veer Posted September 21, 2009 Posted September 21, 2009 ahhh.. legs are still hurting from garba on weekend.. happy Navrati you all..
Guest Shivani Posted September 21, 2009 Posted September 21, 2009 Sharadiyo Shubecha to all my bengali friends Su che to my gujju friends and happy Durga Puja and Navratri to all my ICF friends :icflove: This year I didn't go to the garba nights(dandiya) :|
Texy Posted September 21, 2009 Author Posted September 21, 2009 garba nights are wicked...hot gujju chics :woot: Amen brotha..... serious hot gujju girls come out in big groups wearing all backless and pretending to be angels.
Texy Posted September 21, 2009 Author Posted September 21, 2009 Bengalis call it durga puja and in the North its Navratri ... Guju's play dandia and Nothies celebrate Ram Navmi or asstmi on the 8th day which is also the last day for durga puja actually Bijoya doshomi or dushhera ..... is the last day of durga puja.... Mahalaya Shoshti Shoptomi Oshtomi Maha Nobomi Bijoya Doshomi
fineleg Posted September 21, 2009 Posted September 21, 2009 Celebrations in South India In the South Indian states of Tamil Nadu, Karnataka and Andhra Pradesh, the festival of Navratri is celebrated in a different manner. Women adorn their houses with dolls (Bommai Kolu), draw traditional designs or rangolis (patterns made on the floor by using various coloured powders and flowers), and light lamps. During this festival (also known as Kolu in the state of Tamil Nadu), families proudly display traditional wooden dolls and gather to sing songs and depict scenes from the various epics, for a period of ten days. Another runaway hit is the sundal, a special sweet made from lentil and brown sugar. Families and friends exchange the traditional gifts of coconuts, clothes and sweets on this occasion.
CricketGirl Posted September 21, 2009 Posted September 21, 2009 happy navratri everyone time to get out the chanya cholis and bangles woo hoo!! my son was so funny on the weekend i gave him a pair of dandiya and what does he do? he pairs them and poses like its a cricket bat!! :giggle:
ViruRulez Posted September 21, 2009 Posted September 21, 2009 garba nights are wicked...hot gujju chics :woot: :winky: :icflove:
Malcolm Merlyn Posted September 21, 2009 Posted September 21, 2009 no fish or meat during puja...it's only after idol immersion... from when did that rule started??????/i mean some house hold who have their own durga pujo follow this rule bt for noemal ppl it is eating time.........u guys have ur own durga pujo?
CricketGirl Posted September 21, 2009 Posted September 21, 2009 a good friend of mine is from calcutta she was saying dusherra is incomplete until they have had meat after all the pooja and everything is done!? :dontknow: eerrmm someone shed some logic on that one??
Guest Gunner Posted September 21, 2009 Posted September 21, 2009 When is Navratri? I have no clue. I ate bacon yesterday.
Desi Cartman Posted September 21, 2009 Posted September 21, 2009 When is Navratri? I have no clue. I ate bacon yesterday. :yousuck::yousuck::yousuck::yousuck:
Guest Gunner Posted September 21, 2009 Posted September 21, 2009 :yousuck::yousuck::yousuck::yousuck: I am really sorry, I will call my mother this evening and ask her when it is. :((:((:(( I didn't know so I ate turkey for lunch.
Guest Gunner Posted September 21, 2009 Posted September 21, 2009 it started on saturday! u plonker! OWWWW....:((:(( I need to avoid eating meat for a week and also alcohol. This is complicated.
CricketGirl Posted September 21, 2009 Posted September 21, 2009 OWWWW....:((:(( I need to avoid eating meat for a week and also alcohol. This is complicated. sweetie, you dont NEED to do anything its entirely your choice!!
Guest Gunner Posted September 21, 2009 Posted September 21, 2009 sweetie' date=' you dont NEED to do anything its entirely your choice!![/quote'] Yes it is a personal choice.Happy Navratri. Its not about choices etc. I was just unaware.
CricketGirl Posted September 21, 2009 Posted September 21, 2009 Its not about choices etc. I was just unaware. well, now that you do know its up to you to make a choice, personally i dont think it matters what you eat or dont eat as long as you have a clean heart!
Texy Posted September 21, 2009 Author Posted September 21, 2009 from when did that rule started??????/i mean some house hold who have their own durga pujo follow this rule bt for noemal ppl it is eating time.........u guys have ur own durga pujo? over here....no meat or fish is cooked while the puja is going on around temple premises.... once puja is over then mutton curry is made.... There are obviously no rule but I believe brahmin households maintain vegeterianism (the purest diet) during the pujas
punjabi_khota Posted September 21, 2009 Posted September 21, 2009 I make sure I go to Bengali student association's "durga puja" festivities every year here in my univ. they always have tandoori chicken served there after the puja.