Vijay.Sharma Posted September 16, 2011 Posted September 16, 2011 Why were my posts deleted ?Anything new about that?
ganeshran Posted September 16, 2011 Author Posted September 16, 2011 Nirvanam, you missed the part in the title where it said - "Greatest Living Indian"
Vijay.Sharma Posted September 16, 2011 Posted September 16, 2011 Nirvanam' date=' you missed the part in the title where it said - "Greatest [b']Living Indian"Someone included Gandhi in the first few posts and I didn't see that being corrected. Anyway so here we go for the greatest living Indian - Cho Ramaswamy Subramniam Iyer AB Vajpayee TN Seshan Anna Hazare P Khairnar Irom Sharmila All the Paramveer Chakra winners who are still living All the Bharat Ratnas who are still living All the Padmabhushan Award winners who are still living All the Khel Ratna award winners who are still living Sunny Gavaskar Ganguly Anil Kumble The Batting Buddha Kapil Dev Pargat Singh Dileep Tirkey Prakash Padukone Shyam Benegal Dhanraj Pillai Saina Nehwal Narasimha Murthy Ratan Tata Azim Premji Lata Mangeshkar PK Oak Sonia Gandhi Rahul Dravid APJ Kalam Amitabh Bachhan Sushmita Sen Aishwarya Rai Lara Dutta You I Every other Indian
ganeshran Posted September 16, 2011 Author Posted September 16, 2011 Someone included Gandhi in the first few posts and I didn't see that being corrected. I already corrected it here. http://www.indiancricketfans.com/showpost.php?p=1394811&postcount=32 It depends on perception so everyone is free to have their own list.
Yoda-esque Posted September 16, 2011 Posted September 16, 2011 Someone included Gandhi in the first few posts and I didn't see that being corrected. Anyway so here we go for the greatest living Indian - Cho Ramaswamy Subramniam Iyer AB Vajpayee TN Seshan Anna Hazare P Khairnar Irom Sharmila All the Paramveer Chakra winners who are still living All the Bharat Ratnas who are still living All the Padmabhushan Award winners who are still living All the Khel Ratna award winners who are still living Sunny Gavaskar Ganguly Anil Kumble The Batting Buddha Kapil Dev Pargat Singh Dileep Tirkey Prakash Padukone Shyam Benegal Dhanraj Pillai Saina Nehwal Narasimha Murthy Ratan Tata Azim Premji Lata Mangeshkar PK Oak Sonia Gandhi Rahul Dravid APJ Kalam Amitabh Bachhan Sushmita Sen Aishwarya Rai Lara Dutta You I Every other Indian Is his real name Narasimha?
Vijay.Sharma Posted September 16, 2011 Posted September 16, 2011 Hell just check out these few videos for some of the greatest Indians living. Is any of the individuals (including the kids) in these videos any lesser than any other living Indian? gstRrEmTcBc 1Sj_nZXUv04 C9WMr7FQfHE MqYI0ijhk-8
Vijay.Sharma Posted September 16, 2011 Posted September 16, 2011 Is his real name Narasimha?Thanks for pointing that out...sorry for the mistake, I meant Narayana Murthy. But then I am sure there is some Narasimha Murthy somewhere who is just as great at what he does as is the Infy mentor :winky:
Vijay.Sharma Posted September 16, 2011 Posted September 16, 2011 Do you guys still get goose bumps and your hairs stand one end up when you watch those videos of the late 80s...sometimes I get a tear in my eye man. Just check out the great man running with the India Gate in the background early in the morning (I confused the Boost ad with this)...check out those thigh muscles....no wonder the bastard picked 434! And watch that little master drenched in rain as he enters the tunnel Edit - by the way the girl with Tiger Pataudi...is she supposed to be his daughter...wotshername I forget
Vijay.Sharma Posted September 16, 2011 Posted September 16, 2011 There was a damn good badminton player who was supposed to take over from Prakash Padukone in the mid 1980s India's Badminton heritage. I forget his full name but his surname was Modi. Salim Modi? I dunno. But, in the Freedom Run video, is he the guy who takes over the torch from Bishen Bedi?
Sachin=GOD Posted September 16, 2011 Posted September 16, 2011 There was a damn good badminton player who was supposed to take over from Prakash Padukone in the mid 1980s India's Badminton heritage. I forget his full name but his surname was Modi. Salim Modi? I dunno. But, in the Freedom Run video, is he the guy who takes over the torch from Bishen Bedi? Syed Modi. He was murdered in Lucknow in the prime of his career.
Vijay.Sharma Posted September 16, 2011 Posted September 16, 2011 Syed Modi. He was murdered in Lucknow in the prime of his career.Yep yep! Just checked it with my friend. It seems his wife got him murdered
Mariyam Posted September 16, 2011 Posted September 16, 2011 Comparison between SRT & Amitabh:hysterical: SRT is the undisputed king of an unscripted film where all the action is real , where the actors dont know what they are up to face , where none knows how things will fold up in the coming time , where your first shot has to be your best shot , where you dont get infinite chances to improve your performance , where you are under constant observation of people of your country burdened by there sky-rocketing expectations to do well on that given day , where you are up against an opposition who not only outnumber you but are constantly trying to get the better of you . Is there even a comparison between the two ? Wasn't cricket also fixed? :winky: I mentioned this before, I don't differentiate much between cricket and movies. In the sense that they are both entertainers. You can argue that it maybe tougher to play cricket than to act, but why should I ( the person who has to be entertained) care about that?
Sachin=GOD Posted September 16, 2011 Posted September 16, 2011 Yep yep! Just checked it with my friend. It seems his wife got him murdered he was a very, very exceptionally talented player and could have gone down as one of the greats of the game. A sad end :((
Vijay.Sharma Posted September 16, 2011 Posted September 16, 2011 Wasn't cricket also fixed? :winky:You serious? The winky is quite obviously a cover up for some logic there I mentioned this before' date=' I don't differentiate much between cricket and movies. In the sense that they are both entertainers. You can argue that it maybe tougher to play cricket than to act, but why should I ( the person who has to be entertained) care about that?[/quote']Now, this makes more a good argument. After all cricket is also an entertainment. Possibly the reason why people feel Sachin has a higher value than Amitabh could be because Sachin in a way represents the Indian nation directly. However, Amitabh represents India indirectly....he doesn't compete with other countries' actors in a movie. The film industry itself doesn't give him the chance that Sachin gets to represent the nation, as it were. I agree with you that Amitabh is equally in the league of the very best. Maybe at par with Kumble, Gavaskar, and Kapil. But Sachin is just that little ahead. To each his own I guess
Mariyam Posted September 16, 2011 Posted September 16, 2011 Possibly the reason why people feel Sachin has a higher value than Amitabh could be because Sachin in a way represents the Indian nation directly. However, Amitabh represents India indirectly....he doesn't compete with other countries' actors in a movie. The film industry itself doesn't give him the chance that Sachin gets to represent the nation, as it were. I agree with all of this. That however, is not the gist of my arguement. Another way of seeing who is greater ( totally academic exercise btw) , is to gauge their legacy at some point in the future. Who would have a greater impact on the way Indians think or act or play or behave or dress or speak , say 50 years ( arbitrary) into the future? Who will leave a stronger impression? I'm inclined to say AB.
Vijay.Sharma Posted September 16, 2011 Posted September 16, 2011 I agree with all of this. That however, is not the gist of my arguement. Another way of seeing who is greater ( totally academic exercise btw) , is to gauge their legacy at some point in the future. Who would have a greater impact on the way Indians think or act or play or behave or dress or speak , say 50 years ( arbitrary) into the future? Who will leave a stronger impression? I'm inclined to say AB.Yep, that's a nice way of gauging the impact of an individual on Indian citizens. Here, I'll possibly disagree with you on AB. While AB has had his moments and could have encouraged many more people to take up his art form, somehow Sachin seems be doing that a lot more in the present day. And Kapil did greatly during his day. But it is sad that none of the politicos have had such an effect on the Indian masses, no?
akshayxyz Posted September 16, 2011 Posted September 16, 2011 aaj Sharma ji aur Mariyam ji mein dwand yudh chal raha hai...chotey motey log side ho jaao bhai.
Vijay.Sharma Posted September 16, 2011 Posted September 16, 2011 aaj Sharma ji aur Mariyam ji mein dwand yudh chal raha hai...chotey motey log side ho jaao bhai.aaj sharmaji thode gusse mein hai kyun ki uska bachpan ka ek hero jisne usko "pull" shot sikhaya tha woh saala apni aakhri ODI khel raha hai. Hope we win it for Rahul man!
Mariyam Posted September 16, 2011 Posted September 16, 2011 AB is an actor. Interacting with different kinds of people and showing empathy is his forte. Its not fair to compare SRT with those same expectations especially when SRT's claim to fame is a different set of abilities altogether. He could be a comple introvert and still bring joy to millions of people through his cricketing shots even if not through personally in touch with them You are extrapolating AB's interaction with one person in a controlled environment to his general persona and greatness while interacting with a billion individuals. While not casting the least bit of shadow on AB's talent, SRT does not have the luxury of operating in an environment where the interests of all the other participants is aligned with the show or movie doing well. OTOH in SRT's case, all the other participants are hell bent on making sure he doesnt do well in the match on that particular day. With each big score the pressure and the expectations increase. We're going in cricles here. Everything you said is true, but hasn't much to do with SRT's greatness. See, first off, I want to clarify. I'm not one of those SRT haters that you've come across on these boards. I like him too. I cried too when he was lifted by Kohli and the rest and taken for a victory lap after the WC final. Lets try and get at this by deciding on a few parameters that can be prerequisites to being the greatest Indian: 1) Success in their respective fields. AB scores higher than SRT, or so I feel. But thats again debatable and subjective. 2) International appeal: The India ka naam roshan karega effect. SRT's appeal is only limited to those places where cricket is played. AB on the other hand is a household name almost everywhere. Go to Iran and they are bound to ask you a question or two about AB. Ditto Eastern Europe and ex Soviet countries. AB ( and Raj Kapoor before him) are synonymous with India in some of these places. You just can't deny that effect. And lets face it, if you were to go to the USA tomorrow and make a few gora ( or even kala) friends, would you show them Deewar or SRT's 200 against Australia? Can you break ice having SRT as the topic of conversation? If someone came up to me and started talking SRT centuries I'd :whack: him/her :P 3) Legacy: I explained this part in my response to Vijay Sharma. Who would have a stronger impression: culturally, socially, in patterns of behaviour or talking or dressing in the future on Indians? Here too I lean towards AB. 4) Connect with Indians: As in ability of a common person to identify himself/herself with the celeb. AB outscores SRT here too. Feel free to add more criteria.
akshayxyz Posted September 16, 2011 Posted September 16, 2011 aaj sharmaji thode gusse mein hai kyun ki uska bachpan ka ek hero jisne usko "pull" shot sikhaya tha woh saala apni aakhri ODI khel raha hai. Hope we win it for Rahul man! Gussa kyun.. you should be proud, he is going out on a high.. besides, retirement ( after such a career) is a thing to celebrate. He will get full focus on tests now.. :two_thumbs_up: