shrapnel Posted March 1, 2011 Posted March 1, 2011 I think BCCI should take any action against big grounds :hysterical::hysterical::hysterical: Too good ! He's right... smaller grounds mean our buddas will need to huff and puff less !:hysterical::hysterical::hysterical: Maybe India should consider playing rest of their matches here in Delhi's Feroze Shah Kotla ground, as it is quite a small ground !
shrapnel Posted March 1, 2011 Posted March 1, 2011 Lets accept the Fact that Indian Fielding can not be better than it was on Eng's match but I think the BIG blame goes to Dhoni's Field placing ...WHAT ON EARTH WAS HE ALLOWING STRAUSS AND BELL TO SCORE AS EASY AS IT LOOKED ??? Suddenly thanks to Power play the field got closer and tight making English Batsmen take risk !! ...then like someone said he again allowed them to spread ? THINK THOSE 3-4 sixes in last 3 overs would have gone either ways but they would have certainly stopped singles and even got remaining wickets if field placing was tighter !!! +1. Bang on !
ganeshran Posted March 1, 2011 Posted March 1, 2011 Nobody expects them to make Jonty Rhodes dive and pull off blinders. Did anyone complain. All we ask is stop the balls that come straight to you cleanly and throw it back. All we ask is run as fast as you could to get to the ball. The expectation we have is pretty low. They don't even meet that expectation. :dito: If I was Sharad Pawar, all their appraisals would surely be rated "Needs Improvement". Except God of course, no one does his appraisal.
vvvslaxman Posted March 1, 2011 Posted March 1, 2011 Tendulkar is 37. He is fielding on the fence after batting for 30 odd overs. This guy is fitter than most of the youngsters. He runs faster than them. Ya he had a bit of bad day. Happens. But Munna bhai runs much slower than him. How is that Sachin is fitter than this guy. Because he bloody works harder.
pinkfreud Posted March 1, 2011 Posted March 1, 2011 Tendulkar is 37. He is fielding on the fence after batting for 30 odd overs. This guy is fitter than most of the youngsters. He runs faster than them. Ya he had a bit of bad day. Happens. But Munna bhai runs much slower than him. How is that Sachin is fitter than this guy. Because he bloody works harder. Sachin is also blazing fast when he takes singles. He is always so ready to take that one or two runs when it can be done, unlike our lazy farts who hate running. Look at the way he made Sehwag and Yuvraj look like lumbering tortoises in the previous matches when he was running between the wickets :cantstop:
vvvslaxman Posted March 1, 2011 Posted March 1, 2011 I wish India had picked Kaif just for his fielding . Wish ICC allowed some 17 players in the squad.
shrapnel Posted March 1, 2011 Posted March 1, 2011 Folks we have to live with the current fielding levels. Tendulkar is 37, Sehwag is injured and lazy, Yuvraj is a shadow of his former self, Munaf Patel will always be a cr@p fielder, Zaheer has slight groin strain and was never a good fielder to begin with, Harbhajan is a mediocre fielder at best, Yusuf Pathan again is nothing special. This only leaves just 3 decent fielders in the team once Nehra replaces Chawla - Gambhir, Kohli (who had an off day yesterday) and Dhoni. Either we have a strong batting lineup or a decent fielding side who can't score much - we can't have it both days. I think we have to live with the reality that we will e an average fielding side at best and hope that at least we take our catches. Hmmm.... at least someone says it like it is... a true realist, unlike the blind patriots around here. Glad someone other than me has realized that Sehwag is basically a lazy, indisciplined, selfish player who would have found no place in any other good international team, no matter how prodigious his talent as a batsman !
bihutoli Posted March 1, 2011 Posted March 1, 2011 If you throw yourself on the ball you are bound to stop more runs than just ambling away to the boundary ropes to pick the ball and throw it back underarm to the wicketkeeper. I think somehow the ambience within the Indian team does not really value fielding as a skill, in contrast to an IPL team for example. There is no urgency while India fields. This is a worrying trend where an exceptionally strong batting is actually proving detrimental to highlighting weaknesses in other areas of our game.
vvvslaxman Posted March 1, 2011 Posted March 1, 2011 If you throw yourself on the ball you are bound to stop more runs than just ambling away to the boundary ropes to pick the ball and throw it back underarm to the wicketkeeper. I think somehow the ambience within the Indian team does not really value fielding as a skill, in contrast to an IPL team for example. There is no urgency while India fields. This is a worrying trend where an exceptionally strong batting is actually proving detrimental to highlighting weaknesses in other areas of our game. I don't accept poor fielding even at club level. Have you seen club matches where captains would have a full go for missing even half chances. This is bloody international cricket at the highest level. You cannot say "This is what we have take it or leave it". Azharuddin was never a good fielder when he started his career. He became a good fielder by working hard at it. I will not buy the theory "Fielding cannot be improved".
pinkfreud Posted March 1, 2011 Posted March 1, 2011 After the match, there was a post match interview with Sourav Ganguly on Headlines Today and even he had pulled up Dhoni for making that statement.
shrapnel Posted March 1, 2011 Posted March 1, 2011 After the match' date=' there was a post match interview with Sourav Ganguly on Headlines Today and even he had pulled up Dhoni for making that statement.[/quote'] What did you expect ? Remember Dhoni is from the place in India where the "chalta hai " attitude originally started !
pinkfreud Posted March 1, 2011 Posted March 1, 2011 What did you expect ? ? Remember Dhoni is from the place in India where the "chalta hai " attitude originally started ! And that place would be..?
Zero_Unit Posted March 1, 2011 Posted March 1, 2011 Can't blame him ... most of them are old enough to be grand pa! :D
bihutoli Posted March 1, 2011 Posted March 1, 2011 Dhoni seems to be taking the kaptan kool thing too literally. His statements often seem dismissive of genuine areas of concern.
shrapnel Posted March 1, 2011 Posted March 1, 2011 ? And that place would be..? He's from Jharkhand, which was originally a part of Bihar.
pinkfreud Posted March 1, 2011 Posted March 1, 2011 He's from Jharkhand' date=' which was originally a part of Bihar.[/quote'] I know that :--D my question was rhetorical.
gaurav92 Posted March 1, 2011 Posted March 1, 2011 Well its never easy to convert the slow movers into acrobatic speedsters. But what can be done is give them decent catching practice so that they have good velcro hands and don't spill catches. Also we can have the slow movers in appropriate places and when not needed can be substituted with the other fielders. Like Sehwag and Sachin can be moved out in crucial stages and get in young fresh legs like Raina and Chawla in. Having said that, there is no age for learning, and improvement can be seen, once we start practicing it with heart and some intent. Only if we take fielding seriously, we will see improvements, and if our captain comes out in public with this negative statements, I am not sure how are we going to improve on this. It does make a difference especially in close games just like the one a couple of days back. Along with good fielders we need them to field in some specific positions. But what we are seeing is sometimes Harbhajan is at fine leg, sometimes he is at mid on, and sometimes he is at short third man, which to me makes no sense. Harby has a good arm and he should field at Fine Leg, or square leg. Our quick bowlers like Zak, Munna should be at mid on and mid off, so that they don't have to run and come back to bowl after overs, and lose some energy and time (We aren't good with our over rates too :-)). And someone with quick hands, and good reflexes should be kept in slips, like Sachin , Yusuf. And similarly, good runners, quick to dive fielders like Raina, Kohli and Chawla should be in the ring on the off side (cover, point etc.). With this, every fielder must know his position and must be trained accordingly, otherwise what we see is one player practicing for catches, and ultimately he is sent in towards mid off, and mid on where he needs to save the quick single. And the one with a relatively weak throwing arm is sent at deep square leg. These are basic fundamentals of the game in fielding which we must develop if we have to improve our fielding. Yes there cannot be 11 Johnty Rhodes who can field at any position, but surely, we can at least have 11 fielders who can field well at their respective positions.
theanalyst Posted March 1, 2011 Posted March 1, 2011 Well its never easy to convert the slow movers into acrobatic speedsters. But what can be done is give them decent catching practice so that they have good velcro hands and don't spill catches. Also we can have the slow movers in appropriate places and when not needed can be substituted with the other fielders. Like Sehwag and Sachin can be moved out in crucial stages and get in young fresh legs like Raina and Chawla in. Having said that, there is no age for learning, and improvement can be seen, once we start practicing it with heart and some intent. Only if we take fielding seriously, we will see improvements, and if our captain comes out in public with this negative statements, I am not sure how are we going to improve on this. It does make a difference especially in close games just like the one a couple of days back. Along with good fielders we need them to field in some specific positions. But what we are seeing is sometimes Harbhajan is at fine leg, sometimes he is at mid on, and sometimes he is at short third man, which to me makes no sense. Harby has a good arm and he should field at Fine Leg, or square leg. Our quick bowlers like Zak, Munna should be at mid on and mid off, so that they don't have to run and come back to bowl after overs, and lose some energy and time (We aren't good with our over rates too :-)). And someone with quick hands, and good reflexes should be kept in slips, like Sachin , Yusuf. And similarly, good runners, quick to dive fielders like Raina, Kohli and Chawla should be in the ring on the off side (cover, point etc.). With this, every fielder must know his position and must be trained accordingly, otherwise what we see is one player practicing for catches, and ultimately he is sent in towards mid off, and mid on where he needs to save the quick single. And the one with a relatively weak throwing arm is sent at deep square leg. These are basic fundamentals of the game in fielding which we must develop if we have to improve our fielding. Yes there cannot be 11 Johnty Rhodes who can field at any position, but surely, we can at least have 11 fielders who can field well at their respective positions. Not on, mate. Stop stealing our ideas! :winky:
gaurav92 Posted March 1, 2011 Posted March 1, 2011 Who are slow movers in your side ? Strauss or Yardy ?