Time to build a new team

Guest Gunner

With home season coming up. The trio should be forced into retirement. No use playing them' date= they'll score 100's on flat tracks but it wont solve our batting issues. We need to groom players like Tiwary, Rahane, Kohli, Rohit, Mukund.
Do you want to lose Home series too? The Maharthis need to be phased out..Youngsters need to be phased in.. The first and formost is leadership change, with immediate effect and then let the new captain build his team and also win some home series.. Leadership change will surely change the team compostions and that'll be for good only. You cannot have a deafitist & 'go-carting' mindset leadership in charge (who has no history in building a team). The TIME now is to BUILD a team..And you need a new set of selectors (with fresh ideas) and new leadership.. The Maharathis can be phased out then (howver I feel that atleast one mMaharathi's gonna call it a day, after this series). But the selectors and the leadership should change after this series..as a way forward..

I dont mind losing home series. but the maharathis have to go and so does dhoni too. he is not a good test captain as well as player. lets play KD karthik. he at least has better technique suited for test

I hope people are not including Sachin in the forced retirement calls. If anything he has been our best batsman. I hope Viru is given such a hard kick on his bum that uski naani yaad aayegi. And Dhoni, Rahul, Lax should find no place in this team.

We need to build a fresh team for test cricket Openers:-Gambhir(VC),Rahane,Mukund Middle order:-Pujara,Rohit,Kohli,Sehwag©(he should bat at no.5 or 6, Sachin & Dravid.VVS has done a lot but time has come when he should retire. Keeper/bat:-Uday Kaul,Saha(I don't know whether there is a better keeper than him in India).Well Dhoni shouldn't play test cricket at all.He can kaaantinue playing & captaining in ODIs & T20s. Spinners:-Ashwin,Ojha,Rahul Sharma.If Bhajji can rediscover himself then he can play for 2-3 years before retiring. Seamers:-Zaheer(max has 2 years left in him),Praveen,Umesh,Aaron, Ishant(has to learn the art of setting the batsman up). Gony,Dinda,Nechim,Tyagi,Anwar Ahmed etc are some who can really bring a great depth in fast bowling. Sachin,Dravid will retire soon & Sehwag,Zaheer will follow.We need to build the team with these talented youngsters by that time.This is the time to look foreward but having the right mixture of youth & experience is also important.

From the BCCI statements coming thru the press, What I see is : 1. Laxman will be asked to retire. 2. The rest will continue. 3. Dhoni will continue as captain. 4. Tendulkar & Dravid will retire and Dhoni will quit just before the 2013 South African tour. 5. We will go to South Africa, England and Australia tours (from 2013) with rookie players and a new captain. 7. We will get whitewashed again in South Africa, England and Australia.

^ The latest statements coming thru says that Laxman will not retire at all. He is in no mood to retire. The statements said that Laxman is 3 yrs younger to Sachin and Rahul, so logically Laxman should retire last. This is what latest statements say in today's newspapers.

Abe Khelne do na yaar Dravid aur Sachin ko kam se kam 2 saal aur . Enko bhaga kar Ghar main bhi haarna hai kya ? Atleast we are tigers at home for the timebeing which isnt as easy as some fans are making it look like , if the trio retire then I will not be surprised if we start losing at home as well just like our away outings.

