Prakat Posted March 25, 2011 Posted March 25, 2011 Sure we started out as natural born enemies decades ago and carried that onto the cricket field as well. But here's the secret to why India consistently beats Pakistan on the World stage. Pakis suffer from massive amounts of performance anxiety that India hasn't felt in ages. Because beating India is at the top of the Pakistani priority. The world cup is just an excuse. Not so for India. Pakis still think there's this huge rivalry going on between our two countries. But fact is, as any Indian knows, we've moved on. Our cricketing rivalry with Australia is more meaningful to us right now. The teams are much more closely matched over a period of years in all sorts of rankings. It's a lot like how New Zealand still thinks there's this big rivalry going on with Australia. While Australia just doesn't give a rat's pichwada about this supposed rivalry. They used to be traditional rivals once upon a time. Like India and Pakistan. Pakistani FanArt Hum tujhay na chorain gain Mundi aisee torain gain Cheekhain maaar kay bhagay ga gillliii aisay phorain gain roktaaa hai to kiaa Teraay buss mein kuch bhe nahi bhaaag jaa daaur jaaa Hogaaa naahi to lafraaa baaraa You've heard of one-sided love affairs - this is a case of one-sided hate. Pakistan insisting on manning up to India reminds me of the chicken hawk standing up to fight Foghorn Leghorn. "I'm a Chicken Hawk" ::aggressive: "I say, I say, down boy!" :fishing:
NareshK Posted March 25, 2011 Posted March 25, 2011 Maybe during any other game, I would think India-Pak rivalry doesnt have that edge. Mainly because we have stopped playing cricket or at one point, we played too many games. Our rivalry is mostly with Australia and then South Africa now. But this is the World Cup and the Semi Final. So the pressure will be on both sides. But I have a feeling that India will pull through because they played more close matches, like the tie against England, they had batting collapses against South Africa and a high pressure game against Australia. So they will be mentally stronger when facing Pakistan. Pakistan had a relatively easier run in all their previous matches. They had it easy against Windies in the QFs. Their batting has not even been tested yet and the only time they were put under pressure in the game against NZ, they fell apart. So I'm confident about India in this game.
Prakat Posted March 25, 2011 Author Posted March 25, 2011 :agree: Agree. For us its' more the pressure of a WC Semi-Final and facing a charged up team with a good bowling attack. For the Pakis it goes a lot deeper.....
cricketlover Posted March 25, 2011 Posted March 25, 2011 we do not have a cricketing rivalry.. it exceeds far beyond that and has political background... australia won ashes for sth like 20 years in a row.. did the rivalry end?
pinkfreud Posted March 25, 2011 Posted March 25, 2011 @Kataria: You're right to a certain extent. Though the India-Pak clash will still be epic, it's not like what it used to be back in the 80s and 90s. Those days will always stand out in my mind, but with the new millenium, we welcomed new rivals. On the other hand Pakistani cricketers have always viewed India as the sole arch rival. It's been Australia for us all along since 2000 thereabouts, and as of now, we have another shiny new cricketing enemy on our plates: South Africa :winky:
cricketlover Posted March 25, 2011 Posted March 25, 2011 @Kataria: You're right to a certain extent. Though the India-Pak clash will still be epic, it's not like what it used to be back in the 80s and 90s. Those days will always stand out in my mind, but with the new millenium, we welcomed new rivals. On the other hand Pakistani cricketers have always viewed India as the sole arch rival. It's been Australia for us all along since 2000 thereabouts, and as of now, we have another shiny new cricketing enemy on our plates: South Africa :winky: south africa will become an enemy when you finally beat them in a test series!
pinkfreud Posted March 25, 2011 Posted March 25, 2011 we do not have a cricketing rivalry.. it exceeds far beyond that and has political background... australia won ashes for sth like 20 years in a row.. did the rivalry end? He's not denying there's a rivalry; he's just indicating that it's been watered down, at least on our side, which is true. We've had epic battles with the Aussies and Saffers of late as compared to Pakistan. To be honest beating Aus/SA has given us a more exhilarating high than beating Pakistan, but that's probably because your team is not what it used to be in the 90s. That said, the forthcoming match will still probably be the most anticipated duel in this tourney. I personally can't wait. As for your point about the Ashes, the enmity is still there, but even then Australia mostly focused its barbs on India for the past few years.
pinkfreud Posted March 25, 2011 Posted March 25, 2011 south africa will become an enemy when you finally beat them in a test series! Want me to trade jibes and outline the same for Pakistan? SA have been our adversaries of late. I don't know why that's troubling you. Do you miss us?
pinkfreud Posted March 25, 2011 Posted March 25, 2011 For the Pakis it goes a lot deeper..... That's also precisely why Afridi and Waqar didn't want to play in India in this WC.
satyam1729 Posted March 25, 2011 Posted March 25, 2011 south africa will become an enemy when you finally beat them in a test series! Last 3 test series have all been draw 1-1. So there is certainly a good competition. And last in last 5 test series it is 1-1 series to both. So don't know what are you talking about.
Hell Raiser Posted March 25, 2011 Posted March 25, 2011 south africa will become an enemy when you finally beat them in a test series! I think Zimbabwe is all set to play Pakistan in test series. You can start your new rivalry with them.
pinkfreud Posted March 25, 2011 Posted March 25, 2011 I think Zimbabwe is all set to play Pakistan in test series. You can start your new rivalry with them. :cantstop:
Prakat Posted March 25, 2011 Author Posted March 25, 2011 I think Zimbabwe is all set to play Pakistan in test series. You can start your new rivalry with them. :cantstop:
Pak_Fan_4_Eva Posted March 25, 2011 Posted March 25, 2011 The Pakistani obsession on this forum is proof enough you don't care about Pakistan :P @OP Who are you kidding?
pinkfreud Posted March 25, 2011 Posted March 25, 2011 The Indian obsession on this forum is proof enough you don't care about Pakistan :P You mean Pakistani obsession. If playing party pooper is your thing, at least try and do it right.
Ustad Posted March 25, 2011 Posted March 25, 2011 This thread is gonna be so awesome to read back once we crush you guys next week!
pinkfreud Posted March 25, 2011 Posted March 25, 2011 This thread is gonna be so awesome to read back once we crush you guys next week! Posts like these are gonna be so awesome to read back once we crush you guys next week! :winky:
Karan114 Posted March 25, 2011 Posted March 25, 2011 I think Zimbabwe is all set to play Pakistan in test series. You can start your new rivalry with them. :hysterical::hysterical::hysterical: