Rajiv Posted February 4, 2011 Posted February 4, 2011 You must have read - http://www.wired.com/epicenter/2011/02/internet-addresses/ I found out today, some "scientist" pinged all IP's ( 4+ Billion ) and only 7% replied? ( Considering many were not set to reply ) thats a large # What a waste, now what? subnet technique, coz they ain't going IPv6
urbestfriend Posted February 4, 2011 Posted February 4, 2011 Sooner than Later most ISP's and web services have to shift to IPV6, thats the only longterm and sustainable solution to this problem. Almost all OS's already support dual stack ( both IPv4 ND IPV6), almost all latest network devices also support IPV6. Of course, transition isn't going to be easy with all the additional costs to be born by the companies but there is no easy way out.
vaibhav_delhi Posted February 4, 2011 Posted February 4, 2011 You must have read - http://www.wired.com/epicenter/2011/02/internet-addresses/ I found out today, some "scientist" pinged all IP's ( 4+ Billion ) and only 7% replied? ( Considering many were not set to reply ) thats a large # What a waste, now what? subnet technique, coz they ain't going IPv6 IPv6 is the future. Major corps like Microsoft, Cisco, Apple etc have invested a LOT on ipv6. Most new routers, DNS servers, OSes (Microsoft windows 7, vista, XPsp2 etc) are dual stack capable i.e they can handle both ipv4 and ipv6. migration technologies like 6to4, teredo, isatap etc have already been developed which facilitate communication between an ipv4 and an ipv6 network. These migration technologies will serve the transtional purposes for the internet to move from completely ipv4 to partly ipv4 , partly ipv6 and finally to completely ipv6 over next 50years.
DomainK Posted February 4, 2011 Posted February 4, 2011 We are a desperate lot. We always find an alternative before running out of something as important as internet.
coffee_rules Posted February 4, 2011 Posted February 4, 2011 intranet, subnets..IPv4 can still be salvaged for another 25 years of growth.
varun Posted February 4, 2011 Posted February 4, 2011 I found out today' date=' some "scientist" pinged all IP's ( 4+ Billion ) and only 7% replied? [/quote'] lol.. scientist ko quotes mein daalke mazaak nahi udane ka.. Meri institute mein kaam karta hai yeh "scientist" http://www.isi.edu/ant/address/