Ricky Ponting

He is no longer the same batsman. I've been saying this for the past 2 years now, he just doesn't seem the same, he has become very inconsistent. We need him to have a big Ashes, as #3 is the most important position in the line up and he's just not doing it for me lately. Thoughts ?

He is no longer the same batsman. I've been saying this for the past 2 years now, he just doesn't seem the same, he has become very inconsistent. We need him to have a big Ashes, as #3 is the most important position in the line up and he's just not doing it for me lately. Thoughts ?
I think he's bogged down by a variety of things. Inspite of this, he led the team admirably in SA even if he didn't score too many runs. I think the biggest problem for Ponting the batsman is that over the past 2 years, a few technical chinks have been found, and I don't know if he's had the mental preparation to work through them like the Ponting of yore would do. And yeah, if Australia end up winning the Ashes (and I think they will), Ponting should have a good series - and I think he will. I think he's being impatient and fidgety at the crease, based on most of his recent dismissals (I have not seen the ones against the Lions).
Forgive me, but I haven't been following Aussie cricket off late. I was under the impression that Clarke and Hussey were your best bats?
Forgive me' date=' but I haven't been following Aussie cricket off late. I was under the impression that Clarke and Hussey were your best bats?[/quote'] In terms of form our best batsman would have to be Haddin, Hughes (albeit one series), Clarke and Johnson. Hussey has been out of form for a while, but is due a big one.
Forgive me' date=' but I haven't been following Aussie cricket off late. I was under the impression that Clarke and [b']Hussey were your best bats?
:hysterical::hysterical::hysterical: :cantstop: Oh god... please turn on the lights in there. (Anyone want to bring up Hussey's recent streak of runs? Dsr/KT? :laugh: )