Desi Cartman Posted January 19, 2010 Posted January 19, 2010 Indian in Australia accused of raping model MELBOURNE: An Indian has been accused of raping a budding lingerie model in Australia. The accused promised her a break in the industry posing as an employee in a fashion firm, a court was told today. Using the pseudonym "James Carter", the accused, Paul Rajendran used a fake profile on 'MySpace to arrange a meeting with the 23-year-old woman in early March last year, 'Sydney Morning Herald' reported. Prior to the meeting in Sydney's Central Business District, the pair exchanged a string of e-mails with Rajendran falsely claiming that he worked for the lingerie firm 'La Perla.', it said. During their meeting the duo consumed several drinks in the Tank Stream Bar about 7.30pm and discussed the possibility of her modelling for the company, prosecutor Eric Balodis told jurors at beginning of Rajendran's trial in Sydney today. Balodis alleged that shortly afterwards Rajendran took the girl to a office block in Hunter Street and before raping her he laid out 'La Perla' pictures on a desk. "She was sitting on a chair in front of the desk. The accused came over and sat by her and kissed her," Balodis said adding ,"She said 'I didn't come here for that'". "At this stage she was so intoxicated, so drunk and so scared she was crying. Rajendran then knelt between her legs and had sexual intercourse with the woman. He told her afterwards 'I'll make you into a really good model if you don't tell anyone'," Balodis told the court. http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/world/indians-abroad/Indian-in-Australia-accused-of-raping-model/articleshow/5473364.cms Somehow this news wasnt on the front page unlike the story of 6 kids refused entry into a pub ... This is what I hate about Indian media .. masala masala and more masala .. there is a problem in Aus but they milked it way more than they should have .. even tattu news like " Kids refused entry into a pub" was a headlines. They also missed couple of other stories about 2 Indians who are suspects in a murder case ( of an Indian ) were trying to leave the country or about an Indian cabbiw who raped a minor or about a desi who was drunk and killed couple of people and then left the country after getting bail. Some of these got reported but they were never Headlines like " Kids refused entry into the pub " was.
Gambit Posted January 19, 2010 Posted January 19, 2010 You do realise that you can have only so many stories on your headline page,don't you? Tell me, what will sell more? A story where Indians are wronged or a story where Indians are wrong? BTW I, for one, am happy to see how well, you, an Indian immigrant and now Australian citizen(correct me if I am wrong), have integrated so well to the point where you defend Australia over the country of your birth. This is not a barbed comment or a criticism. IMO one should always put their adopted country over their country of birth and this is what 90% of former Indians living abroad don't do.
Desi Cartman Posted January 19, 2010 Author Posted January 19, 2010 You do realise that you can have only so many stories on your headline page' date='don't you? Tell me, what will sell more? A story where Indians are wronged or a story where Indians are wrong?[/quote'] I'm sure the news would have attracted as many hits as "I wasnt allowed in a pub". I think the Indian media has been dishonest & are making the attacks in Aus look far worse than what they have been. Couple of guys were sent to prison for upto 8-10 years for attacking an Indian but again the press missed it, Im sure this news would have attracted as many hits if not more than other news. BTW I, for one, am happy to see how well, you, an Indian immigrant and now Australian citizen(correct me if I am wrong), have integrated so well to the point where you defend Australia over the country of your birth. This is not a barbed comment or a criticism. IMO one should always put their adopted country over their country of birth and this is what 90% of former Indians living abroad don't do. Thanks yes I iz an Aussie with dual citizenship..but I am like this in real life as well. There are things which are right and some things which are wrong. I have never denied that there is racism in Aus but I also know that Indian media is milking it and now it has made tough for us Indians in Aus as people have read in news what Indians have been printing in India. Now aussies want to know why is it that foregin/white women are not safe in India , why are rapes so common in India , why is Indian media not talking about the wrongs in indian society. Anyway I just wanted the ICFers to see the real face of India media PS: i iz still Indian at heart :P
Guest Gunner Posted January 19, 2010 Posted January 19, 2010 Now aussies want to know why is it that foregin/white women are not safe in India ' date= why are rapes so common in India , why is Indian media not talking about the wrongs in indian society. Anyway I just wanted the ICFers to see the real face of India media PS: i iz still Indian at heart :P THIS!! I have been discussing this for a long time now. It is a blot on India what has been happening to western women in the country. And I apologize to my northie bros for pointing this out but 90% if not all rapes against western women have taken place in the north. Its a pity that in a country like ours where women are considered so highly has descended into this kind of violence against them. Daisy, your opinion about the Indian media is absolutely correct. The media sounds feral most of the time and aims to incite the mob rather than deliver any decent news. Mob mentality sadly has become a large part of the Indian ethos these days.
Desi Cartman Posted January 19, 2010 Author Posted January 19, 2010 ^ Yes blame us North Indians :sniffle: On a serious note , you are right .. delhi - UP - Bihar are not safe at all but there have been cases in GOA :woot: & Mumbai as well
Guest Gunner Posted January 19, 2010 Posted January 19, 2010 ^ Yes blame us North Indians :sniffle: On a serious note , you are right .. delhi - UP - Bihar are not safe at all but there have been cases in GOA :woot: & Mumbai as well As per the last major north Vs South debate it has been categorical ruled that Goa is not south. :orderorder:
DomainK Posted January 19, 2010 Posted January 19, 2010 I'm sure the news would have attracted as many hits as "I wasnt allowed in a pub". I think the Indian media has been dishonest & are making the attacks in Aus look far worse than what they have been. Couple of guys were sent to prison for upto 8-10 years for attacking an Indian but again the press missed it, Im sure this news would have attracted as many hits if not more than other news. Thanks yes I iz an Aussie with dual citizenship..but I am like this in real life as well. There are things which are right and some things which are wrong. I have never denied that there is racism in Aus but I also know that Indian media is milking it and now it has made tough for us Indians in Aus as people have read in news what Indians have been printing in India. Now aussies want to know why is it that foregin/white women are not safe in India , why are rapes so common in India , why is Indian media not talking about the wrongs in indian society. Anyway I just wanted the ICFers to see the real face of India media PS: i iz still Indian at heart :P I don't have much doubt about that. Indian media always exaggerates.
Rajiv Posted January 19, 2010 Posted January 19, 2010 What u talking abt, I read it in the front page of TOI Website but then Lingerie Model + Rape Well, 2 didnt mix together well
CricketGirl Posted January 19, 2010 Posted January 19, 2010 What u talking abt' date=' I read it in the front page of TOI Website but then [b']Lingerie Model + Rape Well, 2 didnt mix together well :dito: i have said this before! why get so drunk that u lose control of what you're are doing when you know full well that you are either in unfamiliar surroundings or unfamiliar company!! The other side of this is the way in which media portrays a story they will only publish what they want us to read! simple!
Guest Gunner Posted January 19, 2010 Posted January 19, 2010 :dito: i have said this before! why get so drunk that u lose control of what you're are doing when you know full well that you are either in unfamiliar surroundings or unfamiliar company!! Perfect apologist explanation, blaming the woman for a rape. The common sense advice is good but clearly doesn't justify the incident. If a man would willing to take advantage of someone knowing that they are at their weakest, how do we differ from animals?
Ram Posted January 19, 2010 Posted January 19, 2010 Desi man, I can understand your frustrations over the way the Indian media has blown up the whole thing. But come to think of it, it has managed to achieve what it started out to accomplish - Capture the attention of the world vis-a-vis the attacks on the Indians. If we had just quiet, the Australian would have treated it purely as a law-and-order issue and the attacks would have continued unabated. Now, with all the media attention, its Australia's image at stake. Its no longer just an internal law and order problem, its a matter of Australia's PR image. So, they will be forced to act more vigorously than would have otherwise. Make no mistake, sensationalist media is not a good thing, but sometimes, that is what is exactly needed to set things in motion.
Cricketics Posted January 19, 2010 Posted January 19, 2010 . Thanks yes I iz an Aussie with dual citizenship..but I am like this in real life as well. Can't be possible??? India don't have dual citizenship. You must be talking about PIO or OCI.
coffee_rules Posted January 19, 2010 Posted January 19, 2010 BTW I, for one, am happy to see how well, you, an Indian immigrant and now Australian citizen(correct me if I am wrong), have integrated so well to the point where you defend Australia over the country of your birth. Some Indians are defending Australia despite never adopting that country... Like ARR.
The Outsider Posted January 19, 2010 Posted January 19, 2010 Don't know if anyone remembers the rape of a French woman in the mid 90s, Katiya. One of the accused was the CM Beant Singh's grandson. I happened to meet another of the accused in the case, who described in graphic detail how much phun these guys had. :mad:
CricketGirl Posted January 19, 2010 Posted January 19, 2010 Perfect apologist explanation' date=' blaming the woman for a rape. The common sense advice is good but clearly doesn't justify the incident. If a man would willing to take advantage of someone knowing that they are at their weakest, how do we differ from animals?[/quote'] ur right in what ur saying actually!! that is the other side of the coin on this story (i wrote that in a hurry and didnt get to finish it! :(( the guy is a w*nker for what he did... i dunno i guess i am very cynical about these things!!
Desi Cartman Posted January 19, 2010 Author Posted January 19, 2010 Don't know if anyone remembers the rape of a French woman in the mid 90s' date=' Katiya. One of the accused was the CM Beant Singh's grandson. I happened to meet another of the accused in the case, who described in graphic detail how much phun these guys had. :mad:[/quote'] Thats just sad. Reminds me of a story an uncle told me about Jagdish Tytler's encouragement during the 84 riots with a mic and a speaker and what not, poor uncle still cant forget it. I guess you guys get the idea
Desi Cartman Posted January 19, 2010 Author Posted January 19, 2010 What u talking abt, I read it in the front page of TOI Website but then Lingerie Model + Rape Well, 2 didnt mix together well So did I .... but it was hidden somewhere under the world news unlike the Top most headlines. Desi man, I can understand your frustrations over the way the Indian media has blown up the whole thing. But come to think of it, it has managed to achieve what it started out to accomplish - Capture the attention of the world vis-a-vis the attacks on the Indians. If we had just quiet, the Australian would have treated it purely as a law-and-order issue and the attacks would have continued unabated. Now, with all the media attention, its Australia's image at stake. Its no longer just an internal law and order problem, its a matter of Australia's PR image. So, they will be forced to act more vigorously than would have otherwise. Make no mistake, sensationalist media is not a good thing, but sometimes, that is what is exactly needed to set things in motion. To an extent yes but its not that Police wouldnt have done anything and are only working because some random neta in India said something. I think you would agree 100% that in most developed countries cops cant solve crime in 24 hrs, they need evidence because if they arrest a suspect without much evidence then the case wont last 2 mins court, they cant beat up the suspect to sign the confession. Sometimes they dont disclose if they have any leads too. From what I have seen , most cases like this get resolved but it can take a day or a week or sometimes a month or even longer. Can't be possible??? India don't have dual citizenship. You must be talking about PIO or OCI. Putra! they call it dual citizenship as well and are also thinking about giving voting rights .. which will make me king maker in 2 countries :two_thumbs_up: