Aug. 1: In a major shock to the Commonwealth Games organising committee, a portion of the roof covering the weightlifting auditorium, part of the newly-remodelled Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium complex, came crashing down on Sunday even as top Games officials were briefing the media about its inauguration. Hours after the auditorium’s inauguration, red-faced CWG officials were forced to hand it back to the Central Public Works Department for repairs. Strangely, though, the Union sports minister, Mr M.S. Gill, who was present at the inaugural function, insisted that the leaking of the roof and its collapse was “normal†and there was “nothing to worry aboutâ€. “It happened due to the continuous rains,†he said. Delhi government and CWG officials said the roof of the weightlifting auditorium started leaking after Saturday’s showers, which had led to water accumulating inside it. The Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium is the main venue for the Games, and the venue for both the opening and closing ceremonies. The roof, on which Rs 90 crore was spent, will now take a week more to be repaired, Games officials confirmed.
http://www.deccanchronicle.com/hyderabad/62-days-cwg-new-stadium-roof-collapses-923 These games are going to be a major embarrassment for India with the entire world (commonwealth nations anyway) watching

No problem. Kalmadi is already on the case. Suresh Kalmadi, who heads the IOA and the Delhi 2010 organizing committee, wrote to the sports ministry asking the Weather Gods,Indra, Rudra and Vayu to postpone the rains, winds and storms. "I need not stress the importance of not having any rain in India during the Commonwealth Games," Kalmadi wrote to Sports Minister Manohar Singh Gill. "Our preparations to ensure that we host a successful Games are on home stretch without the roof falling on our heads and we are confident of delivering the best Games ever ... in Delhi ... in 2010. I write to seek your good offices to try and convince the Rain Gods to reschedule the rain."

rofl :hail:

how can they be so corrupt? no one loves their country or what? not mixing the concrete to right standards, not using the best product even though billing for it, money exchanging hands going to personal accounts n then abroad via hawala, contractors double charging for a project and not professionally completing the project, no efforts to complete within the deadline...everyone trying to get rich from this.......how will this country ever prosper with so many people aiming for personal gain... I saw this with my own eye.... people throwing trash on the street but making sure their front door is clean....outside drainage leaking into the street....who cares....as long as their own septic line is ok. This kinda chalta hai attitude makes me think all those people who gave their lives, sacrificed personal success for their country.....complete waste

Isn't the roof supposed to keep the water out , isnt that the whole ****ing purpose ? I find it lame when ministers say that roads are fecked cuz it rained , trains are late cuz it rained. It rains everywhere in the world and ceilings dont collapse , the roads dont have 1 feet deep holes :mad:

the problem is they rake in the money and still do a half arsed job. we know corruption is a part of life in India... but at least they could do a proper job.

and then everyone in the country say mera bharat mahan Seriously need a reality check and learn from China who has very much similar problem of poverty but they know how to stage to foreign people.
:hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical:

It’s really shocking enough and if it happens during an ongoing match definitely the results would be devastating. It proved to be an embarrassing incident for India as the opening ceremony of the upcoming common wealth game would be orchestra in the said stadium.