You do realise that you can have only so many stories on your headline page,don't you? Tell me, what will sell more? A story where Indians are wronged or a story where Indians are wrong? BTW I, for one, am happy to see how well, you, an Indian immigrant and now Australian citizen(correct me if I am wrong), have integrated so well to the point where you defend Australia over the country of your birth. This is not a barbed comment or a criticism. IMO one should always put their adopted country over their country of birth and this is what 90% of former Indians living abroad don't do.
well put Gambo I also agree with desi that our news channels have become masala channels... but desi it is all about money and what sells more.. commercially it is more profitable to show an Indian suffering in a foreign country because it brings out the Indian sentiment.. but if they highlight an Indian doing wrong it would not make any difference .. anyways tell me one big news channel in the world which is not biased .. news is always relative and is interpreted as per the need of the audience for that news channel/source .. anyways TOI is doing much better than other channels but the thing is that TOI and their channel Times Now have a huge reach and following and so their news goes across the world quickly compared to a Aaj tak or India TV news .. in news media, Times Now and CNN IBN and to some extent NDTV weilds a lot more power than the rest of the channels by a huge margin .. TOI/Times Now has got even access to Obama etc. directly while CNN IBN has got contacts to big dignitaries by virtue of their links with CNN .. all the big people come on these channels including big Indian dignitaries and so the power has automatically grown through these years .. yes they are somewhat biased but a lot better than an Aaj Tak or India TV .. I find ZeeNews and NDTV the best and less masala news amongst all channels though there are a few such news there too

WTF I just searched on the net and it is a year old news. That was way back in March 2009. TOI is creating unnecessary masala about it. And Paul Rajendran is not of Indian birth it seems and is probably a settled Aus citizen. Check this article: http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/news/accused-rapists-model-lie/story-e6freuy9-1111119164692 http://www.smh.com.au/national/it-could-have-been-me-online-sex-trap-20090326-9bcw.html None of the above two links names him as Indian. It seems he is an Australian citizen and I dont think he was ever born in India by his name. Desi :WTF:

Putra! they call it dual citizenship as well and are also thinking about giving voting rights .. which will make me king maker in 2 countries :two_thumbs_up:
Arey bhai the chakkar is that they have been pretty hard on this the Indian Government. You know Prakash Amritraj?? They didn't allow him at first to represent India in davis cup because he had american passport. Currently he is representing as an Indian in Aussie Open, but ITF(Indian tennis federation) has made it quite clear that they won't be surprised if he is not allowed to represent India in future because government is not wanting to allow any overseas person to represent India in anything. hence, i doubt if Voting rights law would be passed
WTF I just searched on the net and it is a year old news. That was way back in March 2009. TOI is creating unnecessary masala about it. And Paul Rajendran is not of Indian birth it seems and is probably a settled Aus citizen. Check this article: http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/news/accused-rapists-model-lie/story-e6freuy9-1111119164692 http://www.smh.com.au/national/it-could-have-been-me-online-sex-trap-20090326-9bcw.html None of the above two links names him as Indian. It seems he is an Australian citizen and I dont think he was ever born in India by his name. Desi :WTF:
lol .. but its from yesterday's TOI. I think some story starved journalist did a google search on India Australia crime ... and copied the article .. unless he was sentenced yesterday :dontknow:
Arey bhai the chakkar is that they have been pretty hard on this the Indian Government. You know Prakash Amritraj?? They didn't allow him at first to represent India in davis cup because he had american passport. Currently he is representing as an Indian in Aussie Open, but ITF(Indian tennis federation) has made it quite clear that they won't be surprised if he is not allowed to represent India in future because government is not wanting to allow any overseas person to represent India in anything. hence, i doubt if Voting rights law would be passed
Ya its weird. I met an Australian who can vote in 3 different countries , I think Aus , US or canada and Switzerland :hehe:
Ya its weird. I met an Australian who can vote in 3 different countries ' date=' I think Aus , US or canada and Switzerland :hehe:[/quote'] Our constitution itself stated that dual citizenship is not allowed in India.. so changing of voting laws or voting etc. is not possible I suppose .. it had been drafted into the constitution when it was written itself after independence
Our constitution itself stated that dual citizenship is not allowed in India.. so changing of voting laws or voting etc. is not possible I suppose .. it had been drafted into the constitution when it was written itself after independence
but Mr Manmohan singh made a statement about it couple of weeks ago :dontknow: edit :http://news.in.msn.com/national/article.aspx?cp-documentid=3528934 NRIs can vote soon: Manmohan Singh New Delhi: NRIs will be able to cast their votes by the time the country holds its next general elections, Prime Minister Manmohan Singh said here Friday.
did not know about the news .. so would the NRI need to come to India just to vote :woot: Waise he also made this statement for all the NRIs :winky:
"In fact, I would go a step further and ask why more overseas Indians should not return home to join politics and public life as they are increasingly doing in business and academia."

i think i have single handedly defiled enough white women and garden variety farm animals to deserve a sexual deviant status, but i know i wont make it to the front pages till some vengeful husband clobbers me with a mace...

Another news which they missed .. actually they didnt miss the news but the details http://www.smh.com.au/national/singh-killing-third-arrest-20100129-n2g3.html from Aus news

A husband and wife, both Indian nationals, were charged yesterday with Mr Singh's alleged murder following their arrest in Sydney's south.
from TOI I think I might have read an article on this news but now I cant even find it on their website ( not just the frontpage) and as far as I remember , it mentioned that 2 people have been arrested. I wonder why they didnt mention that it was 2 Indians. Also, there have been more attacks in Brisbane but they were robberies ( cabbies , pizza delivery guy ),Couple of Indians who got into an argument and were attacked by Asian gang, again something TOI missed PS: Im not saying that there is no issue, there is but these media walas use the news as per their need