Sachin Tendulkar or Vivian Richards?

Carnish, Let us try that exercise and see who comes out on top. I think it will be very close. I want you to do it because it will be one way you will realize how selective memory can play tricks with our minds. Come on dude, let's do the analysis. Also let us not argue about 27.13 > 27.12 kinda scores. Let's say if there is a difference of at least 10% between the two then there is a significant practical difference otherwise it is just statistical difference. OK?
ok sure... write your views and i will reply tomorrow...as there's an interesting game going on between srl and pak and i have my office tomorrow as well... plus dinner is on the table.. sorry vijay ji... will definitely do it tomorrow... good night
He was a minnow basher all along I guess :giggle: The number of bowlers he played in his career can be counted with your fingers and have some fingers left over:haha: in Sachin's case, you need a calculator :haha: I remember bashing my gully bowlers every day b/c they were the only bowlers I really faced. Then one day I played against the padosi society's bowlers and didn't do so well. also, Don used to get like 6 months rest between games and stuff...hence he was always 100% fit going into a game
^ that's exactly how I profile a Sachin fanatic .... Not surprised to see them getting laughed at everywhere except icf where they become mods :hysterical:
yaar claiming that someone is writing BS isnt going to help your cause in this thread... its opinions and everyone's will differ from others... just that some people cannot accept that others can have a different one cause they think theirs is the only one thats correct...
No...No..People can certainly present BS in order to prove things that are already obvious to others. There is a subtle distinction to be made there.
Guest BossBhai

-- Removed on request of the user --

^ that's exactly how I profile a Sachin fanatic .... Not surprised to see them getting laughed at everywhere except icf where they become mods :hysterical:
again, not making a bit of sense and adding the ":hysterical:" make it sound like it's obvious when it's not :haha::haha::haha::haha: :fail: btw, what's "rpt" again? :haha:
thats why the stats i had given you were innings by innings list... alongwith averages... you say yuvraj is on top but twice he remained notout... once against srl.. india were in a great position and he came in and scored a quick seventy to help india post a good target and the only time he helped india win was in chenai along with sach was the other not out and this was the 4th innings...laxman has several more innings and better ones in more testing conditions... so only going by averages is misleading... check my innings by innings list please
It only proves that VVS gets more opportunities to stay not out till the end. Look at the no.of runs. As many others have told you looking at averages in a small sample size is flawed. And to say that him having averaged and scored more runs in lost matches doesnt mean anything is just being dogged and arguing for the sake of it. And BTW according to formula it suggests that there is no pressure in the 1st and 2nd match inngs.
i have already said it... the discussion itself started comparing who is better in 3rd and 4th inns of a test.... all of us know who is a overall better player and i wont argue on that... Plus sach come at no.4, lax at no.5 that is not a big difference that you say laxman gets more chances to remain notout.... had we been talking about sehwag and laxman i would have agreed...
again, not making a bit of sense and adding the ":hysterical:" make it sound like it's obvious when it's not :haha::haha::haha::haha: :fail: btw, what's "rpt" again? :haha:
Only ppl like you make sense .... What sensible ppl talk is nonsense because ppl like you who think it is nonsense don't have the sense to know what makes sense. And since they don't have sense to know what makes sense, what makes sense is nonsense to them ..... And when you have more ppl who lack the knowledge to know what makes sense, nonsense stars making sense ..... Since nonsense starts making sense to them what nonsense becomes sensible to them :--D
thats why the stats i had given you were innings by innings list... alongwith averages... you say yuvraj is on top but twice he remained notout... once against srl.. india were in a great position and he came in and scored a quick seventy to help india post a good target
No we werent. We were 34 /3 when Yuvi walked in.
and the only time he helped india win was in chenai along with sach was the other not out and this was the 4th innings...laxman has several more innings and better ones in more testing conditions... so only going by averages is misleading... check my innings by innings list please
The statistic you just saw is the exact problem when going by averages. As the sample size gets smaller, even one or two scores can skew the average considerably. As the sample size gets larger the statistic becomes more reliable. This is why maintaining the same average over a larger amount of time gets harder and harder. VVS is a great batsmen and very good player under pressure. There can be no credit taken away from him regarding this and he has played absolutely fine innings to take us home. 281 at Eden, the one at Chennai, Mohali are masterpieces. However SRT is no mug in the 3rd and 4th innings himself, even though his more famous knocks have come in the 1st half of the match. 155 against Australia in Chennai, 55 on a treachorous track in Mumbai, 136 against Pakistan (which though came in a losing cause was a treat to watch), the Chennai knock against England are all brilliant.
No we werent. We were 34 /3 when Yuvi walked in. The statistic you just saw is the exact problem when going by averages. As the sample size gets smaller, even one or two scores can skew the average considerably. As the sample size gets larger the statistic becomes more reliable. This is why maintaining the same average over a larger amount of time gets harder and harder. VVS is a great batsmen and very good player under pressure. There can be no credit taken away from him regarding this and he has played absolutely fine innings to take us home. 281 at Eden, the one at Chennai, Mohali are masterpieces. However SRT is no mug in the 4th innings himself, even though his more famous knocks have come in the 1st half of the match. 155 against Australia in Chennai, 55 on a treachorous track in Mumbai, 136 against Pakistan (which though came in a losing cause was a treat to watch), the Chennai knock against England are all brilliant.
That 155 came in the 3rd innings of the match, not the 4th.
Ya I meant both the 3rd and 4th innings of the match. Post edited now.
I guess the biggest hit to Tendulkar's legacy was that innings of 136 not enough to win the game against Pakistan. If Indian lower order had been even moderately competent and added 10 odd runs with 4 wkts remaining that innings would have been one of the greatest ever and now it's just one of the good innings which couldn't win the game for India.
That and the 175 against Oz in the ODIs.
That 175 isn't that important IMO as he's clearly heads and shoulders above any other odi batsman and has plenty of other match winning knocks - that 98 against Pak in WC 2003 or the Sharjah innings against Aus etc. But that amazing knock of 136 against Pakistan would have been one of the top 3 test innings of all times had India won the game. It definitely would have been better than Lara's 153 against Aussies where Lara was dropped, whereas Tendulkar's was a chanceless knock and came against the likes of Akram, Waqar, Saqlain, Afridi and Mushtaq Ahmed (?) on a turner. For me it, along with Gavaskar's 96 against Pakistan in 86, is one of the best innings ever. Too bad incompetency of the likes of Srinath, Kumble, Prasad, Joshi etc. with the bat overshadowed that great knock.
^ @1053 How come almost no one mentions his first century, when its about pressure innings... http://www.espncricinfo.com/ci/engine/match/63535.html One of the best examples of match saving effort in 4th innings, batting with lower order, while chasing 400+ target, and at the young age of 17/18 years and as your first test century!!!! His first century set the trend of what would be offered in years to come.
Great knock that. But I never saw that innings . :((
See that is the problem in these match-winning-knocks-under-pressure arguments.. He did his best and due to incompetence of the rest of the team, the value of the innings goes down in the eyes of 'experts'... I mean how can you evaluate player X's contribution based on what other 10 did ( or did not).
Dikra etlu duikhu ke sarcasm detector no bhukho thai gayo?