Harbhajan should have been punished - Symonds

Rajiv

Guest Gunner
No, there's a difference. Your personal belief is that Harby said it but on the other hand you also dont doubt SRT's word. Hence the contradiction. :winky:
Actually what I am saying is slightly more complex, I am implying that if harby did say it he was aware that it is racist considering what had happened in India earlier that year. The idea that if harby said it, he did so innocently doesn't fly with me.
Actually what I am saying is slightly more complex' date=' I am implying that if harby did say it he was aware that it is racist considering what had happened in India earlier that year. The idea that if harby said it, he did so innocently doesn't fly with me.[/quote'] Nope I think the above is a different topic, you were clearly saying that Harbhajan did it and that you dont doubt Sachin's words: Here are your own words:
I believe he did and you don't.
The ICC made a fool out of the Australian team and Harbhajan despite his racist remark got away. Harbhajan almost certainly called Symonds a "monkey" and should have been duly punished.
I don't doubt SRT's word. I cannot consider my personal belief as evidence.
There's clearly a contradiction there :--D
Guest Gunner
Harby said Maaki' date=' Symo thot Monkey...simple as that, this is my guess. I wasn't standing next to them when this happened, maybe Gunner was :hmmm:[/quote'] Arre bhai log, I don't want any controversy. I withdraw any comment about Harby. If you want I will go ahead and delete my posts. :cantstop:
Actually something is being done about it. It is illegal to discriminate against a person based on race in most western countries and there is ICC code of conduct to handle it as well.
Yes there are things being done... but will it stop people being discriminated against because of their skin color or physical appearance? No BTW... what is with the word race... no one needs to know which race you belong to to be racist... imo any discrimination based on skin color & physical appearance is racism.
He did say it' date=' but I think the Aussies blew the whole thing out of proportion. [b']Once you start sledging, there can be no rules imo
Yoda, Gunner The bolded part is the indication of an average Indian's awareness towards racism, this includes Bhajji.

Symmonds is such a loser. Okay for once, we believe Harbhajan did abused him and got away with it. Symmonds is now a millionaire due to the same cricket board he is accusing for his downfall. He plays 3 months a year and get paid millions from IPL. He should be thankful to BBCI for not banning him from IPL.

This case was a total cultural misunderstanding, coz the delivery wasn't meant to be the racist but the acceptance saw nothing else I guess we will find out in Harbajans Memoirs when he is like 80, if he said "Maaki or Monkey", and who knows Symonds might fly down to his house in Punjab where bhaaji might be sipping whisky and could say "aaja bandar, tera hi intezaar tha"

Yoda, Gunner The bolded part is the indication of an average Indian's awareness towards racism, this includes Bhajji.
Yes, we will cry only when we are hurt, that is typical for most people.

Everyone talks about what bhajji said, why not think what were the aus players saying to him or about his family... Aus players are known for that... If you keep on dishing it out to someone then there is definately going to be some reaction. After that you dont have any right to cry that his slap was harder than mine, if Bhajji can slap harder so be it. PS: I am not supporting racism but its difficult for an indian to listen MC/BC etc and not react... I dont believe he racially abused symmo or he had the intentions to do so. Just something blown out of proportion.

Yes' date=' we will cry only when we are hurt, that is typical for most people.[/quote'] So, all the onus of cultural understanding and sensitivities lies on Indians? Call someone a 'bandar' in India and he will laugh at your face, call him MC/BC (not amongst friends) and you'll end up in a brawl. But, yeah, Indians should be sensitive to Aussie values and culture while they keep abusing their mothers. Sounds perfect!