Texy Posted November 16, 2010 Posted November 16, 2010 Shrien and Anni Dewani, who had been married for two weeks, were kidnapped at gunpoint near Cape Town on Saturday. Mr Dewani was later released unharmed. His wife's body was found the next day.At the couple's home in Westbury-on-Trym in Bristol, members of his family said they were shocked and still "trying to take it all in". Western Cape police spokesman Lt Col Andre Traut said the couple's taxi had been hijacked in Gugulethu - a township 15km (9 miles) from Cape Town - by two armed men at 2300 local time. "The driver was forced out of the vehicle then the two armed suspects took off with the vehicle with the couple inside," he said. Mr Dewani, 31, was dropped off at midnight in Harare, an area of the township of Khayelitsha. He flagged down a passing motorist who took him to a police station where he raised the alarm. A search was conducted and Mrs Dewani, 28, was found dead on the back seat of the car in Lingelethu West, with injuries to her head and chest. Mr Traut said a post-mortem examination would be conducted to determine the exact cause of death. Albert Fritz, the Western Cape's Minister for Community Safety, appealed for people to come forward with information. He said: "This could have happened to any of our loved ones and it is important that communities become involved in doing the right thing." A spokesman for the African National Congress, South Africa's ruling party, said the incident was "lamented by all ANC and right-thinking South Africans", while the National Commissioner of the South African Police Service, General Bheki Cele, said he was appalled "the actions of one or two thugs should bring our entire country into disrepute in the eyes of the world". A Foreign Office spokesman said: "We are aware of the situation and are providing consular assistance to a British national who is involved, and their family." Jonah Fisher said carjackings were not uncommon in townships, particularly in areas without good lighting. He added that South African police said they were at a "critical stage" in their investigation and that there were reports blood and fingerprints had been found at the scene. "Both in Johannesburg and Cape Town there are places that it is not advised people go to particularly in evenings unless you are going with someone who knows what they are doing and whether you should be there or not," he said. "There is a high level of crime here in South Africa but there isn't a long track record of tourists and visitors being targeted. "It seems the Dewani's took what turned out to be a pretty bad mistake into going into Gugulethu but they were also quite unlucky in terms of not many tourists getting caught up in crime in South Africa." Mr Dewani is reported to own PSP Healthcare, which operates eight nursing homes in the South West of England. Prayers are being said at the Hindu temple in Bristol for Mrs Dewani's family. NO wonder Africa is such a sh!thole....also known as God's dumping land...
Guest Hiten. Posted November 16, 2010 Posted November 16, 2010 Why are you so ignorant dude ? Crimes happen almost everywhere, and especially in the country you reside in.
Guest Hiten. Posted November 16, 2010 Posted November 16, 2010 Instead of condemning this murder' date=' you are calling Tex ignorant :headshake:[/quote'] How is my condemning the murder gonna change anything that's happened ? However, tex is here and I wanted to let my feelings known. Kapish ? P.S: If you think OP is actually condemning the murder then read again. He's unsurprised by the fact it happened in Africa :headshake:
Guest Hiten. Posted November 16, 2010 Posted November 16, 2010 Definitely not gonna change' date=' but I feel guys like you have the attitude of 'chalta hai, kya kar sakte hai'.... too passive. it's the gandhiism I guess.[/quote'] Right. I should just start abusing everything and anything that is around me to show that I care.
Sir john Posted November 16, 2010 Posted November 16, 2010 RIP to Dewani. i also feel that Africa is unsafe.
Desi Cartman Posted November 16, 2010 Posted November 16, 2010 NO wonder Africa is such a sh!thole....also known as God's dumping land... so nice of you
DomainK Posted November 16, 2010 Posted November 16, 2010 RIP. But I fully agree with Blue_Brigade. Crime happens everywhere. India is not exactly a crime-less country. There is no need to separate Indian victims and abuse the host country.
ViruRulez Posted November 16, 2010 Posted November 16, 2010 RIP But I also agree with B_B . Crime happens everywhere and India is no better than SA in terms of crime. South Africa is also a developing country like India and is one of the most fitting countries amongst the developing countries to be compared with India. Tex your comment on the last line is surely not desirable and if somebody said like that about our country than we would never like it too. Crime even happens in the West including US and drug abuse, murders, rapes etc. are in abundance in the US too. There is not a single country in this world which is not a sh!thole. The only difference between developing and developed countries is that the legal and justice system in developed countries is better than the developing countries and hence the criminals do not roam around as freely as in countries like India or SA. This is true especially for democracies and might differ a bit for communist nations.
Guest Gunner Posted November 16, 2010 Posted November 16, 2010 It's not that he literally meant that' date=' he seems quiet upset by what happened[/quote'] He is more upset that if he faps to a dead woman he would be branded a necro. You have no idea about Texi. :haha::haha:
urbestfriend Posted November 16, 2010 Posted November 16, 2010 RIP But I also agree with B_B . Crime happens everywhere and India is no better than SA in terms of crime. South Africa is also a developing country like India and is one of the most fitting countries amongst the developing countries to be compared with India. Tex your comment on the last line is surely not desirable and if somebody said like that about our country than we would never like it too. Crime even happens in the West including US and drug abuse, murders, rapes etc. are in abundance in the US too. There is not a single country in this world which is not a sh!thole. The only difference between developing and developed countries is that the legal and justice system in developed countries is better than the developing countries and hence the criminals do not roam around as freely as in countries like India or SA. This is true especially for democracies and might differ a bit for communist nations. This :two_thumbs_up:
Nova Posted November 16, 2010 Posted November 16, 2010 NO wonder Africa is such a sh!thole....also known as God's dumping land... India is a sh!thole...it is world's dumping land. No seriously, people sh!t on the roads and the world's plastic waste gets dumped in India too. :icflove:
achilles Posted November 16, 2010 Posted November 16, 2010 This is a very sad news. My condolences to the family, especially to the husband and parents.
Sir john Posted November 16, 2010 Posted November 16, 2010 India is a sh!thole...it is world's dumping land. No seriously, people sh!t on the roads and the world's plastic waste gets dumped in India too. :icflove: kya bhai kucch jayda hi bool diya.:((
Mamu Posted November 16, 2010 Posted November 16, 2010 India is a sh!thole...it is world's dumping land. No seriously, people sh!t on the roads and the world's plastic waste gets dumped in India too. :icflove: Advantages of sh!tting road side or more specifically on land and not use toilets 1) Sh!t is eco-friendly. You can dump how much ever you want -- it will easily integrate with the soil. 2) If I am not mistaken it makes the soil more fertile to grow crops 3) No need to spend money on buildng toilets/flush/bidets etc. Lots of money saved. Go Green ! :--D
Nova Posted November 16, 2010 Posted November 16, 2010 kya bhai kucch jayda hi bool diya.:(( Pyaar se bola hai..bhir bhi kadva lagta hai. :D
Sir john Posted November 16, 2010 Posted November 16, 2010 Pyaar se bola hai..bhir bhi kadva lagta hai. :D yeeh pyar hota hai kya:hmmmm: