What’s wrong with Indian cinema?

gorah_pindu

I don't think there is anything wrong with Hindi cinema. It's always tried to entertain and if that compromises quality' date=' then so be it. Movies like Coolie No.1 might not make you think and win acclaim from some la di da film jury but they are awesome in their own right. Having said that, there is still a huge number of Hindi films that make you sit up and take notice. They are that brilliant.[/quote'] Nobody is saying no to brainless entertainment like coolie no 1 n sorts but to present movies such as krish ,dhoom2 ,don as best movies to come out of 2006 is surely laughable.. There may be lots of hindi films which make you 'sit up and take notice' but sadly in the last decade or so they are on the decline

Nobody is saying no to brainless entertainment like coolie no 1 n sorts but to present movies such as krish ' date='dhoom2 ,don as best movies to come out of 2006 is surely laughable.. [/quote'] Define "best movies". Are you referring to movies that earned the most money or movies that critics and audiences hailed as the best? If it's the former, then your point makes no sense because even in Hollywood crap movies like Spiderman 3 can gross more than an awesome movie like Syriana. If it's the latter, no one in their right minds will hail the movies you mentioned as the best in 2006. Have you not heard of Omkara, LRMB, RDB,BF,HKA?
There may be lots of hindi films which make you 'sit up and take notice' but sadly in the last decade or so they are on the decline
Really? I can still name quite a few in the last decade that were awesome.

I don't think there is anything wrong with Hindi cinema. It's always tried to entertain and if that compromises quality' date=' then so be it. Movies like Coolie No.1 might not make you think and win acclaim from some la di da film jury but they are awesome in their own right. Having said that, there is still a huge number of Hindi films that make you sit up and take notice. They are that brilliant.[/quote'] Aside from what suma just pointed out, most Hindi movies that aim to entertain are also not entertaining in the slightest. Thus they have even failed to be mindless entertainment.

BTW, for a decent list of the most popular and most critically popular films of this decade, see this wiki: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_popular_Bollywood_films For an industry that shoots hundreds of films each year, its kinda sad that only four or five per year are actually critically good - and that even those are often only moderate critical sucesses.

Define "best movies". Are you referring to movies that earned the most money or movies that critics and audiences hailed as the best? If it's the former' date=' then your point makes no sense because even in Hollywood crap movies like Spiderman 3 can gross more than an awesome movie like Syriana. If it's the latter, no one in their right minds will hail the movies you mentioned as the best in 2006. Have you not heard of Omkara, LRMB, RDB,BF,HKA? [/quote'] Forget hollywood ...yes spiderman 3 was crappy the pirates of the carribbean series are evn crappier Iam not comparing Indian cinmea with hollywood or any cinem at all . maybe i didnt get the point thru ...but this was the point I was trying to make
most Hindi movies that aim to entertain are also not entertaining in the slightest. Thus they have even failed to be mindless entertainment.(case in point dhoom2 ,krish) which are made out to be b great films in terms of entertainment but infact are mediocre crappy films and imean crappier than spiderman and pirates of the carribbean 12:51 PM
Really? I can still name quite a few in the last decade that were awesome.
again this is what I was trying to say
For an industry that shoots hundreds of films each year, its kinda sad that only four or five per year are actually critically good or make you "situp and take notice" - and that even those are often only moderate critical sucesses.
Again to each his own

Man they make too many movies and you can't expect everything to be classic and then there is target audience .. I can point you out scores of good moviec coming out every year. Problem with people is they want every movies catered to their own taste. There is rickshaw puller audience in backlanes of Bihar Up Delhi more or less every-where they too need to be catered then there is nauvea-rich middle class who are educationally yet lower-class and they need those song and dance west-aping flicks so some movies will cater to that audience. To expect that every audience will have a taste of connoisseur is well living in fool's paradise. Just accept the fact that not every movie is made with you in mind and all the grivances will disappear. Every movie industry churns crap depending on crap-loving population percentage, it's not bollywood specific at all.

Aside from what suma just pointed out' date=' most Hindi movies that aim to entertain are also not entertaining in the slightest. Thus they have even failed to be mindless entertainment.[/quote'] to appreciate the mindless entertainment kind of movies, u have to understand hindi, when u watch with subtitles the effect is lost :giggle:

to appreciate the mindless entertainment kind of movies' date=' u have to understand hindi, when u watch with subtitles the effect is lost :giggle:[/quote'] I dont think thats true - for example, in Guru, Abhishek acted like a retard - that trancends langauge :)

I dont think thats true - for example' date=' in Guru, Abhishek acted like a retard - that trancends langauge :)[/quote'] well apparently his bapu has predicted that every film his son will act in will be asuper hit:haha:

Every movie industry churns crap depending on crap-loving population percentage, it's not bollywood specific at all.
agreed but in case of bollywood its more a case of more crap than qualitythat is being churned out in the name of entertainment

Man u guys are movie-challenged for sure.. every damn critic praised his role in Guru but wise guys here think otherwise.

suma ...are you a girl or a boy?
boy
Man u guys are movie-challenged for sure.. every damn critic praised his role in Guru but wise guys here think otherwise.
you liked his acting others over here didnt usmein problem kya hain ???

Were any of those critics respectable? As if the dumb smile he wore in the first half of the film wasnt bad enough, he made stroke victims look like spastics. :hysterical:

Like dadarocks said, there is no likeminded audience in India. What is vulgar to you is funny to the the rickshawala types. What is patriotic and moving to them is cheesy and jingoistic to you. Audience's tastes in India are extremely varied. No one in their rights minds would claim Gadar to be better than Lagaan but when it came to box office returns, Gadar annihilated Lagaan. In India, for most of the producers and directors, film making is a business. A producer who wants bottomline profit would rather put money in a script with a rape scene, 10 songs, thakur kissan daaku village/ insert any other crazy angle and make pots of money in the so called BIMARU states and smaller towns than make a movie like Parzania/Black. This is why the good/trash ratio is heavily skewed. There have been some great movies in the last decade that make for an optimistic future as far as quality film making goes.

boy you liked his acting others over here didnt usmein problem kya hain ???
Professional critics invariably liked and that matters .. yes problme kuchh nahin hai opinion rakhane mein for sure

Were any of those critics respectable? As if the dumb smile he wore in the first half of the film wasnt bad enough, he made stroke victims look like spastics. :hysterical:
Ab aapka respect ka praman patra to nahin hai India mein par cmore or less every critic gave him rave reviews in India. He was supposed to play an illiterate but starry-eyed bloke what did u expect some corporate ceo type mannerism.