dr_tooley Posted December 24, 2009 Posted December 24, 2009 :two_thumbs_up:Well done Virat. The marker of greatness is self-belief and ignor abuse. Just like Sachin ignored the idiots who booed him in Wankhede in 2006, you have proved your detractors wrong. Although other emerging cricketers like Umar Akmal and Adrian Barath have recieved more hype, I am certainly convinced you have much more basic talent. If you remain deciplined and don't try to score a boundary off every ball, I'm sure with dedication and practise I'm sure you will mature into a truely world class batman.:yay:
vvvslaxman Posted December 24, 2009 Posted December 24, 2009 Indian youngsters are good. Just that they can't find a place in the side due to "no vacancy" board.
Pioneer Posted December 24, 2009 Posted December 24, 2009 Sorry I couldnt get past your name :hysterical:
king2be98 Posted December 24, 2009 Posted December 24, 2009 Like Umar Akmal, he needs to a century substantially on a wicket and in a match where 180 plays 180 to prove that he is not just a flat track bully. Though I really hate this constant comparison between Pakistanis and Indians as it's just there to wind both parties up. Kohli has been given an extended run is now blossoming, but he has been served up a lot of flat tracks to pile on the runs. Umar akmal has also been playing a quite a lot on flat tracks, but not as flat as the ones Kohli has played on, but still he also has a promising future and looks good to serve Pakistan for 15 years. If Kohli finds himself a spot in this wonderfully talented Indian line up, he should serve them for the best part of 15 years too.
Sachinism Posted December 24, 2009 Posted December 24, 2009 Like Umar Akmal, he needs to a century substantially on a wicket and in a match where 180 plays 180 to prove that he is not just a flat track bully. Though I really hate this constant comparison between Pakistanis and Indians as it's just there to wind both parties up. Kohli has been given an extended run is now blossoming, but he has been served up a lot of flat tracks to pile on the runs. Umar akmal has also been playing a quite a lot on flat tracks, but not as flat as the ones Kohli has played on, but still he also has a promising future and looks good to serve Pakistan for 15 years. If Kohli finds himself a spot in this wonderfully talented Indian line up, he should serve them for the best part of 15 years too. I'm not gonna compare the batsmen because they're both good in their own right, but Kohli has not been a FTB by any stretch of the imagination.
Show_stopper Posted December 24, 2009 Posted December 24, 2009 And what are those not-so-flat tracks umar has been scoring on? they are all pretty flat these days..even the NZ ones. Just check what our youngsters did there. And no just because the others around him crumpled like 9 pins doesn't mean the pitch is green. I ahve always maintained that our yougsters are superior to theirs in every way possible(i'm just stating facts here). Virat looked superior in the U-19 WC they played and looks superior now as well. And what extened run are we talking about here king2be98??? Virat has played all of 14 matches..averaging 44. Not nearly been given enough chances.
king2be98 Posted December 24, 2009 Posted December 24, 2009 And what extened run are we talking about here king2be98??? Virat has played all of 14 matches..averaging 44. Not nearly been given enough chances. 14 matches is enough to establish yourself as a player, that's plenty of time, if in those 14 matches he had scored nothing, you'd have said never play him again. So by proving he is capable of playing at the top level, he must now take over and earn that spot. Akmal has had even less exposure to ODI cricket, I'm not 100% sure of that, but judging by the lack of cricket we play it's probably true. Akmal is also 2 years younger, so to be honest, you could argue either way.
satishg Posted December 24, 2009 Posted December 24, 2009 Virat has a tighter technique than Umar who keeps flashing at deliveries and Virat is aggressive too. But a 100 on a flat track is not the parameter to judge a young talent. He deserves the applause for having played under pressure and taking us through, but let us just wait for some more time and some more innings where when the going is really tough and see how Virat performs then. I am sure he will do well but i would like to hold my cards close to my chest until he succeeds although i will be wishing secretly that he does perform well :winky:
vvvslaxman Posted December 24, 2009 Posted December 24, 2009 At the end of the day it doesn't matter guys. Let us stop comparing. As long as they are useful to their respective teams that is enough.
Show_stopper Posted December 24, 2009 Posted December 24, 2009 14 matches is enough to establish yourself as a player, that's plenty of time, if in those 14 matches he had scored nothing, you'd have said never play him again. So by proving he is capable of playing at the top level, he must now take over and earn that spot. Akmal has had even less exposure to ODI cricket, I'm not 100% sure of that, but judging by the lack of cricket we play it's probably true. Akmal is also 2 years younger, so to be honest, you could argue either way. Yeah but we have enough data to compare the techniques at this stage..don't we? Think Umar is being hyped way too early for his own good. Note: I'm not saying he is no good or that he isn't above average. Just feel virat will prove to be better in the long run due to better technique.
Sachinism Posted December 24, 2009 Posted December 24, 2009 14 matches is enough to establish yourself as a player, that's plenty of time, if in those 14 matches he had scored nothing, you'd have said never play him again. So by proving he is capable of playing at the top level, he must now take over and earn that spot. Akmal has had even less exposure to ODI cricket, I'm not 100% sure of that, but judging by the lack of cricket we play it's probably true. Akmal is also 2 years younger, so to be honest, you could argue either way. Virat has not been given a consistent run in the team. He is only pulled in when someone is injured and when that person is fit, he is dropped again.
DomainK Posted December 24, 2009 Posted December 24, 2009 Too early and too useless for some comparison. From what I have seen of Umar, he is impressive. I liked his temperament and nothing matters more than temperament at this level of cricket. Now, only time will tell who does better, but a comparison at this level is quite useless.
champ Posted December 24, 2009 Posted December 24, 2009 we will know the truth 1 or 2 years down the lane .. then we can judge their careers .. my honest opinion .. kohli looks a better player atm .. has played in lot of pressure situations and has a 100 to show .. another important thing is kohli is in a good company .. will get lot of advice from seniors .. umar had a chance to score in sharjah on flattest pitches .. still crumbled and team also collapsed .. so lets wait and watch .
jusarrived Posted December 24, 2009 Posted December 24, 2009 stop insulting our future test batsmen by comparing him with like of Umers , whos good by pak standards , but quite frankly he wouldn't get into our A team
dr_tooley Posted December 24, 2009 Author Posted December 24, 2009 What was impressive about his score was not just his youth but the scenario: On that same flat track were the best batsman in the world - Sehwag and the best batsmen since Bradman - Sachmin got out cheaply, he had the calmness and maturity to score an elegant 100. Agreed having Gambhir helped, but virtually didn't even give the Lankan's a missed chance. His major flaw is an unfortunate tendancy to think of himself like a Yuvi or MS. Rather if could learn from Dravid or Sachin, Kohli will mature into a fine cricketer but the time everyone has forgotten Umar Akmal
ViruRulez Posted December 24, 2009 Posted December 24, 2009 :WTF: why a comparison thread and that too with a Paki .. itna wella time hai kya Pakis ke saath compare kar rahe ho Virat ko :wall:
Pak_Forever Posted December 24, 2009 Posted December 24, 2009 And what are those not-so-flat tracks umar has been scoring on? they are all pretty flat these days..even the NZ ones. Just check what our youngsters did there. And no just because the others around him crumpled like 9 pins doesn't mean the pitch is green. oh please, we know exactly why India got only flat tracks when they toured NZ. Pakistan's first two Test were on lively pitches which had a lot more for the bowlers. Umar played a brilliant knock against WI on a lethal pitch in CT and the inning that he played in 2nd inning of 1st Test match against NZ against fiery Bond and OBrein was nothing less than spectacular. I don't really see the point of this comparison. Kholi is a good player. Barath got a much better foot-work than both Umar and Kholi. They all are good and young shining stars for their country. I ahve always maintained that our yougsters are superior to theirs in every way possible(i'm just stating facts here). You gotta be kidding me! You sure about that? Is your every way consist of bowling too? :winky:
jusarrived Posted December 24, 2009 Posted December 24, 2009 only player Virat deserves coparison in terms of talent is Rohit sharma , though sharma has struggled playing for India is easily on of the most talented batsmen i have ever seen . GG Viru Pujara Rohit Kohli Raina Dhoni if these guys can live up to their potential , India will continue to have the best batting lineup years to come :)
ViruRulez Posted December 24, 2009 Posted December 24, 2009 only player Virat deserves coparison in terms of talent is Rohit sharma , though sharma has struggled playing for India is easily on of the most talented batsmen i have ever seen . GG Viru Pujara Rohit Kohli Raina Dhoni if these guys can live up to their potential , India will continue to have the best batting lineup years to come :) I would not say Pujara would be an ODI success unless he actually plays in ODIs .. Murali Vijay played at a good SR even in tests and I think Murali Vijay would suit in ODIs too if needed in the future .. wont comment on Pujara as I have not seen him bat neither seen his stats in ODIs or T20
Show_stopper Posted December 24, 2009 Posted December 24, 2009 oh please' date=' we know exactly why India got only flat tracks when they toured NZ. Pakistan's first two Test were on lively pitches which had a lot more for the bowlers. [b']Umar played a brilliant knock against WI on a lethal pitch in CT and the inning that he played in 2nd inning of 1st Test match against NZ against fiery Bond and OBrein was nothing less than spectacular. :winky: On the same pitch Kohli faced even better WI attack..one that consisted of Roach and Tongs..whereas when they afced you they had only Tongs..who was portryed as Malcolm Marshall thanks to your batsman. They shopuld never have been in that situation in the first place. thats the difference Umar gets way too much credit for doing what is expected from a normal batsm,an in any other team..but in Pakistan's case it looks like some major achievement thanks to their frail batting unit. Btw kohli got an unbeaten 79 on the same pitch with Roach and Tongs.