Dhoni: UDRS should not be used unless it guarantees 100% accuracy

Sachinism

they r the ones seeing the replays' date='isnt it?so they r part of the decision -making for sure.[/quote'] No they are not. They are merely passing the message to the umpire in the middle. All the 3rd umpire is doing is saying, Dude you have done a Bucknor, change your decision, or I don't know dude, whatever you say is right. I guess the next thing you will say is given AB's decision yesterday we should no longer use 3rd umpires for run out.

That 3rd umpire ****up is much rarer, unlike 2-3 chewtiya on field decisions per match. And obviously the possibility of another SCG (10-12 decisions going against one team) is totally ruled out.

No they are not. They are merely passing the message to the umpire in the middle. All the 3rd umpire is doing is saying' date=' Dude you have done a Bucknor, change your decision, or I don't know dude, whatever you say is right. [b']I guess the next thing you will say is given AB's decision yesterday we should no longer use 3rd umpires for run out.
:cantstop: Exactly.
No they are not. They are merely passing the message to the umpire in the middle. All the 3rd umpire is doing is saying' date=' Dude you have done a Bucknor, change your decision, or I don't know dude, whatever you say is right. I guess the next thing you will say is given AB's decision yesterday we should no longer use 3rd umpires for run out.[/quote'] not like that,but merely pointing out that wrong decisions can be made with technology too. yes hes saying that to umpire,but the umpire is under no obligation to pay heed.if hes biased,he'll stick to his decision.the problem with Bucknor was bias,not incompetency.he did pretty well in other games
Guest BossBhai

-- Removed on request of the user --

i dont know if Dhoni knows this but the cricket viewers are the ones who should have the say and they are overwhelming for the UDRS.all we want is a fair game where the umpire is not the star of the game.this stupidity makes my blood boil sometimes.I think we should start a campaign to change the mind of these idiots.

I cant understand what he means by 100% guarantee,one bad experience in SL with UDRS,has made seniors (except viru) so negative about UDRS and what is with Dhoni,he hasnt played a series with UDRS in use and still making these statements

I cant understand what he means by 100% guarantee' date='one bad experience in SL with UDRS,has made seniors (except viru) so negative about UDRS and what is with Dhoni,he hasnt played a series with UDRS in use and still making these statements[/quote'] Rather than taking it in their stride as a lapse of judgement on our part, our cricketers believe that it is easier to alienate ourselves from the world to defend our incompetence in using the system to our benefit. I hate this attitude. Its like saying, "Hey, so what if I got out? Its my bat. Let me play again or I'm going home".
tht was time when the chucker(read murli) was still playing. He wud have had a test average of 10-15 with udrs. Now it is pretty safe to go for the udrs. No more chuckers around.
Bhajji,Ajmal they r all there
Rather than taking it in their stride as a lapse of judgement on our part, our cricketers believe that it is easier to alienate ourselves from the world to defend our incompetence in using the system to our benefit. I hate this attitude. Its like saying, "Hey, so what if I got out? Its my bat. Let me play again or I'm going home".
But my point is how Dhoni is coming out with the "how successful " this referal system,this man has no experience of using it and still speaking as if he has been a victim of UDRS and on our seniors,there were obviously lots of wrong judjements made on that tour of Sl in 2008 by Kumble and our batsmen,they were using the UDRS more in desperation other than anything else
But my point is how Dhoni is coming out with the "how successful " this referal system' date='this man has no experience of using it and still speaking as if he has been a victim of UDRS and on our seniors,there were obviously lots of wrong judjements made on that tour of Sl in 2008 by Kumble and our batsmen,they were using the UDRS more in desperation other than anything else[/quote'] We didn't know how to use it. We got pwned. It was our fault. I would've liked Dhoni to say- "We'd like to give this system a try in the series and we'll take a call after using it".
We didn't know how to use it. We got pwned. It was our fault. I would've liked Dhoni to say- "We'd like to give this system a try in the series and we'll take a call after using it".
Not only did we not know how to use it, but the system also had huge faults and it was not implemented properly. Lessons have been learnt from those trials and there is an improved system implemented now, but our Maharathis are still stuck in a time warp and I dont believe they are willing to understand the improvements that have been made and how different this UDRS system is from the one in SL.

The solution to this issue is very simple. Any side that wants to play with UDRS should be allowed to use UDRS. India don't want this, fair enough they dont use the UDRS, but if our opponents wants to use it and have the confidence in it, let them use it as long as they are comfortable with the technology. Our kaptaan thinks UDRS is waste, let us be prepared to get shafted every now and then, but stopping other teams from using the technology is completely unfair.

Guest BossBhai

-- Removed on request of the user --

Instead of spending so much money on a system that cannot guarantee results, Dhoni felt the umpires needed to perform better instead. "There are two gentlemen standing on the ground as umpires. They are professionals and paid to do their job. They have got support from the TV umpire. So it is surprising to see them making some of the mistakes. They have to step up and perform."
:wall: You are being offered an excellent solution to the problem but you reject it and then keep banging on about the umpires needing to improve. Kya log hai yeh, yaar :headshake: