Batting Help: Changing the Batting Grip

f.b.m

OK, Something thats really been bothering me in the last few weeks/months when I go out to bat in the nets is my on-side play and not being able to flick any leg side deliveries, no matter how slow, fast, or innocuous the deliveries are. Something thats even more worrying is that recently, everytime I see a legside delivery I start backing away to play it straight back at the bowler. However, if its short-ish and straight, the pull/hook shots come out automatically and it all goes quite well. Now, when playing with the rubber ball on a concrete surface (which is what I've been doing for the past 9-10 months), this problem wasnt there. If anything, flicking full, straight deliveries into gaps in the leg-side was my strength and it involved a lot of wristwork. The bat would just about brush my legs on the way through. The cut shots were very wristy aswell. And as for the grip, both my hands would be right next to each other and were right on top of the bat handle. Now, I think the problem when batting against the leather ball is that we all have to wear gloves and pads. The thing with the gloves is that it increases the space between the two hands on the bat handle. This pretty much screws up my legside play. I've tried to play with the split grip (with the two hands further apart) with the rubber ball and all the wristwork becomes shite. And the other thing is that the pads always get in the way of any on-side flick. In an attempt to compensate for this, I've tried bringing my bat from outside off stump to leg stump on the way down and all it results in is a leading edge going straight up in the air. And as for the cut shots, theyre effective but have become a lot more mechanical. Something that was Laxman or Gilchrist like has become very Hayden or Brendan Nash-like. Now how do I go about this and what should I keep in mind? Any tips or suggestions? Btw, this problem wasnt there about 2 years ago when I played for a cl