Who cares? It's no more offensive than putting Papa Smurf on the advert. Both are equally fictional. I hope the adverts had pictures of beef containing foods near the 'deitiies' too.
how the hell do you know it's fictional? few hundred years ago people use to think the earth is square and sun is at the center.....even till today we're finding out new information everyday....science is NOT 100% accurate...hell even the big bang theory is a THEORY not an actual proof. you CAN'T PROVE THAT GOD EXISTS AND AT THE SAME TIME YOU CAN'T PROVE THAT GOD DOESN'T EXIST. You can't just troll in and start insulting someone's faith dude.....you get killed for that. P.S. the "deities" are representative of human characters
Being 'inciteful' is a just cause for these atheists these days brother, but hey its the believers that are intolerant.
If you can't prove or disprove something as you say, then the safe assumption is to assume god doesn't exist until proven otherwise. Stop shifting the burden of proof anyway, if YOU believe god exist, then the burden of proof is on YOU to prove it, not me to disprove it. I can insult someone's faith as much as I want. Maybe it might get me banned here, but I'll be careful not to be too inflammatory so hopefully that won't happen. Please explain to me why I can't insult someone's faith. Everyone keeps making this statement without qualifying it. So somebody please: Why can't I insult or ridicule someone's faith? Straight answer please. And mods before you consider taking action against me if I've broken the rules, consider the number of 'mashallah' and 'inshallah' piss takes here.
If you can't prove or disprove something as you say' date=' then the safe assumption is to assume god doesn't exist until proven otherwise. Stop shifting the burden of proof anyway, if YOU believe god exist, then the burden of proof is on YOU to prove it, not me to disprove it. [b'] I can insult someone's faith as much as I want. Maybe it might get me banned here, but I'll be careful not to be too inflammatory so hopefully that won't happen. Please explain to me why I can't insult someone's faith. Everyone keeps making this statement without qualifying it. So somebody please: Why can't I insult or ridicule someone's faith? Straight answer please. And mods before you consider taking action against me if I've broken the rules, consider the number of 'mashallah' and 'inshallah' piss takes here.
Because its banned to discuss religion or abuse it here. http://www.indiancricketfans.com/showthread.php?t=143345
I did not insinuate that all atheists are like that but that was a comment specifically aimed at you. You are talking **** about fictional characters when religions are concerned (the religion itself doesn't matter) - and I merely pointed out that whatever YOU believe in is allowing YOU to say that we are generalizing against Pakistan and that since they have the same skin color as we do, we ought to be supporting them and be against the 'goras' (I'm saying the same things you did during Pak vs. SL final). Just to be clear, the God I worship has 43 ODI centuries, 42 Test centuries, 16500+ Runs in ODIs, and more than 12000 runs in the Test matches of a game called cricket. The deity I worship is a self-proclaimed (and worldwide accepted) TV Legend who has won a Hungarian bridge naming contest, has a day in canada named after him, has a treadmill in outerspace in his name, AND recently had a flag in his honor taken to Mt. Everest, has 2 Emmys, has hosted a White House roast dinner in 2006 with the US President, has invented a word, and has an honorary doctorate from Kent college for being awesome, and regularly beats fate in chess. Got it? Now that I have spoken about my religion, the rest of your **** is crap and I refuse to respond to it.
Why because you can't? Forgot to add in my previous post, saying you can't prove or disprove the existence of god is also a false dilemma.
Fair enough. I won't 'abuse' or ridicule the specifics of anyone's religion then. That reply is specific to this board though. Forget about ICF for the moment. In real life why can't I ridicule someone's religion. To reiterate I don't mean any particular religion or belief but why in general.
In real life you can and should brother , but dont be surprised to hear more forceful and aggressive responses than you will here. Believers here are docile, though we try to think independently, belief is still just the focus around which our thoughts are the loci. Belief itself is just an opinion rooted in experience and tradition much akin to why someone loves their parents, biologically you dont have to but you just do perpetually, based on some life experiences.
Fair enough. I won't 'abuse' or ridicule the specifics of anyone's religion then. That reply is specific to this board though. Forget about ICF for the moment. In real life why can't I ridicule someone's religion. To reiterate I don't mean any particular religion or belief but why in general.
Because its personal to their own self? And your other post is too retarded for me to respond for this very same reason. Why do you think you can go into someone's house and abuse their personal faith, dumb ass?
In real life you can and should brother , but dont be surprised to hear more forceful and aggressive responses than you will here. Believers here are docile, though we try to think independently, belief is still just the focus around which our thoughts are the loci. Belief itself is just an opinion rooted in experience and tradition much akin to why someone loves their parents, biologically you dont have to but you just do perpetually, based on some life experiences.
This is the best response I've heard so far. It's sad that people respond with violence and aggression when their belief system is challenged.
Because its personal to their own self? And your other post is too retarded for me to respond for this very same reason. Why do you think you can go into someone's house and abuse their personal faith' date=' dumb ass?[/quote'] Who said I was going to 'go into someone's house'? Don't put words into my mouth or second guess me, it's fundamentally dishonest. I still suspect you won't reply to my post because you can't.
Thanks to M_B's trolling...we're completely getting OFF TOPIC HERE
No we aren't. The point of the original post was that using 'sacred' images in adverts was insulting to a religion's followers. I am merely asking why people get so upset when their religion is insulted and why it seems to be taboo to criticise religion.
Who said I was going to 'go into someone's house'? Don't put words into my mouth or second guess me' date=' it's fundamentally dishonest. I still suspect you won't reply to my post because you can't.[/quote'] Because I don't expect you to stop someone at a temple, and start criticizing their religion and say how they are worshipping fictional characters. If you do, hats off. Secondly, what is in your post to which I can respond to? You mentioned what you thought about 3 religions, and then ridiculed it. And then you said "religion is open to ridicule, it invites it as it simply is so inherently ridiculous." I certainly don't think religion or faith is unquestionable, as long as it is your own that you are questioning and not someone else's. When I am praying to God in my room, in my house, and am not forcing you to do the same or even speaking of my faith in public, why then is my privacy open for your ridicule? For someone who is so far away from India that you refuse to be spoken to in Hindi, one would trust that you understand that the protection of privacy is strongly upheld in every part of the world - and I can't think of one's religion being public. The OP spoke about some idiots feeling sad about a misprint or whatever the **** happened. How is your anti-religion and anti-God trolling relevant to this thread?
No we aren't. The point of the original post was that using 'sacred' images in adverts was insulting to a religion's followers. I am merely asking why people get so upset when their religion is insulted and why it seems to be taboo to criticise religion.
I will try to answer, plucking out my feelings as to why I would be hurt. It is disrespectful to those people who believe that displaying the image of a Goddess in such a manner is insulting. It makes a mockery of the Hindu religion and our beliefs. Now if someone made a similar statement about one's mother accusing her of being a *****, that person would be offended. Shes still a woman , she could be a ***** but to that person its still disrespectful and he would be upset.
that sums it up really well!
Thank you Macj for responding in a courteous and intelligent manner. It may surprise you that many of my friends are deeply religious. I will respond to graphic23 later. Right now I have to eat.

It is insane to assume that if one didn't protest, the (mis)use of such religious symbols/dieties will cease. Whether it was intentional or not, if it offends you, better bring it up instead of allowing the nonsense to continue till the offender decides on his own that it is not worth it. :hatsoff: to the guys who forced the apology and shame on BK for allowing such behavior and not promising to take any action against such deliberate malicious act by some of their employees knowing full well that they were using a goddess of a religion in a not so flattering way in a food advert.

I am against most forms of censorship. So i am offended by religious or other groups of people getting offended by advertisements or words from quran in a song or images of church in a game or depiction of smoking or eating meat in movies. Well, i am not exactly offended but i do find it amusing. How many people respect Scientology here?

If you can't prove or disprove something as you say, then the safe assumption is to assume god doesn't exist until proven otherwise. Stop shifting the burden of proof anyway, if YOU believe god exist, then the burden of proof is on YOU to prove it, not me to disprove it. I can insult someone's faith as much as I want. Maybe it might get me banned here, but I'll be careful not to be too inflammatory so hopefully that won't happen. Please explain to me why I can't insult someone's faith. Everyone keeps making this statement without qualifying it. So somebody please: Why can't I insult or ridicule someone's faith? Straight answer please. And mods before you consider taking action against me if I've broken the rules, consider the number of 'mashallah' and 'inshallah' piss takes here.
maggot_brain, its better to question someone's faith rather than insult or ridicule it. Am not religious but I dont impose that on others. Let them believe what they want. By questioning u can bring about a constructive debate but when u ridicule or insult, the emotions in a person transform him from a sane one to an insane one. ICFers are a very tolerant lot, I guess u would be bombed thru internet if u had done this on our padosi forum.

initially i was offended but these comments on another forum got me thinking

In india,they fireup laxmi bomb,the photo is splattered into pieces on which the next morning people walk,then the pieces r thrown ingarbage.All that is fine,..lekin doosre desh mein nahi chalega..sirf humlogo ko ye dab karne ka haque hai,hamare desh may!
What's so Offending in it..? I mean, the fact that it is being done in some other country..? Look around in INDIA guys, Gods are being used for Selling Under-wears...!! Nobody seems to be Offended with that.. !! But, when it happens in Other Countries, we become "SACRED" all of a sudden.. !!
see guys I don't want to offend any one but what about our own habits....once wen I was in Kolkata during durga puja...the very next day after the puja (when the idols are emersed in water/rivers) the banks of rivers were full of lakhs of idols lying here and there...with broken heads,nose,hands etc. people walking on them dogs pissing on them...plus we mixed a lot of pollution in our sacred rivers in the form of synthetic colours painted on idols ...who is responsible for that???? we should respect our gods but through our hearts...not just by being big mouths.
interesting thoughts there.if we r offended by the ad,why dont we get offended wen it happen in our country,we should raise our voice against these as well if we r so much concerned about religion