Selectors can't get swayed by big names, says Greg Chappell ADELAIDE: It's hard to stop listening when Greg Chappell talks cricket. But the current generation of cricketers, Indian and Australian alike, have found it is hard to practise what he preaches. Contrary to the general belief that he would be having quite a chuckle after watching Team India coming apart at the seams, Chappell is saddened by the rapid decline of a team that was No. 1 in the world six months ago. As Team India coach, Chappell had suggested a gradual phasing out of senior players. His statements, then, had been considered blasphemous. The hard-nosed Australian betrayed no emotion as he shared his thoughts on many issues pertaining to the ongoing series when TOI caught up with him at the Adelaide Oval. Excerpts... When is it a good time to say goodbye to great players? I don't blame the players at all. They are here to play, entertain and earn a living. I have always believed that it is the job of the selectors to not only pick the players at the right time, but also move them on when the time is right. A robust selection panel, backed by a pro-active administration, can keep the system healthy and clean. What if the big players show no inclination to walk into the sunset? As a selector, you can't get swayed by the big names or their magnificent records. If you give 10 Tests each to a great player who is past his prime and to a talented youngster, they may both score two hundreds each. However, the senior player will have nothing to give you after that, whereas the youngster will have acquired the confidence to deliver in at least 25 more Tests. You reckon Indian selectors have to take a few hard decisions in order to rebuild the side? Rebuilding is a continuous process that should be built into the system. It's not about picking and dropping players at random. I was surprised to know that Vinay Kumar became the 273rd Test player for India in Perth. But I was shocked to learn that more than 150 of them have played fewer than 10 Tests. It can mean only two things - either these players did not deserve to be picked, or they were given a raw deal. Either way, it's a sad state of affairs. Has Warner been pushed into Test cricket too early? Not at all, and I'm not surprised by his early success. I'm for blooding young players in Test cricket. Take the case of Yuvraj and Raina. They should have played Test cricket much earlier. Limited exposure to Test cricket hasn't helped their cause. Warner has acknowledged your role behind his transformation from a T20 basher to a Test player. What did you do to make it possible? We just told him, 'we know you can slog, now show us that you can bat'. That was after we picked him for Australia 'A' and we went to Zimbabwe. Basically, we made sure that he did not throw his bat at ball hoping to connect, but connect with the ball every time he hit it. Doesn't he remind you of Virender Sehwag? I've said it before, and I still maintain, that I have not seen a better timer of the ball than Viru. In terms of aggression, I would club him alongside Gilly (Adam Gilchrist) and Viv (Richards). If he has not been as consistent as he should have been, it is because he lets his motivation level drop quite sharply at times. It was frustrating to work with him at times, but he is a likeable bloke. Why is Sehwag looking like a pale shadow of his old self on this tour? I think the bounce has been his undoing. He loves playing square of the wicket, and unless you can trust the bounce in the pitch, batsmen can get into trouble. Indian batsmen have also been troubled by the swing and deviation off the pitch? If you care to look at the history of Test cricket, you will find that swing and seam movement has troubled batsmen in every era. What has surprised me most about Indian batsmen is their lack of footwork. Quite a few of them are throwing their hands at the ball without moving their feet and getting bowled in the process. Why are most of them getting out while trying to defend? Batting is all about scoring runs. It has never been about self-preservation. You cannot defend endlessly without making a mistake. With no counter-pressure being applied by Indian batsmen, Australian pacers have been successful in forcing the error from their rivals. Has Sachin Tendulkar's approach to batting changed much? Not really. He is obviously no longer the player he used to be, but he is still a very good shadow of his old self. From what we have seen in the three Tests, he is still India's best batsman. His partnership with Rahul (Dravid) in the first innings at the MCG had Australia on the backfoot till Siddle got one through the Master's defence. Are you surprised that the century of centuries continues to elude Sachin? I have no doubt in my mind that he will get it sooner or later, but it must be beginning to affect him. If he misses out in Adelaide, I am sure he will get it in ODIs where the onus is to restrict batsmen from scoring and not getting them out. Don't you think any team would have struggled against such a disciplined Australian pace attack? Our pacers have followed the Chinese water-torture method. Just as the water goes drip, drip drip, our bowlers have kept pegging away outside the off-stump, secure in the knowledge that sooner or later a batsman's resistance will break. If fit, Harris is our best bowler. Siddle was too short last season. He has bowled fuller against India. So have Pattinson and Hilfenhaus. Craig (McDermott) has been very good with them, too. What about the Indian attack? Zaheer has bowled well within himself. Umesh (Yadav) has been most impressive, but Ishant has been disappointing. He has bowled well in patches, but pitched it too short to catch the edges. India could have done with Sreesanth. It's shame he is injured. He is as good a swing and seam bowler I have seen. He tends to get distracted very easily, but if managed properly he can be a match-winner. How important is it for the out-of-form Indian batsmen to practice in the nets? What you do in the nets is important, not how long you do it. I used to bat in the nets long enough to make sure that my body - hands and feet in particular - are in sync with my mind. The worst thing you can do when you are out of form is to punish yourself with a relentless practice regime. It was not fair on the part of the media to flay the Indian players for taking time off for go karting. TOI.

Our pacers have followed the Chinese water-torture method. Just as the water goes drip, drip drip, our bowlers have kept pegging away outside the off-stump, secure in the knowledge that sooner or later a batsman's resistance will break. If fit, Harris is our best bowler. Siddle was too short last season. He has bowled fuller against India. So have Pattinson and Hilfenhaus. Craig (McDermott) has been very good with them, too. What about the Indian attack? Zaheer has bowled well within himself. Umesh (Yadav) has been most impressive, but Ishant has been disappointing. He has bowled well in patches, but pitched it too short to catch the edges. India could have done with Sreesanth. It's shame he is injured. He is as good a swing and seam bowler I have seen. He tends to get distracted very easily, but if managed properly he can be a match-winner.
sreesanth_1531336c.jpg I have been saying this for years. Also I said previously that although Chappell has more man management skills he is very good tactically. He knows what it takes to succeed. I saw bits of his presentation that he delivered to the BCCI and it made sense. Also note how Chappell says the Kerala Express is injured, he is not dropped so please stop with all your rumours and support his recovery and reinstatement into our impotent bowling lineup.

I think Laxman will either retire or selectors will simply ignore him in the NZ series, after which he may be forced to announce his retirement. Dravid will be asked to retire after playing the England Series. Of the rest only God knows. :winky: