desi pride 1234 Posted July 9, 2011 Posted July 9, 2011 Karachi: Pakistan's cricket chief Ijaz Butt has said India rejected a proposal to share revenue from a possible series between the arch rivals on the grounds that India will play host. "We hope the series will be revived and we told them we are ready to play in India but revenue should be shared 50-50, but they did not accept the proposal," Butt said in an interview broadcast late Thursday. India cancelled a series with Pakistan after Islamist gunmen went on the rampage in Mumbai in November 2008, killing 166 people in attacks that India and the United States blamed on Pakistan-based militants. Pakistan is slated to tour India next February and March in the International Cricket Council (ICC) Future Tour Programme, subject to clearance from both governments. An ICC Task Team has also called for a revival of cricket between India and Pakistan, saying its absence is felt by millions of fans across the world. "We had a detailed discussion with them (the Indian board) in Hong Kong last month and hope that something will come out soon," said Butt. "Naturally, compared to what we earn when we play any other top country, we earn much more if we play India. But we have to sort out details, but what they say is basically a one-sided affair," said Butt. Butt said Indian Prime Minister Manmohan Singh had backed an Indian tour to Pakistan while hosting his Pakistani counterpart Yousuf Raza Gilani at the World Cup semi-final between the two countries in India last March. India, however, remains extremely concerned about security in Pakistan, where bomb and suicide attacks have killed around 4,500 people in the last four years and where the Sri Lankan cricket team was attacked in March 2009. India last toured Pakistan for the Asia Cup in 2008. http://sports.ndtv.com/cricket/news/item/175597-bcci-rejected-revenue-sharing-plan-pakistan BCCI Rocks man...:--D
jaggadaku Posted July 9, 2011 Posted July 9, 2011 Is home board supposed to share revenue with the visiting team?
DomainK Posted July 9, 2011 Posted July 9, 2011 Is home board supposed to share revenue with the visiting team? Nope. But Butt is Butt.
NareshK Posted July 9, 2011 Posted July 9, 2011 Sounds like a stupid proposal only something that Butt can come up with. Why should BCCI host all the games, foot the bills and give 50 percent revenue to PCB ? Doesnt make sense.
Trichromatic Posted July 9, 2011 Posted July 9, 2011 Is home board supposed to share revenue with the visiting team? No, but there is no harm in asking at least for the Butt as it won't degrade his image and his decisions are not appreciated any way.
kabira Posted July 9, 2011 Posted July 9, 2011 So hamare desh mein khelo, few nutters from pakistan visit India, some will not return..and last mein tume iske paise bhi do.
Pagalpanti Posted July 9, 2011 Posted July 9, 2011 Is home board supposed to share revenue with the visiting team? Nope, but Butt (PCB) are asking for it because, basically Pakistan had to host this tour but since they cant and BCCI are never keen for neutral venue. They want 50% of revenue if India host.
saneindian Posted July 9, 2011 Posted July 9, 2011 Inko free ka khane ki aadat ho gayi hai. Got millions of dollars without hosting a single WC match, poor Lanka had to suffer losses when they deserved to get all the money ICC gave to the PCB. One good thing is Shashank Manhohar is not a politician and hence unlike Pawar, will not have any compulsions in being tough with the PCB. Who wants to play them anyways. Dont want to see some unwanted guests remain in the country and indulging in terror activities. God knows how many of them are still here post the Mohali match.
Temujin Khaghan Posted July 9, 2011 Posted July 9, 2011 Why PCB want to host other countries in their countries? how would you feel if a guest comes to your home and says "make yourself at home" on top that these guys want to be paid... lol
Trichromatic Posted July 9, 2011 Posted July 9, 2011 Why PCB want to host other countries in their countries? how would you feel if a guest comes to your home and says "make yourself at home" on top that these guys want to be paid... lol PCB wants India to play series (which India didn't last time) in Pakistan or neutral venues and in case of playing their series in India they wanted 50%.
Midfielder Posted July 9, 2011 Posted July 9, 2011 PCB wants India to play series (which India didn't last time) in Pakistan or neutral venues and in case of playing their series in India they wanted 50%. Why should India share even a penny with them I dont get it. Not even 5%.
Midfielder Posted July 9, 2011 Posted July 9, 2011 Butt speaks out of butt but Manmohan Singh should butt out of it. No playing with the cheats.
Trichromatic Posted July 9, 2011 Posted July 9, 2011 Why should India share even a penny with them I dont get it. Not even 5%. Shouldn't India play on a neutral venue then?
DomainK Posted July 9, 2011 Posted July 9, 2011 Shouldn't India play on a neutral venue then? Does PCB have a home outside home right now? I doubt England will continue to host their home series now.
Midfielder Posted July 9, 2011 Posted July 9, 2011 Shouldn't India play on a neutral venue then? It is India's discretion. Dont like you dont wanna play with you.
Trichromatic Posted July 9, 2011 Posted July 9, 2011 It is India's discretion. Dont like you dont wanna play with you. You didn't get my point. BCCI has probably agreed to play with Pakistan. They have to host a series against them according to FTP. So, here they don't like Pakistan but ready to play with them. For India's tour of Pakistan, India doesn't want to play on a neutral venue. My question was that since BCCI has agreed to play with Pakistan in India's home series, shouldn't they be playing them on neutral venue also for past series? We don't like them, then why play them at all?
meloveindia Posted July 9, 2011 Posted July 9, 2011 forget the money sharing why india should invite pak to india in the 1st place sorry no cricket with them
ganeshran Posted July 9, 2011 Posted July 9, 2011 You didn't get my point. BCCI has probably agreed to play with Pakistan. They have to host a series against them according to FTP. So, here they don't like Pakistan but ready to play with them. For India's tour of Pakistan, India doesn't want to play on a neutral venue. My question was that since BCCI has agreed to play with Pakistan in India's home series, shouldn't they be playing them on neutral venue also for past series? We don't like them, then why play them at all? BCCI doesnt play bilateral series on neutral territories for quite some time. There is so much money to be made in a home series, why should they play at some place which doesn't benefit either board. But 50-50 revenue sharing is complete bull especially when BCCI pays so much to get stadiums ready and putting the necessary infrastructure. Even without revenue sharing PCB would make 20-30 million from an India series