Barkha Dutt audio tapes brokering a deal b/w Cong and DMK!

First listen to the audio tape : http://openthemagazine.box.net/embed/eignlbavp9ulvy2.swf which has Barkha Dutt conversing with Nira Radia (a lobbyist) who lobbied for A. Raja as telecom minister in 2009. Nira Radia is a key figure in the telecom scam, and is being investigated by the Enforcement Directorate http://www.dnaindia.com/india/report_nira-radia-gets-fresh-enforcement-directorate-notices_1467274 . These tapes were made by the IT department in 2009 when it was investigating Nira Radia for the telecom scandal. The audio tapes b/w Barkha Dutt and Radia along with the transcripts are here: http://www.openthemagazine.com/article/nation/tell-me-what-should-i-tell-them Can someone tell me how trustworthy NDTV is with a broker like Barkha Dutt masquerading as a senior journalist?!

NDTV on defamatory remarks against Barkha Dutt In response to the Open Magazine cover story dated 20th November, 2010 NDTV would like to object in the strongest terms to the clear misrepresentation of conversations between Barkha Dutt and Ms. Nira Radia, that took place in May 2009. In the pursuit of news and information, journalists talk to an array of people from all professional backgrounds; this case being an an unfolding political story on cabinet formation, after the general elections. To caricature the professional sourcing of information as "lobbying" is not just baseless, but preposterous. At every stage effective journalism involves engagement with a multitude of characters in the process of gathering news and information. To call this proces "lobbying" is a serious and defamatory distortion of journalistic practices. Ironically, when Barkha Dutt raised this smear campaign with the magazine's editor, Manu Joseph, these are the responses she got. 1. "Dear Barkha; thats not true. I can send a copy of the magazine to you right away or you can check the story on the website. We have carried the Radia transcripts which include some of your conversations with her. In fact there is not much remarkable and you will not be embarrassed by it. There is one bit in the strap where the word "go-between" is used which I dont like myself. I would love to carry your response in the next issue if you would like to send one. My email id is manu@openmedianetwork.in." Once again,when she asked the magazine's Editor why the basic tenets of journalism had not been followed in seeking my response before publishing these accusations, this is the reply I received. 2. "Dear Barkha, In the attachment is the cover story (divided into introduction and the transcripts). We knew we were going ahead with the story only on Monday as Prashant Bhushan had submitted a petition in the Supreme Court on Monday attaching the same recordings that we had. We had to make a decision and we did. I wanted to get your response, but there was a possibility that if the word of the story got out (and, you know very well, it is not an exclusive) some people might do their best to ensure that we didn't carry it. If you would like to respond to the story at any length, please let me know (by Tuesday). Warm regards" The fact that the very editor of the magazine that has published this story accepts the distortion in the story's caption and goes on to say that there is nothing "remarkable" in the content speaks for itself. NDTV believes the magazine should first verify and corroborate facts before participating in a defamatory smear campaign. These are unsubstantiated, baseless and defamatory allegations and we reserve the right to take appropriate action. Narayan Rao Group CEO, and Executive Director, NDTV Link courtesy - @bdutt :)

:finger: NDTV .. the transcripts and the audio are clear as daylight - Barkha Dutt is brokering a deal for berths in the union cabinet ... what is her credibility now?

hope its true :pray:

Now the real face of so called elite journalists are coming out :mad: Shocking to know that these journalists sold themselves. Unfortunately it seems all major English media outlets have been bought out by government. If this is remotely true, this is worst news for the Indian democracy.

Several months ago, stories began appearing in a section of the media suggesting that I – along with other journalists – had lobbied on behalf of A. Raja. As I have never met Mr Raja and have attacked his corruption in both print and TV, these assertions struck me as bizarre. The stories were based on tape-recorded conversations that Niira Radia had with innumerable individuals, including several journalists. A magazine has now published what purports to be transcripts of those conversations though it says “We are in no position to endorse the contents of the recordings” which presumably means that it is not guaranteeing their authenticity. While nobody can remember verbatim every conversation that took place 19 months ago, these transcripts do not appear to be entirely accurate. Moreover, there is nothing at all in the transcripts to suggest that I lobbied for Mr Raja. The conversations recorded relate to the phase when there was an impasse between the DMK and the Congress. Ms Radia called several journalists, including me, to ask us to convey a message to any Congress leaders we met in the course of our work. This message was, essentially, that the Congress was communicating with the wrong people in the DMK. While gathering news, journalists talk to a wide variety of sources from all walks of life, especially when a fast-moving story is unfolding. Out of a desire to elicit more information from these sources, we are generally polite. I received many calls from different sources during that period. In no case did I act on those requests as anybody in the government will know. The second conversation relates to the dispute between the Ambani brothers. I had asked Ms Radia to explain the position of her client, Mukesh Ambani. And I also asked Anil Ambani’s side for its views. This was recorded in the piece. I wrote: “My friend, Tony Jesudasan, who represents Anil, took me out to lunch and made out a case for Anil. I was totally convinced till my friend, Niira Radia, who represents Mukesh, gave me the other side which frankly seemed just as convincing to my inexpert ears”. I also wrote, “Why do the Ambanis think that all of us should take sides in their battle? Or that we should care what happens to them?” That still remains my view.
Vir sanghvi's response to the transcripts. http://www.virsanghvi.com/CounterPoint-ArticleDetail.aspx?ID=576 You bastard...Dont we understand you bloody is sold out when you're ****in bargaining with middlemen for stories...! You piece of sh!t ...
Radia: So, I believe Maran has given about 600 crores to Dayalu, Stalin’s mother.
:omg: rate for minister's post is 600 crores..No wonder we'll have 2G,CWC scams...It makes me wonder whether liberalization worked for India? On the contrary top businesses are controlling bureaucrats and politicians to get the favor doled out to them...! Its same license raj, but in a different form :mad:

Have people gone through the tapes ... it seems like the whole of India is on sale to the highest bidder. Ambanis, Tata, Mittal all are involved .. everyone is corrupt to the core. GOD SAVE THIS COUNTRY!!

This is unbelievable. Lakhs of Indians turn to NDTV for news, expecting fair, balanced perspectives and Barkha, the lady who won a billion hearts by covering Operation Vijay from Kargil, does this? Wow. What has the world come to.

Links are available in youtube too. As far as Barkha, She has always been shamelessly biased but didn't knew the she'd sold herself to congress. No wonder journalists like Barkha and Rajdeep get Padmabhushan, Padmasri from the government.

@Seedhi, UBF... Dude, these guys who did the expose are so screwed. We can only imagine the ordeal they are going to go through for exposing big people like these, while their bosses will broker deals and save themselves.