The Outsider Posted April 14, 2011 Posted April 14, 2011 Here is the MIT entrance exam from 1869 to help you arrive at a conclusion : Some more things to consider : 1. The competitive nature of high schools today compared to 1869. 2. Bigger talent pool these students compete against today. 3. More countries with high schools today. 4. Most importantly the lack of phhaassht boilers in 1869.
Sachin=GOD Posted April 14, 2011 Posted April 14, 2011 :hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical:
akshayxyz Posted April 14, 2011 Posted April 14, 2011 Define the parameters to compare the mathematicians in question, esp when they are separated by 130+ years. If you have any idea about 'comparison criterion' in sorting algorithms, then you would appreciate the importance of a well defined (unambiguous) comparator to sort the objects in contention of the comparison. sarcasm/joke :fail: You may get it verified with your MIT/HVD contacts - if any :P.
The Outsider Posted April 14, 2011 Author Posted April 14, 2011 Define the parameters to compare the mathematicians in question, esp when they are separated by 130+ years. Capable of bigger achievements in the field of Mathematics. Their likelihood of publishing research papers in internationally reputed refereed journals, their potential to carry out independent research, their ability to contribute to prevailing industries of their times, their potential to earn higher wages, their likelihood of getting future appointments in top universities and institutes.
akshayxyz Posted April 14, 2011 Posted April 14, 2011 Capable of bigger achievements in the field of Mathematics. Their likelihood of publishing research papers in internationally reputed refereed journals' date= their potential to carry out independent research, their ability to contribute to prevailing industries of their times, their potential to earn higher wages, their likelihood of getting future appointments in top universities and institutes. And you believe (probably 'think' does not apply to you) all of this is unambiguous enough!!! I hope you are not part of developing softwares to be used in critical fields such as Medical/Aerospace/...- where even overlooking simple integer over flow can crash aircrafts. :P
The Outsider Posted April 14, 2011 Author Posted April 14, 2011 And you believe (probably 'think' does not apply to you) all of this is unambiguous enough!!! I hope you are not part of developing softwares to be used in critical fields such as Medical/Aerospace/...- where even overlooking simple integer over flow can crash aircrafts. :P These and similar criteria are used by all top universities to admit students in their programs. PS : I don't understand your fetish for my profession, but just so you can breathe easy I don't develop software.
Mariyam Posted April 14, 2011 Posted April 14, 2011 I think I can solve question number 6. Is the answer 7/3?
punjabi_khota Posted April 14, 2011 Posted April 14, 2011 And you believe (probably 'think' does not apply to you) all of this is unambiguous enough!!! I hope you are not part of developing softwares to be used in critical fields such as Medical/Aerospace/...- where even overlooking simple integer over flow can crash aircrafts. :P Arre tau zara soch samajh ke panga liya karo
akshayxyz Posted April 14, 2011 Posted April 14, 2011 These and similar criteria are used by all top universities to admit students in their programs. PS : I don't understand your fetish for my profession, but just so you can breathe easy I don't develop software. :two_thumbs_up: You have attained level of wizardry in making ambiguous statements. - one of the steps to go up in the ladder of trolling. You are misunderstanding 'fetish' with 'concern', not your fault, as you do not seem to be the one who appreciates unambiguity or be concerned by lack of it.
akshayxyz Posted April 14, 2011 Posted April 14, 2011 Arre tau zara soch samajh ke panga liya karo Do not worry about it :icflove:, you can pass on same message to outy also :P. I know my limits/reach. As long as outy is not professor of CS/Maths at MIT/Stanford/IIT or such, I should do fine ;)
Sachin=GOD Posted April 14, 2011 Posted April 14, 2011 :two_thumbs_up: You have level of wizardry in making ambiguous statements. - one of the steps to go up in the ladder of trolling. You are misunderstanding 'fetish' with 'concern', not your fault, as you do not seem to be the one who appreciates unambiguity or be concerned by lack of it. calm down dude :om:
The Outsider Posted April 14, 2011 Author Posted April 14, 2011 :two_thumbs_up: You have level of wizardry in making ambiguous statements. - one of the steps to go up in the ladder of trolling. Yeah. Admissions committees of top universities are the biggest trolls for selecting students on the kind of criterion I have listed. How dare they not consult akshayxyx on his expertise in 'comparison criterion' in sorting algorithms before offering admission to students. :nice:
The Outsider Posted April 14, 2011 Author Posted April 14, 2011 I know my limits/reach. As long as outy is not professor of CS/Maths at MIT/Stanford/IIT or such, I should do fine ;) Do the admissions committees at these places use 'comparison criterion' in sorting algorithms while selecting candidtates? Can you share with us the 'well defined (unambiguous) comparator to sort the objects in contention of the comparison' they use?
Mariyam Posted April 14, 2011 Posted April 14, 2011 Post the answers please so I can cross check and see how many I've got right. :nervous:
Aaku Posted April 14, 2011 Posted April 14, 2011 easy peasy :beee: and this had been posted pehley bhi.. and I passed guyzzzzz.. thanks :icflove:
Mariyam Posted April 14, 2011 Posted April 14, 2011 easy peasy :beee: and this had been posted pehley bhi.. and I passed guyzzzzz.. thanks :icflove: swaal no.6 ka kya answer hai??? Bolo bolo, tell tell :icflove:
punjabi_khota Posted April 14, 2011 Posted April 14, 2011 Do not worry about it :icflove:, you can pass on same message to outy also :P. I know my limits/reach. As long as outy is not professor of CS/Maths at MIT/Stanford/IIT or such, I should do fine ;) Is there something you know about admissions process at these universities that we are not aware of :hmmmm2:
akshayxyz Posted April 14, 2011 Posted April 14, 2011 Do the admissions committees at these places use 'comparison criterion' in sorting algorithms while selecting candidtates? I hope you realize that each university has its own combination of objective and subjective assessment while selecting candidates. Can you share with us the 'well defined (unambiguous) comparator to sort the objects in contention of the comparison' they use? The burden of proof (providing evidence etc.) is on you - since you claimed that your list of criteria is as close as possible to what Universities use for selection criteria. Besides, you will also have to prove that similar criteria is suitable to rank mathematicians across eras ( your proposed subject of study). With all this & more go on and publish the paper, get it peer reviewed from experts of the field, and if you get thumbs up - then live happily until you die or until someone comes and disproves the objectivity of your research objectively.
akshayxyz Posted April 14, 2011 Posted April 14, 2011 Is there something you know about admissions process at these universities that we are not aware of :hmmmm2: It depends on what you know, and what I know and then we can see the intersection/union and stuff. :P