flamy Posted May 2, 2009 Posted May 2, 2009 When you combine the north indian love for everything fatty (read CHEESE/PANEER) with the south indian awesome ness of DOSA' date=' you get something that gives taste buds multiple orgasms...I love the[b'] PANEER BUTTER MASALA DOSA. :woot:
Guest Gunner Posted May 2, 2009 Posted May 2, 2009 When you combine the north indian love for everything fatty (read CHEESE/PANEER) with the south indian awesome ness of DOSA' date=' you get something that gives [b']taste buds multiple orgasms...I love the PANEER BUTTER MASALA DOSA. :hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical:
DomainK Posted May 2, 2009 Posted May 2, 2009 I have been to many places in South India and my experience says that if you want really good authentic south Indian food, try the smaller restaurants. The first time I went there, I tried the big and expensive restaurants expecting some great south Indian delicacies. But really got some tasty stuff in the road side places. Somewhere near Ooty I was leaving early morning when I stopped at a small hut for some Upma. That is the best Upma I have ever eaten. Then I had some great dosa and idli etc in a very small place somewhere close to Bangalore.
punjabi_khota Posted May 2, 2009 Posted May 2, 2009 I have been to many places in South India and my experience says that if you want really good authentic south Indian food' date=' try the smaller restaurants. The first time I went there, I tried the big and expensive restaurants expecting some great south Indian delicacies. But really got some tasty stuff in the road side places. Somewhere near Ooty I was leaving early morning when I stopped at a small hut for some Upma. That is the best Upma I have ever eaten. Then I had some great dosa and idli etc in a very small place somewhere close to Bangalore.[/quote'] It is the same story all over India....small places serve the most authentic stuff!!!!! B->B->:yay::yay:
Guest Gunner Posted May 3, 2009 Posted May 3, 2009 It is the same story all over India....small places serve the most authentic stuff!!!!! B->B->:yay::yay: I Have to agree totally on that. Man I feel so nostalgic.
Guest Hiten. Posted May 3, 2009 Posted May 3, 2009 No restaurant can ever cook Chicken lollypops like the ones that are served on "Chinese" stalls. Can't wait to go to india and jump over these lollypops
Desi Cartman Posted May 3, 2009 Author Posted May 3, 2009 No restaurant can ever cook Chicken lollypops like the ones that are served on "Chinese" stalls. Can't wait to go to india and jump over these lollypops :lollypop: don't you have a wife? She is cooking dhokla for breakfast .. I had choice between mooli ke parathay or dhokla .. :finger:
Desi Cartman Posted May 3, 2009 Author Posted May 3, 2009 It is the same story all over India....small places serve the most authentic stuff!!!!! B->B->:yay::yay: yep , the best kababs I ever had was from a stall in Moradabad. The best Chinese soup I have ever had was from Van-kitchen .. :nervous:
flamy Posted May 3, 2009 Posted May 3, 2009 yep ' date=' the best kababs I ever had was from a stall in Moradabad. The best Chinese soup I have ever had was from Van-kitchen .. :nervous:[/quote'] Ya, the masala puri and golgoppas are always excellent in the stalls that mommy prohibits Also, the best Bondas I've had were in my village or for that matter Paneer Soda and omg the onion samosas!!! :woot:. Don't get them in the cities :((
mhr123 Posted May 3, 2009 Posted May 3, 2009 I went to Shiva temple in Melbourne .. Its a south Indian temple and is very beautiful .. after attending the aarti we were walking towards to the parking when we saw a sign for CANTEEN ... We ordered idli-dosa and by Venkateshwara it was the best idili dosa I have ever had in my life .. cheap and best. After visiting the temple and eating that lovely sambar I have decided not to hate south India anymore :icflove::icflove::icflove::icflove::icflove::icflove::icflove::icflove::icflove: Saale mujhe pata hai tu sirf kaane gaya thaa waha paar....:hysterical::hysterical:
Guest Gunner Posted May 3, 2009 Posted May 3, 2009 Ya, the masala puri and golgoppas are always excellent in the stalls that mommy prohibits Also, the best Bondas I've had were in my village or for that matter Paneer Soda and omg the onion samosas!!! :woot:. Don't get them in the cities :(( WOW, you rmember the time of paneers sodas, that was so long ago when dinosaurs still ruled the earth.:cantstop::cantstop:
Desi Cartman Posted May 3, 2009 Author Posted May 3, 2009 Saale mujhe pata hai tu sirf kaane gaya thaa waha paar....:hysterical::hysterical: nahi I as well :winky:
fineleg Posted May 3, 2009 Posted May 3, 2009 South Indian food is awesomeness :hatsoff: I love the paneer dishes from North too :thumbs_up:
flamy Posted May 3, 2009 Posted May 3, 2009 WOW' date=' you rmember the time of paneers sodas, that was so long ago when dinosaurs still ruled the earth.:cantstop::cantstop:[/quote'] wut u talkin about willis? my grandma still lures me to our village with Paneer Soda and Peech Mithai.
Macj Posted May 3, 2009 Posted May 3, 2009 any good south indian restaurants in houston? Madras Pavilion is so so, better ones in Dallas - Taj Chat Cafe comes to mind, pretty nice S Indian food for US standards. Which reminds me, ill take some pics of food from there once I get back to the States unless the pigs breath gets me.
Desi Cartman Posted May 4, 2009 Author Posted May 4, 2009 picture of dosa that made me fall in love with South India
flamy Posted May 4, 2009 Posted May 4, 2009 Mashalla u is been pwned. :hehe: That dosa looks dead man.
Desi Cartman Posted May 4, 2009 Author Posted May 4, 2009 Mashalla u is been pwned. :hehe: That dosa looks dead man. :aetsch: dosa was awesome .. sambar was delicious and chuntey was the best ever ! The best thing about the dosa was the softness .. it was spongy and tasty ... the aloos inside were cooked in hot masala with cashews ... :finger: