Anyone know any good data recovery tool? I had a 2tb WD elements external HD but I dropped it from about 3 feet and it has stopped working since. It keeps showing blinking LED light. I want to recover my data before I send it in for a replacement. Can somebody tell me of any good software that they used. I've used all the free ones and some of the paid ones but my hard drive doesnt come up so I cant recover it. If somebody tells me some good ones, then I can use download it using torrents

If only sectors were damaged, you could have tried "HDD regenerator". But here it looks like it has incurred physical hardware damage. Most certainly the head is damaged or something. In this case, I cant think of any software that can help. Still you can try bootable recovery discs like sysrescuecd, ultimatebootcd, clonezilla. But most certainly no-s/w will work. Here is a good article to figure out where you stand, and what all you can try yourself. http://geekyprojects.com/storage/how-to-recover-data-from-a-broken-hard-drive/ Anyone experienced can tell you that these kind of troubleshooting by yourself can take lot of time and really tests your patience. So, if you want to save time and if the data is really important, you can go to appropriate authorized service center. They should be able to recover the data by replacing damaged parts. But it is going to cost a lot - 5-10K is my rough estimate.

I don't even have that much $ICF, how can I get that in real money? :nervous:

I must have used about 10-20 backup hard drives, and only one got physical damage. At first I felt like I lost all my life's work. But once I got tired of trying to recover, and the service center guy quoted like 10K or so, for something I figured were some docs, movies, songs, software only. At that time I figured, let me wait for sometime to see whether I really need it and it has been lying around like that forever since (about 6 years). [perhaps because more important data was backed up at more than one drives]. I like how you mentioned - good s/w that you can download using torrents. :) You are still not ready to spend money, then perhaps the data wasn't that important.

you will still need to procure additional hard drive to back up the data to (about same capacity), if you get that far. so, unfortunately no escaping from the money part!!! btw, checkout with the authorized service center, perhaps these days it wont cost as much as i guessed.

Yeah. The data's not really that important. It's cricket videos, movies, and pictures ( Which thankully I have backup of) and tv serials and college work. This is the second time in nearly 3 years that same thing has happened to me. Last one was seagate. I dropped it and it stopped working since. So I took it out of the enclosure(voiding the warranty) and used all types of data recovery softwares, and I even bought a freaking hard drive cables ( http://www.circuitcity.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=2329300&Sku=M501-1220) something like this and it still wasn't working. For this though, I just wanna see if I indeed can recover some data, since I still have about 4 months left on the warranty, and I can just send this in for a replacement.

^@#9 fir kya tension hai. The links I gave, cover pretty much all the options you can try by yourself. Beyond that you wont be able to do anything w/o service center. So - good luck and happy hacking. Do share what worked for you.

Can't try this. opening the external HD drive enclosure will void the warranty.
Then you have almost 0% chance to recover just by s/w. Is your BIOS able to recognize USB drive?
Don't know but I've also checked it in Disk Management and it doesn't show up there so I'm pretty sure it won't show up in BIOS either
In your case, yes most likely BIOS will also miss the drive, otherwise both are two different things ( detection at disk management vs bios level)