See ya Mates

Rajiv

Re: See ya Mates Just hearing it on TV right now. Martyn retired from all forms of cricket :lol: Always liked his cricket, very graceful and one of the best timer of the cricket ball. I guess he must have been offered a TV commentator's job on Channel 9??? Also did the Pawar pushing has anything to do with this and he hasn't liked the way he was treated by the ACB after that incident?

Re: See ya Mates

Just hearing it on TV right now. Martyn retired from all forms of cricket :lol: Always liked his cricket, very graceful and one of the best timer of the cricket ball. I guess he must have been offered a TV commentator's job on Channel 9??? Also did the Pawar pushing has anything to do with this and he hasn't liked the way he was treated by the ACB after that incident?
Ravi, i feel he could sense the end was near with puppy getting a 100 and ponting's increased liking for the hulky watson :wtg:

Re: See ya Mates he didnt take as much responsibilities as a senior player should have.... like AB had marsh and boonie... without martyn and junior waugh long gone, Australia has the most ugliest batters in world cricket today...

Re: See ya Mates i think DM is the VVS of the Oz team. under-achiever but did amazing things with the bat. i still remember how he tamed krumbler and harby and murali in their backyards. that takes a lot. thanks marto for all the wonderful memories!! take it easy, R

Re: See ya Mates Yup you are right there Shailesh, Martyn was also dropped out of the squad for nearly 2 years (???) for throwing away his wicket against South Africa in 1995 I think. He was always a stroke maker and at times a bit dumb stroke maker too you could say. There was an air of elegance or laziness in his batting depending on how one would perceive ala Junior.

Re: See ya Mates ^^ too bad i "was." ab to bas daane daane ke mohtaaj hai is gandu bides mein yaar. thanks for the fillip, tho. take it easy, R

Guest BossBhai

Re: See ya Mates -- Removed on request of the user --

Re: See ya Mates Damient Martyn is class. One of my favorite Australians. Has an amazin array of shots, he kind of reminds me of Laxman in many ways, including his style his drives and his position always under doubt.

Re: See ya Mates A very classy player. Ian Chappell was spot on when he said Martyn was "easy on the eye", because i can't think of many batsmen who made batting look so simple. I would even go as far as to say that he was the best player of spin bowling ever produced by Australia. He played an absolutely vital role in Australia's long overdue conquest of the subcontinent - scoring hundreds against Muralitharan, Harbhajan and Kumble. Some of his more illustrious team mates (ie; Ponting) never managed to have that kind of success...and this is why i will always rate him very highly. He was a batsman for all conditions. Good luck Marto :wtg:

I hope Laxman announces his retirement before the first test
why?? yr leap of logic astounds me. DM is 36-almost, FYI and has a clarke replacing him. who replaces VVS? take it easy, R

I hope Laxman announces his retirement before the first test
why?? yr leap of logic astounds me. DM is 36-almost, FYI and has a clarke replacing him. who replaces VVS? take it easy, R
I reckon that was a "tongue in cheek" comment...dil pe mat le.

Re: See ya Mates Batted with class, grace and a sense of impeccable timing throughout his career. Retired in exactly the same manner. Chance for sheer glory in the next test on his home ground with the prospect of winning the Ashes, yet he had the guts, honesty and dignity to bow out right before that. My respect for him's gone through the roof after this. Few'll be able to replace him. The likes of Cosgrove and Jaques may very well belt more runs, but no batsman's going to replicate what he did in the middle order under the sort of pressure he fought, and with the silken elegance that he responded to it with. The cricketing world'll miss him. Australia'll miss him even more, especially when they next head by the subcontinent. Farewell Marto. 67688.jpg