Except for some RDB songs in Gulzar movies, I can't recollect any song from the 80s. I think Laxmikant Pyarelel was solely responsible for the state of music in the 80s. Atleast in the 90s, some of the Kumar Nasu's, Sonu Nigam and Udit Narayan's songs were better. It got better in the 90s, compared to the 80s.
Lurker Posted March 14, 2009 Posted March 14, 2009 ^Lurker' date=' [b']not only that the Amitabh Bachchan phenomenon played a big factor in the death of music in Bollywood. Songs became of peripheral importance in his movies. The story lines and the larger than life persona he used to portray did not fit in with good music - I am strictly talking about his movies after the late 70s/early 80s, stuff like Mard, Coolie etc. Fair point Shwetabh. Amitabh's emergence affected India movies in a lot of various ways, one of which was music. Although it would be unfair to say it adversly affected the music. To every Mard you also have a Muqaddar ka Sikandar. But yes maybe, just maybe, AB could have played the same role as Dev Anand or Raj Kapur did when it came to picking music for their movies. I also feel that the decline of Bengal/UP/Bihar in Indian mainstream played a key role in fall of the music in Indian movie industry. Bengal was the cynosure of many a great music directors and UP/Bihar was the bastion from where the lyricist came to the fore. Most of the popular lyricist except perhaps Gulzar came from this area. Shailendra, Neeraj, Majrooh, Kaifi, Javed Akhtar are all son of this soil. Today when Anurag Kashyap makes Gulaal the bulk of his actors come from this area. Not because he is a regionalist but because of the command the artists of the region have over language. Sample this from his movie Gulaal. S3yuxGcAghI कौरवों की à¤à¥€à¤¡à¤¼ हो या पांडवों का नीड़ हो जो लड़ सका है वोह ही तो महान है. Wonderful stuff from Piyush Mishra. Been ages since I heard that kind of veer-ras. Now be honest and ask yourself if that kind of mesmerising Hindi usage can come from Gujrat or Haryana. Would it be understood by a Himesh Reshamiyya or an Ehshan Shankar Loy. No disrespect but I kinda doubt that.
Shehezaada Posted March 14, 2009 Posted March 14, 2009 ARE YOU SERIOUS!? If there was a time to go back in live I would live in the 90s. The decade where 3 of my heroes, Sachin Tendulkar, Michael Jordan, Tupac Shakur were doing their best. Not to mention all the technology leaps!
Rajiv Posted March 14, 2009 Posted March 14, 2009 Actually, if I had to bak in time, i would pick the 70s
Shehezaada Posted March 14, 2009 Posted March 14, 2009 Actually' date=' if I had to bak in time, i would pick the 70s[/quote'] I would go back to mid 80s and onwards...just in time for the Michael Jordan, NWA, and then Tendulkar and Tupac
riya Posted March 15, 2009 Posted March 15, 2009 80s and 90s best time of my life .I just love those era cricket wise,movie wise or any thing .Those were the days .Thank God for not giving me the opportunity to grow up in this era .
THX_1138 Posted March 15, 2009 Posted March 15, 2009 there is not fashion style of 90s as in bollywood fashion or hair style.. No super star like Amitabh or Rajesh khanna songs got deteriorated.. lyrically... except a few exceptions... 90s saw the rise of Govinda and his pelvis movements... baggy pants of Govinda and sunil shetty.. very mediocre decade.. actually my statement was more to do with Bollywood wise.. three words: KID N' PLAY
Rajiv Posted March 15, 2009 Posted March 15, 2009 Except for Sachin Tendulkar.... Nothing special happened in the 90s... boring movies...boring songs.. no style statement.. is there even an identity of 90s? i can not think of anything which 90s can claim its own.... MTV gen in India - 1991 ---> What u guys are now, early 90s going to US for studies was like a middle class Indian going to the moon it was an exclusive club