varun Posted May 31, 2007 Posted May 31, 2007 3 Questions: - Where did the world come from ? - Who are you ? - What happens when you die ? It doesn't matter that you come up with answers or not. It's just the thought process and the follow-up questions that are interesting.
varun Posted May 31, 2007 Author Posted May 31, 2007 I'll go first. - Where did the world come from ? Can something come from nothing ? Does there have to be a beginning for everything ? Can our finite-world-experiencing minds grasp the concept of infinity and eternity in totality ? - Who are you ? Am I just a more complex version of a single-celled organism which has its basic needs of survival of self and survival of its species ? (Well we do think about food and sex a lot, so it's a logical extrapolation). If that is so, then what is it that differentiates us from a non-living thing ? The ability to think ? The "Ego", or a concept of self ? So if you stop thinking, do you cease to exist ? (Thus the famous phrase, "I think, therefore I am") Or If i think in terms of religion, am I a soul which reincarnates ? A person who's body is a mere conduit for the soul ? - What happens when you die ?If we take a materialistic view of things, do we just disintegrate ? Is it possible that a carbon atom in my brain or liver was once part of a dinosour ? If so, then from a purely materliastic point of view we are merely comprised of various parts of different things that have existed in this world. And when we die, we just go back into this pool. Or do I go to heaven or hell ? Or do I keep reincarnating till I attain nirvana ? Your thoughts ?
Dhondy Posted May 31, 2007 Posted May 31, 2007 This is tough. Dunno how much this has to do with philosophy. Going on the treadmill. Will think about the answers and get back if I find any.
varun Posted May 31, 2007 Author Posted May 31, 2007 @Dhondy, Philosophy is defined as "the rational investigation of questions about existence". Philosophy is about asking questions, not about finding answers. So don't worry about finding answers. Just think rationally and ask away :teeth_smile:
varun Posted May 31, 2007 Author Posted May 31, 2007 Btw, did you know that the first "Natural philosophers" around 400 BC in greece were precursors to modern science and scientific thought ? So if you think you're delving into the realm of science with these questions, you're damn right you are.
Cricketics Posted May 31, 2007 Posted May 31, 2007 - Where did the world come from ? from Mona Lisa Disco Rest. - Who are you ? Human Being - What happens when you die ? U become islamic..
varun Posted May 31, 2007 Author Posted May 31, 2007 :hysterical: Buddhi ka prayog karne mein itna kasht kyun hota hai ? Ek aur question add kar do list mein
kumble_rocks Posted May 31, 2007 Posted May 31, 2007 3 Questions: - Where did the world come from ? - Who are you ? - What happens when you die ? It doesn't matter that you come up with answers or not. It's just the thought process and the follow-up questions that are interesting. Good Golly ,did you have too much drinks today ?:martini_shaken:
varun Posted May 31, 2007 Author Posted May 31, 2007 Drinks ? Abbe abhi tak bahar hi nahi nikla ghar se.. It's 2PM and im thinking of going to work !! Vaise kabhi to apne andar se socha karo yaar.. books and websites mein answers nahi hote saare.
kumble_rocks Posted May 31, 2007 Posted May 31, 2007 Drinks ? Abbe abhi tak bahar hi nahi nikla ghar se.. It's 2PM and im thinking of going to work !! Vaise kabhi to apne andar se socha karo yaar.. books and websites mein answers nahi hote saare. Aise sawaalo ka jawaab sirf drinks ke baad aati hai.
varun Posted May 31, 2007 Author Posted May 31, 2007 Aise sawaalo ka jawaab sirf drinks ke baad aati hai. Try asking a kid these questions. He or she'll give you better answers than most adults. Our sense of wonder and the ability to question dulls as we grow older. We seek answers from external sources more than our own reason.
kumble_rocks Posted May 31, 2007 Posted May 31, 2007 Try asking a kid these questions. He or she'll give you better answers than most adults. Our sense of wonder and the ability to question dulls as we grow older. We seek answers from external sources more than our own reason. You may be right. I have asked these questions many times in my life , Still no answers. If you find the answers , let me know !:teeth_smile:
Cricketics Posted May 31, 2007 Posted May 31, 2007 i found the answer to this one " What happens when you die ?"
Dhondy Posted May 31, 2007 Posted May 31, 2007 Aborted the treadmill. How was the world formed? Well, it is a satellite of the sun, which itself is a part of our galaxy, the milky way. There are many such galaxies, which are really mounds of burning gases with pieces breaking off, cooling down and forming planets. Where did the galaxies come from? I guess what we are asking here is whether God created them? Does God exist? Occam's razor would say not. What's the evidence for Him? Why should we make assumptions without proof? So why did life begin on earth? Dunno. It could be that this was the only planet where there was water and oxygen and light in just the right amount. What are the odds of getting it just right by chance? I'd say very low indeed. So did God have anything to do with it? Again, that stymies us back to the original question. However, around 3.5 billion years ago, the first primitive bacteria are reputed to have formed from the "broth of life", when all the necessary amino acids came together. Who created the amino acids? Your guess is as good as mine. Is it possible for bacteria to have evolved into human beings? I suppose, given the time involved, and clear evidence of evolutionary pressures, it is. But did it happen the way we think it did? What happens when we die? That's a really tough one. Without life, we are just organic matter, but what happens to that elusive life. Is it destructible? There are numerous reports of reincarnations, out of body experiences, some of the former truly impressive, but there is no scientific proof of afterlife. I don't think there ever will be. This is an area where your religious faith, your beliefs come into play. I have seen things which have intrigued me, so I am loath to write it off outright.
Gambit Posted May 31, 2007 Posted May 31, 2007 The one that I've always asked myself is Why am I me? I mean, why is this person that is me me and why is it me that is living this person's life i.e. me, me? Why isn't anyone else me? Or why am I not anyone else?
Lurker Posted May 31, 2007 Posted May 31, 2007 - Where did the world come from ? My world comes from a dream that I am dreaming currently. Every person I meet is a character of my dream, every moment is in actuality an event within the dream. - Who are you ? Another character in this dream. - What happens when you die ? I will wake up. xxxx
Predator_05 Posted May 31, 2007 Posted May 31, 2007 3 Questions: - Where did the world come from ? - Who are you ? - What happens when you die ? It doesn't matter that you come up with answers or not. It's just the thought process and the follow-up questions that are interesting. 1) Universe was formed by the big bang 14 billion years ago. The solar system was formed by a rotating cloud of ice, gas and dust. This cloud would later flatten into a disk-like shape with a central mass, surrounded by clumpy rings. The accumulation at the center of the disk formed the sun (main constituents being hydrogen and helium) and the planets grew around it. Earth turned out to be an inner planet in proximity to the sun so it's lighter elements were driven away by solar radiation, hence why it's a terrestrial planet 2) I am the guy who did all that stuff above - ie; god. 3) As god, I am immortal (duh), so i am in no position to address such a pointless question.
varun Posted May 31, 2007 Author Posted May 31, 2007 1) Universe was formed by the big bang 14 billion years ago. What happenned before that ? And if everything came from one thing, that means you and me and everything in this universe is all part of the one big same thing ? How do you account for people thinking they are different from others then ? fights ? wars ? Are we just ignorant of the fact that we are all one ? 2) I am the guy who did all that stuff above - ie; god. Interesting, Who is you in this case ? The whole universe ?
Predator_05 Posted May 31, 2007 Posted May 31, 2007 What happenned before that ? And if everything came from one thing, that means you and me and everything in this universe is all part of the one big same thing ? Yes, that is exactly what it means. People think they are "different" because they are idiots, for the most part.