ganeshran Posted May 27, 2011 Posted May 27, 2011 PK Jr- Kitne ka liya Chromebook? Ispe linux load kar sakte hai kya?
Prakat Posted May 27, 2011 Author Posted May 27, 2011 Jeee? Main samjhi nahi :(( for someone who uses the laptop for internet related work only the chrome os is a good alternative. Loading Windows to use the internet is like cooking and spreading an entire buffet for someone who's going to eat only salad. With the chrome OS, the startup screen takes less than 15 seconds and you login with your gmail id (instead of the windows user). The first thing you see on the screen is the internet (no desktop etc.). The attached image is the homepage you see once you login.
Sachin=GOD Posted May 27, 2011 Posted May 27, 2011 ^the disadvantage of a fully cloud based OS (at least in India) is internet connectivity is still not up to the mark.
Prakat Posted May 27, 2011 Author Posted May 27, 2011 ^the disadvantage of a fully cloud based OS (at least in India) is internet connectivity is still not up to the mark. Yes, that's another major thing. We need to have a solid internet infrastructure. Wifi saturation in urban spaces is also a must have. If you are mostly at work or at home then as long as you're on a fulltime, ups backed, 2MBps line you should be good to go.
urbestfriend Posted May 27, 2011 Posted May 27, 2011 How much space is alloted per user? Is it free? Can we watch movies/videos with moderate internet connection? Does it use any local disk ?
ganeshran Posted May 27, 2011 Posted May 27, 2011 Are there enough apps on it? Does any programming IDE like Eclipse work?
Sachin=GOD Posted May 27, 2011 Posted May 27, 2011 Yes' date=' that's another major thing. [b']We need to have a solid internet infrastructure. Wifi saturation in urban spaces is also a must have. If you are mostly at work or at home then as long as you're on a fulltime, ups backed, 2MBps line you should be good to go. In India thats at least 5 years away IMO. WiFi saturation in all cities except the metros is pretty much negligible. BTW whats the provision of storing data on the cloud and how much can you store?
urbestfriend Posted May 27, 2011 Posted May 27, 2011 Yes' date=' that's another major thing. We need to have a solid internet infrastructure. Wifi saturation in urban spaces is also a must have. If you are mostly at work or at home then as long as you're on a fulltime, ups backed, 2MBps line you should be good to go.[/quote'] Can we boot off local disk of there is no internet connection and do some usefull stuff?
Stuge Posted May 27, 2011 Posted May 27, 2011 When your internet is down for a day or two .. you're doomed lol
Prakat Posted May 27, 2011 Author Posted May 27, 2011 How much space is alloted per user? Is it free? Can we watch movies/videos with moderate internet connection? Does it use any local disk ? It's free and open source. You need the local disk for the OS of course and for the memory and internet cache. Are there enough apps on it? Does any programming IDE like Eclipse work? This is the Salad Bar the buffet is over there! :haha: If the developers of Eclipse make a web shell for the actual coding and let you compile in an instance of the app on the server then you can. Here's the app store - https://chrome.google.com/webstore In India thats at least 5 years away IMO. WiFi saturation in all cities except the metros is pretty much negligible. BTW whats the provision of storing data on the cloud and how much can you store? For everyday usage you have google's unlimited storage for free. Can we boot off local disk of there is no internet connection and do some usefull stuff? i haven't tried it yet. The OS goes online as part of its boot process and the login screen is authenticated by google (with ur gmail id) so being online would seem to be core to the OS. When your internet is down for a day or two .. you're doomed lol If you're liable to lose your internet for a few days then this is definitely not for you! :--D
achilles Posted May 27, 2011 Posted May 27, 2011 Jeee? Main samjhi nahi :(( Uske liye dimaag lagta hai jee.